We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great farmstay with spa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation
Singapore
1 review
“Great farmstay with spa”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had a really bad beginning to our 16 days trip to south island. Upon reaching the airport after hours of flight, we were informed by the airline that all our luggage did not arrived & they would need to locate them. We are a family of 6 with 2 aged parents and 2 young children, so you could imagine our dismay on hearing that!

However we were really glad that we have booked 2 nights at Mingary Farm. Upon reaching the farm, we were greeted with warm hospitality by Pam & Mike & treated to a yummy home made snack for tea. By the time we had our home cooked dinner (delicious beef stew with lots of vegetables from the garden) with the cozy fire, the ordeal at the airport was all but forgotten & we felt that everything is going to turn out fine after all.

The next day, we were relief to find out that the airline had found our luggage & we got them back in the afternoon. We celebrated by soaking in the outdoor spa pool facing the canturbary hill (complete with beer well also home made by Mike in our hands). It was a great moment that our family were always remember! After the spa, we had another sumptuous dinner by Pam.

Our family had enjoyed the stay at Mingary Farm. After the whole NZ trip, all of us agreed that that our stay at Mingary Farm is the best of all of 16 days! Thanks Pam & Mike.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCL339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The location is really convenient for walking the local foot hills, forests and DOC reserves.

The farm is genuine and the hosts are wonderful. The rooms are clean and well kept with hot water en suites. The breakfast is the best I've ever had (sorry mum) as everything is fresh from the farm: honey, bread, butter, jams, bacon, sausage, eggs, milk... even the cheese is home made. It was a real family meal with hosts and guests.

Didn't have dinner but wish we had.

Thank you Pam and Mike!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0isie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in February (unseasonally damp) - but were very well looked after by Pam & Mike who were very helpful & friendly. Great country setting with good walks in the area. Room was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Mingary Farmstay B&B is a really lovely place to stay .It's close to chch good point to stopover to go to west coast.
Pam&Mike are friendly nice cuple and they have cute animals!! baby alpaca was so cute and lovely crazy Mag :-) They also have a nice hill that you can see canturbary !!
Pam's yummy food! vegs and meats are mostly from there farm &garden!! Mike has a great sence of humor!
I had a really goog time here!!

Thank you Pam&Mike! See you again!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miyuki_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Comfortable and friendly B&B on a working farm, well located as a stopover between Christchurch and the West Coast. Comfortable spacious room with double doors opening onto the veranda; no TV but we were offered one if we wanted it. Dinner in the evening was very good and great value - a hearty meal using homegrown and homemade ingredients from the farm (even the beer and cider!) and we had some delicious homemade Feta Cheese to take away with us in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Mingary is a nice B & B. I stayed 5 days on this farmstay and I really enjoyed my time over there. Mingary is a quiet place and the farm have many friendly animals...Mono, Poly & Mag. Mike and Pam are nice and friendly. I have my good memory to this farmstay.

Fenella Wong from Malaysia

* Stayed September 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

What a nice place .... we stayed 1 week on this farmstay and we really enjoyed our time ... the scenery is remarkable especially the lookout to the Southern Alps. It's so quiet and on the farm are many friendly animals. Mike and Pam are really kind people and they work hard for our pleasure. See you soon again Mike and Pam.

Alexander and Andrea from Germany

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank by_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
6.1 mi away
Ashley Gorge Holiday Park
19.7 mi away
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
#1 of 4 in Rangiora
137 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oxford Village Motel
Oxford Village Motel
#1 of 2 in Oxford
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Oxford Queenette Backpackers
Show Prices

Been to Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation

Property: Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation
Address: 160 Sladdens Bush Road, Oxford 7495, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a tranquil setting at the foothills at Oxford. We farm cattle and a small flock of sheep, also we have Alpaca's, miniature horses,chickens,ducks,pigs, and milking cows. We are on the inland scenic route 72 between Rangiora and State Highway 73 (to the West Coast, Lake Tekapo, Hanmer Springs and Kaikoura). Within a few minutes drive there is salmon & trout fishing, easy walks and tramps at Mt Oxford, Mt Richardson, Mt Thomas, and many bush walks also nearby.Horse trekking can be arranged. Mountain biking at the Wharfdale track offers one of the best in the South Island. Ski fields within 1-1/2 hrs drive.On the farm we grow all our own food with no sprays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing