We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxford
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Like other reviewers we were travelling across Arthur's Pass to the West Coast and could not have found anywhere better to stay. John and Shirley made us feel very welcome in their lovely home. The accommodation and facilities were first class. Oxford is just a small village with limited places to eat, however, our hosts arranged for us to dine at the Working Men's Club and how lucky we were! The food was excellent in every respect, great value and came with very friendly service. In the morning we enjoyed a superb home cooked breakfast which set us up for the day. We could not recommend this homestay highly enough and hope we might be fortunate to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
It is always a pleasure to host lovely guests. We had something in common as we had visited Perth, Scotland in 2011. We aim to please and John does a great job in entertaining guests and cooking breakfast. Our local club does a wonderful job with meals on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays and we have handed your compliments onto them. Hope all is well in the UK and thanks for your very nice words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have just got around to writing this review, we spent three weeks in New Zealand and have only just settled back into our usual routine. We stayed with John and Shirley for just one night, the 3rd March on our way to Arthurs Pass.
Of all our accommodations in New Zealand this is the one that will stay in our memories for a long time. If anyone is looking for somewhere to stay near the pass or near to Christchurch we can totally recommend Heilan House.
From the moment we arrived we recieved nothing but exceptional hospitality. When we arrived John made us tea, and we were given really delicious homemade biscuits. There were also some on our tea tray in the bedroom, along with sweets.
I had my washing done for me whilst my husband and I went for a walk around the village.
In the evening we enjoyed a roast lamb dinner with all the trimmings,copious amounts of wine and a choice of home made apple pie or home made profiteroles. It was lovely to sit at the table with John and Shirley. They took an interest in our journey so far, and also gave us tips and info on the best places to stop on our trip across the pass. It was also very interesting to hear about their travels too.
If ever we go back to New Zealand we will stay with John and Shirley again, and for longer next time.

Room Tip: Choose to stay here, you won't be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Wow, that is a lovely review. We are so glad we made it comfortable and memorable for you while you are travelling our wonderful country. John is an excellent cook and does us proud (had a good teacher if I say so myself - Shirley) As we have travelled widely overseas and also know our piece of paradise in the South Island we are happy to help out with things to see that aren't on the maps. Thanks very much for your thoughtful nice words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Prior to our vacation in New Zealand we had e mail correspondence with our hosts and the warmth of that communication was translated into their hosting skills when we arrived. We had had a long hot drive and it was lovely to be greeted with a old drink and a nice relax by the pool before dinner. Our suite was excellent and breakfast next day was home grown produce of a nature New Zealand is famous or. John was the main cook with Shirley an excellent co host . We normally prefer self catering or hotel accommodation as we are not sure about the level of 'intimacy' that staying in someone's home involves - John and Shirley have changed all that and I would recommend this home stay without reservations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for your kind words. We love hosting guests from all parts of the world. Because we have travelled and done B&Bing as well we like to hear what we are good at and what we aren't. glad we have been able to change your minds about staying in people's homes. Interested in the sleep quality, would appreciate what it fell down on, but liked your scoring. All the best in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathill
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Hielan House with John and Shirley en route from Christchurch to the west coast. The setting of the house is idyllic and the accommodation is spacious and immaculate. John and Shirley could not have been better hosts, arranging our evening meal at the Oxford Bowls Club and entertaining us later over a drink. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

Hielan House is simply the best and is unreservedly recommended.

Room Tip: All accommodation is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukwanderer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks very much for your kind comments. We enjoyed the company, the conversation and exchanging travel experiences. Its so great to meet nice couples who enjoy our 'neck of the woods' in Oxford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We took both bedrooms when we stayed with John and Shirley when we passed through Oxford with two clients. We don't generally stay in B & Bs but Hielan House was enticing with its country setting and lovely English garden. John and Shirley have the knack of putting strangers at ease, and with the guest bedrooms and sitting room accessed from their own side door, it didn't feel like we were intruding in someone else's space. The breakfast table was beautifully set and breakfast very good. Being a Sunday night, and not much open in town, Shirley had made a reservation for us at the sporting club — which had surprisingly good food. John and Shirley are a warm, hospitable, interesting couple who are very good at what they do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Great to receive lovely comments about our Bed and Breakfast. We appreciate the time taken to tell us about your experience with us. We enjoy our guests company and your company, along with your guests, was no exception. Glad to hear that we met expectations and that you enjoyed your trip further down the South Island. Its also nice to hear that you enjoyed our local Oxford Club. I have passed your comments onto Janice the Manager. Best Wishes Shirley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed staying at this quaint and peaceful B&B in Oxford. You are greeted by the hosts John and Shirley, who love to entertain you in style. The table is immaculately set with gold plated china, glassware and cutlery, which immediately makes you feel special. The property is set on a large block and has sheep, hens and wonderful fresh vegetables of which are often served for dinner and breakfast. When we were there, which was in February 2013, the weather was exceptionally warm, so a dip in the pool was a must, then a hot spa afterwards. John and Shirley bring you drinks in the spa and nibbles by the pool. The bedrooms (and there are three) are spacious with stunning views overlooking mountains and the Canterbury Plains. John and Shirley will give you great tips on where to go to next and what you can see and do at these places. I thoroughly recommend staying at this high quality B&B. Joybelle

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Sorry it has taken so long to response to your comments on Trip Advisor. Great to see wonderful comments about our homestay. We enjoyed your company, and those of your friends. You must come again, we would love to share our experiences with you once more. John loves cooking for the guests and making them comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find.....Hielan House is a peaceful, comfortable , friendly place to stay.
We arrived in Oxford on our way to Arthur's pass only to find that the three restraunts in town were not open on that night and I hastily rang John to ask for advice on where to eat.....he suggested with him and Shirley....what more could you ask for.
It was a very hot day and we enjoyed a dip in the swimming pool before a delicious supper prepared by John and shared not only supper but also a very enjoyable evening with our hosts.
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with all mod cons and home made biscuits to have with cups of tea. There was also a guest lounge well stocked with information pamphlets and many books to browse through.
Next morning after a delicious breakfast we set off for Arthur's Pass equipped with a very helpful print out of things to stop and see along the way which Shirley had prepared for us.
We found this an excellent place to stay made especially so by John and Shirley.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithChater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Judith

Our apologies for not responding to your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. We are a little bit new to this and even now I couldn't work out how to respond, until I scrolled down the page!
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed your company and yes John is a pretty good cook.
Hope you have managed to miss the cold and the floods in the UK. Best Wishes Shirley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 mi away
Oxford Village Motel
Oxford Village Motel
#1 of 2 in Oxford
46 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ashley Gorge Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Oxford Queenette Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hielan House Countrystay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hielan House Countrystay B&B

Property: Hielan House Countrystay B&B
Address: 74 Bush Road, Oxford 7430, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality upstairs guest rooms with relaxing areas, ensuites, TV/DVD, fridges, hairdryers, bathrobes, slippers. Complimentary laundry. Golf clubs to use. Relax, unwind on 6 acres in peaceful rural Oxford or stay longer and make us your base for day trips to Arthurs Pass, Hanmer, Akaroa. 3 mins from Inland Scenic Route 72, via Bay Road. 45 mins from Christchurch Airport and Christchurch City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing