We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great start to a great holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation
Dorset
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great start to a great holiday”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We chose this as somewhere close to Christchurch after landing in NZ. Oxford is maybe and easy 45 minute easy drive from the airport with Mingary on the outskirts of the town - definitely a rural location. A very warm welcome from Pam and Mike and a very comfortable room. Friendly hospitality without being intrusive and a lovely setting looking over the hills with the sheep and miniature horses.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedPete07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a wonderful time at Mingary Farm; we stayed four nights and would have liked to stay more.
Our room was comfortable and sunny during the day, we used the hot tub under the stars, we had wonderful walks around the property!
What we liked most though it was the interesting t farm our we did together with Mike, the host. He showed us how to milk a cow and then Pam gave us cheese making lessons. Wonderful!
Pam, which is a great cook and have deep knowledge of self-sufficiency - taught us how to make feta, butter, ricotta! Next time we will come back to learn how to make camembert and mozzarella, all with cow's fresh milk.
The lessons were so interesting, she showed us the way of making cheese very clearly, phase by phase... and now I am able to make my own feta!!! And it is so tasty!
It was one of the best experiences I had in New Zealand and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mingary Farm and regretted not staying more than just the one night. Pam and Mike provided with all the comfort, food and good company anyone could possibly wish for. We were made to feel like part of the family. Pam cooked us an excellent and extremely hearty evening meal and a full cooked breakfast the next morning. We were sent on our way with a hunk of delicious home-made feta cheese. If you are visiting New Zealand, squeeze a stay at Mingary Farmstay into your itinerary, it sure as hell beats an impersonal motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaidbackBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Mingary Farm was the first overnight stop of our 12-day South Island drive and it was a perfect start. We arrived in the mid afternoon and was met by Pam with a warm cup of tea and biscuits. Sitting in front of the fire place in their comfortable living room and chatting with Mike and Pam, you immediately felt the warmth and friendliness the New Zealanders posses. We took a walk around the huge farm and watched their lovely animals feeding when the sun was setting. Beautiful! After a long flight, we didn't feel like driving to town to have dinner so Pam offered for us to eat with them (and she didn't want to charge us either). Supper was delicious beef stew with home grown vegetables. The next morning, Pam cooked a huge full English breakfast which I enjoyed tremendously - I think this was by far the best breakfast among all our stays on the South Island. Unfortunately my husband had caught some kind of flu so he couldn't eat any, Pam gave us a bottle of homemade honey to bring with us on the road to help my husband's stomach. How kind and thoughtful! The farm stay offers everything one needs in a simple, straight forward way. Our room has a very nice view of the farm and the animals and was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have similar sizes, large enough for two to move about comfortably. I liked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrushaGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Mingary Farmstay is everything a farmstay should be, a beautiful setting, relaxed atmosphere and good food! Both Pam and Mike make you feel like one of the familly in there typical kiwi unpretentious down to earth attitude. Pam cooks an excellent large breakfast in the morning where nearly everything is grown or made on the farm. We stayed in the Lavender Suite which was spacious comfortable and clean. I can highly recommend dinner at Cafe 51 in Oxford followed by starlit soak in the Jacuzzi on the veranda.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Mingary has a warm, relaxed atmosphere and wonderful food, especially if you are interested in home grown and housemade produce. Our room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable and the views were fabulous. Highly recommended if you are looking for quality accommodation without the fussy stuff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had a really bad beginning to our 16 days trip to south island. Upon reaching the airport after hours of flight, we were informed by the airline that all our luggage did not arrived & they would need to locate them. We are a family of 6 with 2 aged parents and 2 young children, so you could imagine our dismay on hearing that!

However we were really glad that we have booked 2 nights at Mingary Farm. Upon reaching the farm, we were greeted with warm hospitality by Pam & Mike & treated to a yummy home made snack for tea. By the time we had our home cooked dinner (delicious beef stew with lots of vegetables from the garden) with the cozy fire, the ordeal at the airport was all but forgotten & we felt that everything is going to turn out fine after all.

The next day, we were relief to find out that the airline had found our luggage & we got them back in the afternoon. We celebrated by soaking in the outdoor spa pool facing the canturbary hill (complete with beer well also home made by Mike in our hands). It was a great moment that our family were always remember! After the spa, we had another sumptuous dinner by Pam.

Our family had enjoyed the stay at Mingary Farm. After the whole NZ trip, all of us agreed that that our stay at Mingary Farm is the best of all of 16 days! Thanks Pam & Mike.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCL339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
4.1 mi away
Oxford Village Motel
Oxford Village Motel
#1 of 2 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ashley Gorge Holiday Park
19.7 mi away
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
#1 of 4 in Rangiora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation

Property: Mingary Farmstay B&B Accommodation
Address: 160 Sladdens Bush Road, Oxford 7495, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a tranquil setting at the foothills at Oxford. We farm cattle and a small flock of sheep, also we have Alpaca's, miniature horses,chickens,ducks,pigs, and milking cows. We are on the inland scenic route 72 between Rangiora and State Highway 73 (to the West Coast, Lake Tekapo, Hanmer Springs and Kaikoura). Within a few minutes drive there is salmon & trout fishing, easy walks and tramps at Mt Oxford, Mt Richardson, Mt Thomas, and many bush walks also nearby.Horse trekking can be arranged. Mountain biking at the Wharfdale track offers one of the best in the South Island. Ski fields within 1-1/2 hrs drive.On the farm we grow all our own food with no sprays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing