We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
24
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2016

It was just wonderful.
Lovely atmosphere, food delicious. Shirley and John were perfect hosts.
Great to use the telescope in the suite to look at the New Zealand sky, and the view of the mountains in the morning was just as awe inspiring.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Hi Ian
Thanks very much for your great review. It was a pleasure to host you and your lovely wife Rachel. Hope it was a relaxing time for you and you enjoyed the rest of your time in Oxford. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed with Shirley and John for one night in February on a 5 week tour of New Zealand and Australia. By the time we left we felt we had stayed with friends. Hielan House is in a beautiful peaceful location away from it all. When you arrive you drive up a lovely flower and shrub filled driveway into the lovely gardens. Our accommodation was huge with a very large lounge double aspect lounge with stunning views from the balcony. This was equipped with a small kitchenette with coffee making facility and microwave, large seating area and dinning table, TV and large telescope. Onto top of this there was a separate bedroom, bathroom and walk in wardrobe. We only stayed one night but it is very suitable for a longer stay. Oxford itself is very quiet but would be excellent base for exploring the area beyond. When I contacted Shirley and John re places to eat they did offer us an evening meal for €40 dollars per person including meal and drinks. I believe this is only available on request and booked and food chosen in advance. We opted for the lamb and joined them for a very pleasant meal with wine with the food all coming from their small holding. It was an extremely pleasant evening which was a highlight on our tour as they are a great couple and very knowledgeable about the area. There was a great choice for breakfast, ordered the night before. Highly recommended stop on any tour of New Zealand.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

What lovely words, Pauline, and loved the photographs. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and conversation over dinner and breakfast. Garden is now going through its autumn colours and lots of leaves to rake up. You were a lovely couple to host and appreciate your kindness in the review. Take care and all the best. Shirley and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We have just returned to the UK from a 6 week tour of NZ and stayed with Shirley and John very early on. We stayed in some nice places but this was one of the best. We were also given lots of information about the area and where to go on our travels which was very helpful.The facilities and hospitality including dinner were second to none and we even managed a dip in the pool! It would have been nice to stay longer and wouldn't hesitate in recommending anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear Lesley and David

Lovely to receive the fantastic photographs of our NZ bird life as you travelled around New Zealand. Your kind words are very much appreciated and you were a delightful couple to host. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We chose to stay at Hielan House Countrystay in Oxford as we were planning to drive across Arthurs pass to the West coast and did not wish to stay in Christchurch.
It was very convenient for this purpose.
Shirley and John were great hosts, and made us feel very much at home in their house.
The house was very very comfortable, with wonderful views across the mountains.
I would recommend this stay for antone wanting to drive across the pass.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank helenNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse_B_and_B, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Hi Helen and Steven
Thanks very much for the lovely words. It was a pleasure to host two lovely people. We hope you had a great time over on the West Coast despite the weather. We thoroughly enjoyed the company and conversation, especially as we have travelled through your neck of the woods. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We had an amazing time staying with John and Shirley our hosts. They own a beautiful bungalow in the countryside tthough it is a short walk and a shorter drive into the town. Right from our initial phone booking we were made welcome. We arrived late evening and were shown to our suite. Yes, a huge fully equipped living room with a balcony overlooking the rolling hills. There was a fridge and kettle along with delicious home baked cookies. There was also a large bathroom, walk in closet and double bedrrom overlooking the swimming pool. After Checking out the accommodation we chatted to John and Shirley who arranged for us to have dinner in the local. Working Men's Club. The food and drinks were just what we wanted. Back at Hielan House John and Shirley were great company. They had travelled widely and were so friendly we enjoyed spending time with them. Next morning breafast was served at a beautiful laid table with a rose on my side plate. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day ahead. We stayed at. Hielan House for 3 nights exploring the area. We were sorry to leave the beautiful surroundings and a wonderful couple. This. Is a must stop off. All the luxuries of a top hotel combined with peace and a truly personal touch. Stars at night amazing...

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HielanHouse, Owner at Hielan House Countrystay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear Bernadette
Thanks very much for your very kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and Philip, giving you a restful time after travelling around our beautiful South Island. The company and conversation was excellent and by the time you left it was as if we had known each other for a long time. Information about your home country has been noted and we will certainly come back to Ireland and England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews