We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally happiness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally happiness”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

What a nice place .... we stayed 1 week on this farmstay and we really enjoyed our time ... the scenery is remarkable especially the lookout to the Southern Alps. It's so quiet and on the farm are many friendly animals. Mike and Pam are really kind people and they work hard for our pleasure. See you soon again Mike and Pam.

Alexander and Andrea from Germany

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank by_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We went during a bad period - when it was raining continously and most of the usual sights were not available due to the rain. But nevertheless, my partner and I enjoyed our stay at Mingary. It was a very good getaway from the busy bustling city life we came from. Pam and Mike are very kind and geninue people - it feels like coming home to our parents.
Pam is a great cook and Mike has a wonderful sense of humour. We enjoyed sitting around at the fireplace and chatting with them and their friends, Dave & Trish, before dinner. We didnt feel like we were tourists at all but were part of the family.
A stay in Mingary is a good way to experience farm life in NZ!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Upon arrival at Mingary Farmstay, we were warmly greeted by Pam and Mike and their new puppy, as if we were family that they hadn't seen in a while. What a wonderful experience - you really are staying as a guest in their home, and they were so welcoming with tea and delicious zucchini bread - and great stories to make us feel at home. We had a nice spacious room with doors that opened out onto the porch with a beautiful view of the farm (with their horses, alpacas, sheep, cows, etc). Pam provided us a very hearty breakfast the next morning with almost all ingredients entirely from their farm (sausage, eggs, and more). She even packed up our leftovers for a nice picnic lunch later in the day on our way through Arthur's Pass! After breakfast we wandered the farm a bit to pet their horses and sheep, and to enjoy the beautiful grounds. We wish we could have stayed more than one night - it would have been a lot of fun to explore more, but hopefully we can come back to visit soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomaddmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We had a lovely room with a gorgeous view. Pam and Mike made us feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It is truly a wonderful place. My only regret is that we stayed us just one night. 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

It's a lovely little farm in the near of Oxford. They have a nice veggie garden and a lot of sheeps and cattle. And don't forget the pretty nice view from the veranda over the hills in the background!
The food was very delicious and more then we expected. The rooms are tidy and all have shower and a toilet.
I think we'll come back one day ;)
Robert and Timo from Germany

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I had a wonderful stay at Mingary. The farm is in Oxford, about a 50 minute drive from Christchurch, so its the perfect relaxing getaway while still being within striking distance of one of New Zealand's most culturally rich cities.

The Farmstay hosts were so friendly and accommodating, the food was splendid and my room was comfortable and clean. The farm itself was absolutely gorgeous-rolling scenic hills, nice trail into the hills, and even a quiet stream meandering through the heart of the farm. My stay was the most relaxing part of my trip to New Zealand. Mike and Pam were really the model of Kiwi hospitality. I wish I could return again and again and again.....

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pakeha1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

On searching for a farmstay in Canterbury, I was lucky enough to find a quiet gem near the small town of Oxford. The hosts, Pam and Mike, were so friendly and their home warm and inviting.

The scenery was awe inspiring with beautiful nature walks in the hills of the farm. Being so close to nature, feeding the Alpacas, petting the tame sheep and participating in hand-milking a cow--"Quite an Experience."

Lasting memories of a beautiful New Zealand

Diane, Oregon

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
19.7 mi away
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
#1 of 4 in Rangiora
137 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ashley Gorge Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
Oxford Village Motel
Oxford Village Motel
#1 of 2 in Oxford
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation

Property: Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation
Address: 160 Sladdens Bush Road, Oxford 7495, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a tranquil setting at the foothills at Oxford. We farm cattle and a small flock of sheep, also we have Alpaca's, miniature horses,chickens,ducks,pigs, and milking cows. We are on the inland scenic route 72 between Rangiora and State Highway 73 (to the West Coast, Lake Tekapo, Hanmer Springs and Kaikoura). Within a few minutes drive there is salmon & trout fishing, easy walks and tramps at Mt Oxford, Mt Richardson, Mt Thomas, and many bush walks also nearby.Horse trekking can be arranged. Mountain biking at the Wharfdale track offers one of the best in the South Island. Ski fields within 1-1/2 hrs drive.On the farm we grow all our own food with no sprays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing