We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rijswijk
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Compact and efficient”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel is on the edge of the business district of Rijswijk overlooking a strip of green park. There is always plenty of off-road parking and easy access to the Den Haag - Delft motorway.
The rooms are very well-kept and the beds comfortable. Although it seems to cater mainly to the business community, we use it when visiting family in Delft South, only 10 minutes down the A4.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij trachten altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast. Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    64
    67
    26
    14
See reviews for
10
41
14
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Right in the centre of Rijswijk business area. Clean and modern. Great for business trips. Will definitely stay here again. Rooms are a good standard. Would recommend it. Only complaint was that I had to wait ages to be served in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Den Haag Rijswijk.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here at the end of sept ..very basic was disappointed with single beds in the room but clean tidy and spacious and tea and coffee making was steal bonus. Breakfast was great lots of choice and plentiful. Not too far away from shopping centre for any thing you require..... But when we asked the staff for a local map to get our bearings they could not provide one.... Not good for tourists who don't know where they are....had to ask for a hairdryer not provided in the room... And if you have bags to carry was very difficult to drag them through the corridors and All the fire doors on the lower floor...But was quiet and comfortable that was what was required!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I can't give a rate: "very good" because it's just normal, correct 3* hotel.
I was staying in 'deluxe' room and it was fine but I don't see what they mean by luxe, because for me it was just normal room like in any 3* hotel... so I don't know how are their basic rooms.
There is free wifi and it was working very well.
Although location is not really good - close to the highway, so try to avoid a room on highway side.
But not far there is a tram station line 17 and I've seen also bus which goes to Delft one way, in the other it goes to center of the Hague.
Also what I didn't like in a room - small bed, 2 times I almost fell from it...

There was a kettle in room with tea and coffee, I liked that.
For the breakfast you have a choice: eggs, ham, bacon, but also fruits, joghurts, musli etc. but as for breakfast it's really expensive - 13.5€ and not really worth this price.
I had a nice meal for dinner, tasty, so their restaurant seems to be nice and worth to try it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmyh0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudeac, France
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

After reading some comments about the poor hotel service, I was a bit reluctant to book a room in this hotel. However, the room was neat and cosy and the attached service was close to perfect. The hotel lounge is well decorated and quite confortable. As for the restaurant, the service was quick and the food appetizing. Unlike what I could have read, the waitresses were totally available and present (a bit too much, perhaps). Eventually, I do advise this hotel for people, who have some business in the neighborhood, such as at the EPO.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rijswijk.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Bastion is a down-to-earth hotel in the medium price range. I use it regularly because of its convenient position, directly accessible from the motorway and with ample free parking, free wi-fil and adequate rooms, as well as good access by public transport. I like having a fridge in the room and tea-making equipment. Contrary to others, I have always, over many years, found all the staff impeccably friendly and helpful. Indeed, when I was given a standard room on my first visit, which I found unsatisfactory in many ways, the only redeeming feature was the niceness of the staff. So I disagree in that respect with other reviewers. Since then, I have booked a "deluxe" room, which I find rather euphemistic, but the room is good and comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Don't go for a standard room unless your requirements are basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucasgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rijswijk.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Hotel was clean and bedroom small but adequate. There was a fridge in the room and free wi-fi. The stay was spoiled by the sourpuss, unhelpful staff. We sat down in the restaurant and were just ignored. In fact, unhelpfulness seems to be a trait of the Dutch. When I took an item back in McDonald's the manageress basically told me I did not know what I was talking about! My wife's wheelchair charger packed up but the service shop refused to help as they did not sell the model she has.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ag_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rijswijk hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rijswijk
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Winston Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Savarin
Hotel & Spa Savarin
#2 of 3 in Rijswijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Student Hotel The Hague
The Student Hotel The Hague
#10 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#13 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
5.4 mi away
Jorplace
Jorplace
#34 of 67 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk

Property: Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk
Address: Polakweg 12, 2288 GG Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rijswijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rijswijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms, free fitness facilities and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk is located ideally along the A4 and is therefore well accessible by car. The Hague (Den Haag) and Scheveningen are easy to reach by car and with public transtport. In a two minute walk from the hotel you find the busstation. The bus reaches the train station of Rijswijk in approximately 10 minutes. The beautiful The Hague holds a lot of monuments and historic, interesting attractions. The Binnenhof and the Maurits house. With children it is fun to go to family amusement park Drievliet or Madurodam. Rooms The hotel in Rijswijk has 37 comfort rooms and 107 deluxe rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, air conditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath or walk-in shower, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 till 09.00 and in weekends from 07.00 till 10.30. the atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 till 23.00 for lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. Free Parking at Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk You can park your car free of charge at the parking of the hotel during your stay depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Den Haag Rijswijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing