We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop”
Review of Flock Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flock Hill Lodge
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here on our first night of our South Island trip. It was an ideal distance from Christchurch, allowing us to reach it before nigh following our flight. We were welcomed by a wonderful fireplace and given a tour of the lodge. The room/ cabin where we stayed (number 1) was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed drinks in front of the fireplace, before having dinner. While the dining room lacked atmosphere, it was made up for by the food. We had soup which was lovely, followed by lamb ( absolutely delicious- the best I have had in ages) and venison. We were too full for dessert. The staff were attentive and welcoming without being intrusive.
The room/cabin comprised 2 bedrooms- one had views over a mountain, which was wonderful to wake up to. It was large with a kitchenette, lounge and small dining area. There were signs of wear and tear, but it didn't bother us. The beds were new and very comfortable!
We would recommend a stay at Flock Hill Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bidd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Overall we found Flock Hill to be a bit disappointing. We were on our honeymoon in NZ and asked ahead to make sure we had a cabin overlooking the pond. Turns out that while our cabin "faced" the pond, you couldn't actually see it. Also, since we were there in the shoulder season, neither the summer nor the winter activities (advertised on the website) were available.
The cabins are comfortable enough but decorated with all the charm and individuality of a hospital waiting room. There are also - quite unnecessarily - an enormous number of printed signs threatening guests not to steal the kitchen amenities and $2 shop cutlery.

However, the views are very nice, and you can take some nice walks around the countryside.

Room Tip: Ask to make sure you are in a cabin as opposed to a "motel style" room. We weren't adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thea_G_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

From the east to the west of South Island via Highway 73, Flock Hill Lodge made the perfect pit stop. A gem in the middle of nowhere indeed.

We stayed in a self-contained cottage number 5 which comes with 2 rooms with queen size bed and 1 room with 3 single beds, there is also another single bed in the living hall. Nice living hall with fireplace, a spacious yard with picnic table, good size bathroom, a separate toilet and a well-equipped kitchen. Overall cottage 5 is very spacious, clean and homely.

Not aware of any shops nearby saved for the lodge's own restaurant. If you plan on cooking yourself, best stock up at the larger town before you hit on Highway 73. We bought our groceries at Darfield.

Flock Hill is a working station. A stroll around in the evening is quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We happened upon this incredible place by a stroke of good fortune. It was the best place we stayed on our entire trip to the South Island. John and Wendy go out of their way to ensure your stay exceeds all expectations! They cook amazing food, prepare anything you request, the rooms are full apartments!! It's on a gorgeous farm w/ scenic trails and horses, sheep, and even a pet pig! It's family friendly, as well as a beautiful romantic getaway! It also would be a killer place for a wedding or any other big celebration! I'd love to come back and stay longer next time!! Wendy, if you read this, thank you for everything you did for our daughter! She had so much fun!! You are so special.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stopped here for morning tea 4 years ago and it was so inviting that we decided to stay here instead of Christchurch as we were heading to Kaikoura. The lodge itself is very comfortable with a sitting and dining area. We were disappointed to hear that they were no longer providing morning tea for travellers but understand that they are in a rebuilding phase. The room itself was excellent with both a sitting room and bedroom with full kitchen facilities. The bed was extremely comfortable although the do a covers look a bit tied and droll (colour wise). We chose venison pie for dinner and were totally not disappointed. The hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating and recommended a famous pie shop (some 30 minutes away) for dinner the next night which we were able to heat up in the oven (delicious also). A great place to stay for horse riding, biking and during the winter with the ski fields around for members of the clubs. This is a working farm but you are able to walk through the field to the various sites around.

Room Tip: You can stay in own suite or there is also backpackers accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First, I love these red houses. They are very cute, situate in a huge farmland. The owner keeps horses, dogs and sheep in the farm too. Horses were very nice.
Second, the owner John and his wife were friendly, nice and decent couple. John helped us with our luggage and wendy cooked us a delicious meal. We loved them.^^ My friend asked to recommend the lamb. She said it was really good. ^^
Third, we were able to see the Milky Way at night. It's stunning!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

So, after some wonderful stays (see out other reviews) on our three week tour of NZ, one our second to last night, we turned up at Flock Hill Lodge. I'm sorry to be leaving such a poor review.

1. On arrival, we walked into the bar area, to be greeted by a gentleman behind the bar. We told him we'd booked a room. He seemed confused, grunted, and went to get his wife. Not the greatest of starts. In fairness, his wife seemed lovely. She walked us over to our room, on the far side of the complex. She chatted all the way.

2. As we walked over, my wife asked if there were lots of sandflies here. She'd suffered from numerous bites in the prior two weeks. The owner said (paraphrase) - "Loads - you'll get bitten alive". Fine. Absolutely no-one's fault - you deal with it when you're on/near the west coast. But why on earth, when we got the flat, were there so many windows left open (and consequently, so many flies already in the flat)? Needless to say, my wife got bitten several times during our stay, without venturing outside once (we only stayed one night).

3. The flat was run down (no problem, it was quite cheap), but also dirty. Bathroom was clean. Sheets on the bed were clean. But underneath EVERY window were collections of dead flies. That's not acceptable. The flat also smelt bad (presumably why the windows were left open). We got used to the smell after an hour or so inside, but after going out to look at the stars (pretty much no light pollution - fantastic), the smell was very noticeable.

On the plus side:

1. The grounds are beautiful.
2. The resident pig and horses are great - would be especially good for kids.
3. The lady who owns the place recommended a short walk, with a great view of the valley - beautiful scenery.
4. It is very quiet, and the location is beautiful.
5. The flat was spacious.

Unfortunately, the flies and the smell are mostly responsible for the poor review. Despite the beautiful surroundings, I can't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room with no dead flies, and without a bad smell. If you can get that, you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobciral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flock Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flock Hill Lodge

Address: Great Alpine Highway | Craigieburn Valley, Cass, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Cass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flock Hill Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing