We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Words cannot decsribe how perfect Villa Maria is. We arrived not really knowing what to expect but were compltely blown away with the stunning views and surroundings. It truly is a little bit of paradise. The food is fresh, simple and delicious. You could always ask what the catch of the day is and upgrade! Washed down with a simple yet seemingly never ending supply of wines it made for the perfect evening meal. There is so much to do in the surrounding area and yet always nothing to do which is equally as perfect. Heading off thorugh the jungle to the completely isolated beach, heading up to the local waterfall which is indescribable or chilling by the pool.... you'll never want to leave. Couldnt recomend it more.

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out the Grand View Upper Suite is well worth the extra..... Out of this wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks so much for this review! We always appreciate hearing from guests, and its especially great when their stay was amazing. Villa Maria is a paradise, and we are proud to offer this type of jungle retreat to anyone visiting the area. Keep a watch as we are opening up a new section of Villa Maria quite soon, with new bamboo huts complete with TV, hot water, A/C, and hopefully internet! You can see the construction on our Instagram @kalihotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    99
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
73
344
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent two night here during march break. The property is quite nice, well maintained, with a lovely pool area. We stayed in the main complex, which was a little small, but rustic in a good way. The staff are very friendly (though no english is spoken) and accommodating with breakfast and other needs. We ate dinner there twice (not much of choice given the location) and the food was adequate (though nothing special). There is a path (currently being upgraded with flagstone and lights) that takes you to a very secluded and beautiful beach, about 10 minutes away. We chose this hotel for its location to Tayrona National Park. We took the local bus ($1) to the entrance to the park and hiked for about 1.5 hrs to get to the sea. Then, there are several choices as to beaches. Very beautiful. My only complaint, which has nothing to do with the hotel, is getting there. We took a shuttle (van) from Cartagena to Santa Marta (4 hrs+) and then a taxi to the hotel. Ate up much of the day. Did the same on the return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanislov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maria. Yes, the trip from Cartagena can take up most of the day, but it seems the easy access to Tayrona Park and a secluded, virtually private beach (except for the local fisherman) compensated for the day's travel. We hope to see you again soon! Our Villa Maria construction is very exciting and can be seen on Instagram @kalihotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The over all stay was good but not great. The kitchen staff were very accommodating but the menu is lacking any sort of variety and there is no other option for dinner with a few things open at lunch time. There is only wine and soft drinks available and no drinks menu. No one on site spoke English which made it difficult at times. And it can be very noisy because they use a generator, dogs, chickens and loads of staff. The pool and the hammocks are a good place to hang out, and the beach which is a close walk is nice but has a very strong current, would not recommend to people who aren't used to swimming in the surf.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_sb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm truly sorry to hear of your experience at Villa Maria. With its remote jungle location, we constantly try to think outside the box about how to provide the best possible service and luxury. Our menu features 5 different items, with fish, meat, chicken, and vegetarian dishes. Yes, we know there could be more variety in the menu, and we have chosen to focus on doing a few things very well. However, we always try to spice things up with daily dinner specials. Thanks for this feedback, as we are constantly working to improve. We are currently constructing a new section to Villa Maria and a bonafide restaurant, so if you were to return in 6 months, the place would be completely transformed. Happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The place was nice, service great and the location was close to the park.
The pool and beach nearby are nice and a good way to enjoy the day.

The room we stayed in was quite basic and lacked hot water. They are building out the location and I believe the new rooms are much larger and nicer.

I believe this will become better over time as they add more rooms, provide more information about the area and improve the food options.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry about the problems you encountered during your stay. Due to its jungle location, Villa Maria does not have a gas line, which would allow us to maintain true water heaters. We have electric shower heads that provide hot water, however if the electricity cuts out, as it does from time to time, the water would not come out hot. We are constantly working on bringing more variety to the regular menu, and there are many other special/vegetarian options not on the menu, but available upon request whenever we can get the ingredients. Thank for you mentioning our current additions, as we are excited about expanding Villa Maria. We hope to see you in the future to truly blow you away with amazing service and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Spent one night in the main house last week as the finca is very popular and i reserved late. Definitely worth a longer stay. Beach is a short walk away, wide and virtually empty. Main house is spacious, comfortable and off beaten path. Meals fresh. Staff particularly in kitchen very kind, offering flexibility on type and timing of food. Kindly helped us when we spilled wine on a dress. Feels like your home. We hope to return for a longer visit.

Room Tip: We took only room available, upstairs in main house...it was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vyborna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for this review. We are very proud of Villa Maria, and excited that we can offer a high quality jungle retreat. It is a unique place. We are currently building some new cabañas in a nearby section of Villa Maria, so check us out on Instagram @kalihotels to see the progress. Thanks gain, and we hope to see you soon so you can stay in some of the new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Before coming to Colombia and reading bad reviews on trip advisor about accommodation in Tayrona park, we decided to stay in Santa Marta and do a day trip into the park. When we got to casa isabella in Santa Marta and the owners helpfully offered to rearrange our trip to fit a night here, we rearranged things. Our only regret is we didn't stay longer- the park is a bit of a trek in and out and it would have been nice to have two nights so we could have some time to relax at villa Maria too! Villa Maria itself is in paradise and even with the less fancy rooms it is still a great jungle stay. The views and pool are superb, the nearby beach is gorgeous even if a bit rough for swimming and the staff are excellent. If you want an easy trip into the park, a really beautiful location and are ready for a jungle stay, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laethantasaoire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for this great review! We are always so happy to share this wonderful property with guests of Casa de Leda or Casa de Isabella as an added surprise to their coastal Colombian vacation. We are currently building a few new cabins to augment our current rooms. With hot water, TV, air conditioning, (and with fingers crossed that the telecom company allows us) internet. Check us out on Instagram @kalihotels to see the progress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the Villa Maria for two nights. Loved it! Juan Diego and the rest of the staff were attentive and helpful. The meals they prepared for us were healthy and delicious! The location is great! Not far to the entrance to Tyrona Park and a secluded beach is a five minute walk away. We enjoyed a dip in the pool each night before dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks a lot of this review. Villa Maria is a truly unique and special place. We are currently planning and building a few more cabañas there, as we develop, one of our main goals is to maintain its current character. You can follow the construction of our new cabins on our Facebook page. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tayrona National Park
2.5 mi away
Tayrona Tented Lodge
Tayrona Tented Lodge
#2 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
Villa Playa Los Naranjos
#1 of 1 in Los Naranjos
6 reviews
22.9 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
510 reviews
22.4 mi away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
268 reviews
2.9 mi away
Posadas Ecoturisticas Seineken
Posadas Ecoturisticas Seineken
#1 of 5 in Tayrona National Park
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel

Property: Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Address: Troncal Del Caribe Km 34 | (3km on the Main Road From Entrance of Park), Tayrona National Park, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Tayrona National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tayrona National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maria combines natural beauty with the comfort of a luxurious resort and the intimacy of your personal country retreat. Surrounded by lush jungle overlooking the ocean, you relax in the shade next to your private swimming pool. Our staff will give you the best welcoming. As you walk the 5 minutes path on your way to the virgin, white sand beach, you will pick avocados, papayas, and bananas right off the tree. Attended by a 24-hour staff, Villa Maria provides daily cleaning, free breakfast, air conditioning, meals upon request, and of course, lots of fresh air. Just 45 minutes from the Old City of Santa Marta, you can expect the same superior quality of amenities and personal service as at all Kali hotels. At Villa Maria, you choose your own agenda. With our on-site staff, all of your needs will be anticipated and met. Drink juice directly from coconuts harvested 10 feet away, or eat fresh fish caught just in front of the local beach. Located 3 kilometres from the entrance to Tayrona National Park, the Villa keeps you close to the park's legendary beaches while giving you the privacy of your own home. Furthermore Villa Maria is the only hotel in the area offering hot water and a/c in the rooms. Local attractions of Quebrada Valencia, the trek to La Ciudad Perdida, and Orinoco can be reached with ease. Our network of hiking trails gives you the authentic sense of exploration felt by the area's first pioneers. Surfing, sunbathing, swimming in waterfalls, or simply walking the grounds will make you cherish every moment you spend at this slice of paradise. At the end of the day, satisfy all of your senses with a comfortable bed and the iconic aroma of the Ylang-Ylang flower, made famous by Chanel No. 5, growing on our gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing