We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
24
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find.....Hielan House is a peaceful, comfortable , friendly place to stay.
We arrived in Oxford on our way to Arthur's pass only to find that the three restraunts in town were not open on that night and I hastily rang John to ask for advice on where to eat.....he suggested with him and Shirley....what more could you ask for.
It was a very hot day and we enjoyed a dip in the swimming pool before a delicious supper prepared by John and shared not only supper but also a very enjoyable evening with our hosts.
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with all mod cons and home made biscuits to have with cups of tea. There was also a guest lounge well stocked with information pamphlets and many books to browse through.
Next morning after a delicious breakfast we set off for Arthur's Pass equipped with a very helpful print out of things to stop and see along the way which Shirley had prepared for us.
We found this an excellent place to stay made especially so by John and Shirley.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Judith

Our apologies for not responding to your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. We are a little bit new to this and even now I couldn't work out how to respond, until I scrolled down the page!
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed your company and yes John is a pretty good cook.
Hope you have managed to miss the cold and the floods in the UK. Best Wishes Shirley and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at Hielan House at the time of our daughters wedding in Oxford. John & Shirley were incredibly accommodating to our every request. Our daughter and her bridesmaids were able to use the spacious lounge to get ready, and we were even able to use their lovely garden as a backdrop for the family photos. We enjoyed a scrumptious breakfast which set us up for the busy day ahead. A perfect place for us to stay and we would have no hesitation in 100% recommending Hielan House to travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neatsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed your family and seeing you all in the wedding finery (and the old car). Louise made a beautiful bride and we were glad we were able to share in this wonderful occasion. Our apologies for not responding sooner, now we know how to do it. We aim to please and appreciate your comments that we managed to do that. All the very best. John and Shirley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Simply wonderful!
Shirley and John were the most lovely , thoughtful, accommodating hosts you could ever wish to find.
The accommodation was beautiful. We had a beautiful large bedroom (the yellow room) with its own small lounge. The bed was large and comfortable and the linen top quality. We had a large flat screen and tea and coffee making facilities were most welcome for that early morning cuppa.
The breakfast we ate with them was superbly cooked by John and there was such a choice. . Accommodation apart, what made this the best of the many B&Bs and Home stays we have stayed in, was without doubt John and Shirley.

Room Tip: We had the yellow room, which was superb and roomy but any of the three rooms will be of the same high standard. The beautiful fragrant yellow roses from the garden, found in our room and ensuite, brightened up the rather misty damp day outside.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayeuplass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

It might have been a long time ago but we can remember you both. Hope all is well with you. Thank you very much for your comments. The yellow roses didn't fare very well this year, our pet lamb loved the taste of them and when she got loose she made a bee line for them, the only rose bush she ate. We aim to please and are so glad we did that for you. Kind Regards Shirley and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

John and Shirley were fantastic and gracious hosts and really looked after us and made us feel welcome. The room we stayed in was ensuite and within their home on the first floor and was spacious and comfortable (photos on their website). The only improvement comment I would make is it could have done with a touch better cleaning but it was a minor thing. Before we left in the morning we enjoyed a well cooked breakfast as well as seeing the sheep and lambs kept by John. We stayed here as a stopover whilst driving through Arthur's pass on to the western side of South Island and for that the location was very convenient. The home was on an idyllic site, really peaceful. Overall this was like staying with family, say an old Uncle and Aunt. Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordongecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Thank you for your kind remarks, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the hospitality.
We apologise that the cleaning wasn't up to our usual standard and would appreciate if you could let us know, where we let you and ourselves down so that we can pay more attention to what was wrong. We hope that the rest of your holiday was hassle free with great accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We had two very comfortable rooms in a separate, private wing in this beautiful home. We enjoyed delicious, filling breakfasts, fun conversations with John and Shirley, and feeding the baby lambs. It was an easy walk to the small downtown and restaurants, though John is an excellent cook and offers dinners at home as well. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Hi Guys
Thanks very much for your lovely comments. We are new to this Trip Advisor and apologise for not posting a response earlier. We enjoyed having you and if you had come back this year we would have had more lambs for you to feed. Have just come back from a 10 week holiday abroad, Egypt, UK, China, in a few years it will be USA. Take care and hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews