We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Simply wonderful!
Shirley and John were the most lovely , thoughtful, accommodating hosts you could ever wish to find.
The accommodation was beautiful. We had a beautiful large bedroom (the yellow room) with its own small lounge. The bed was large and comfortable and the linen top quality. We had a large flat screen and tea and coffee making facilities were most welcome for that early morning cuppa.
The breakfast we ate with them was superbly cooked by John and there was such a choice. . Accommodation apart, what made this the best of the many B&Bs and Home stays we have stayed in, was without doubt John and Shirley.

Room Tip: We had the yellow room, which was superb and roomy but any of the three rooms will be of the same hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayeuplass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

It might have been a long time ago but we can remember you both. Hope all is well with you. Thank you very much for your comments. The yellow roses didn't fare very well this year, our pet lamb loved the taste of them and when she got loose she made a bee line for them, the only rose bush she ate. We aim to please and are so glad we did that for you. Kind Regards Shirley and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

John and Shirley were fantastic and gracious hosts and really looked after us and made us feel welcome. The room we stayed in was ensuite and within their home on the first floor and was spacious and comfortable (photos on their website). The only improvement comment I would make is it could have done with a touch better cleaning but it was a minor thing. Before we left in the morning we enjoyed a well cooked breakfast as well as seeing the sheep and lambs kept by John. We stayed here as a stopover whilst driving through Arthur's pass on to the western side of South Island and for that the location was very convenient. The home was on an idyllic site, really peaceful. Overall this was like staying with family, say an old Uncle and Aunt. Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordongecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Thank you for your kind remarks, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the hospitality.
We apologise that the cleaning wasn't up to our usual standard and would appreciate if you could let us know, where we let you and ourselves down so that we can pay more attention to what was wrong. We hope that the rest of your holiday was hassle free with great accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We had two very comfortable rooms in a separate, private wing in this beautiful home. We enjoyed delicious, filling breakfasts, fun conversations with John and Shirley, and feeding the baby lambs. It was an easy walk to the small downtown and restaurants, though John is an excellent cook and offers dinners at home as well. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Hi Guys
Thanks very much for your lovely comments. We are new to this Trip Advisor and apologise for not posting a response earlier. We enjoyed having you and if you had come back this year we would have had more lambs for you to feed. Have just come back from a 10 week holiday abroad, Egypt, UK, China, in a few years it will be USA. Take care and hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed at Hielan House in late February, as one of the other reviewers did, en route from Fox Glacier to Kaikoura. We also only had one night in a crowded itinerary, and found it a very pleasant place to stay with a large bedroom, good bathroom and a sitting area upstairs. We also were invited to have a drink with Shirley and John. We weren't able to use the pool as we didn't arrive until late, although in time to get to the local restaurant (there only appeared to be one open on a Saturday night!)
Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_R99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Thanks very much for your excellent comments. Glad you enjoyed our accommodation and hospitality. The swimming pool is going well and we understand you can see the thistle in the pool via Google Earth! Have just returned from your beautiful country, windy roads and traffic make it a bit slower than we anticipated but we thought London was just great.
Shirley and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Hielan House is situated on a hill overlooking the surrounding countryside. The home is big and warm and very comfortable. Shirley and John are the consumate hosts, plenty of good conversation, a terrific meal choice and the rooms are warm, cozy, clean and inviting. The grounds are spacious and the environment is relaxing. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rastydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2010

Thanks very much for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We thoroughly enjoy our guests, each one is different but each one brings something different to our home. We can see the world through our guests eyes and don't even have to leave home. Thanks again for the compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We chose Hielan' House to stop over for a night en route to Kaikoura from Fox glacier but now wished we'd spent two or three of days there as a base for Christchurch and the fascinating Arthur's Pass area.
It is set in Oxford, a lovely country town close to Christchurch and in pretty countryside very much like Surrey in England. The rooms are large, light and airy and well equipped with every facility. There is also a simming pool, jacuzzi & sauna for relaxation after a hard day having fun!
The hosts are really welcoming and invite guests to come togetherwith them for an evening drink & conversation which we really enjoyed. Part of the fun of travelling is swapping stories and experiences with other people in similar situations.
Breakfast is very generous and well presented.
We will definitely come back when next in the South Island!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wizardofoz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 mi away
Oxford Village Motel
Oxford Village Motel
#1 of 2 in Oxford
50 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ashley Gorge Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Oxford Queenette Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hielan House Countrystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hielan House Countrystay B&B

Address: 74 Bush Road, Oxford 7430, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £84 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality upstairs guest rooms with relaxing areas, ensuites, TV/DVD, fridges, hairdryers, bathrobes, slippers. Complimentary laundry. Golf clubs to use. Relax, unwind on 6 acres in peaceful rural Oxford or stay longer and make us your base for day trips to Arthurs Pass, Hanmer, Akaroa. 3 mins from Inland Scenic Route 72, via Bay Road. 45 mins from Christchurch Airport and Christchurch City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing