We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect farmstay for families”
other travellers have booked this property
Karetu Downs Farm Stay 4 bedroom Farm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Karetu Downs Farm Stay 4 bedroom Farm Cottage
Emma with lamb Guest shearing the sheep
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Karetu Downs Farm Stay 4 bedroom Farm Cottage
Emma with lamb
Guest shearing the sheep
Children grain feeding the sheep
Happy girls staying at Karetu Downs cottage
Queen room Karetu Downs cottage
Queen room Karetu Downs cottage
Karetu Downs Cottage kitchen
View form the hills at Karetu Downs
Mountain biking the hills
Campervans welcome
Swimming at the river
Kevin the calf
Guest bottle feeding the lamb
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Hawarden, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Lou S
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Perfect farmstay for families”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful time at Karetu Downs. Karen and Bruce were wonderful hosts - introducing our young children to all the animals. They were very friendly and helpful and welcoming. Nothing was a problem. Plenty to do and lots walks and bike rides all on the doorstep.

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Thanks guys we enjoyed showing the kids the pet lambs, Kevin the calf and the Kune Kune pigs Ginger pig and Wilby and I know they had fun feeding them. So pleased you enjoyed mountain biking the hill country too. It was a pleasure meeting everyone and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Karen & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wellington
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Thank you Barbara and Nick. Bruce and I enjoyed meeting you both and were pleased you enjoyed staying with us. Congratulations to Nick selling his sculpture at Art in a garden too. Best wishes Karen & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christchurch
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Thank you Tracey and Martin for the lovely review. Many thanks for sending though the super photos of martin and the kids riding the horses on Karetu and I especially liked the photo of the kids kayaking on the river as well. Hope to see you all again soon. Karen & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christchurch
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christhchurch
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2013
Hi Andrew and Tracey thanks for your super review. We loved having you stay and the kids were a delight.Its great to see the smiles on their little faces when they see the animals. Next time you come we will take you out on the hills so you can experience some fantastic NZ hill country views.
Regards Karen & Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christchurch
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.