We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vineyard Restaurant”
Review of Melton Estate

Melton Estate
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vineyard Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Sadly very disappointing. Meals expensive and very mediocre.Platter supposed to feed two but that would only be if you had eaten a large meal before you arrived. Wine terrible very young. Service would have to be the worst I have had in any part of the world. Staff pleasant but obviously never been trained orders took ages to arrive and came in no logical order. One cup of coffee took three quarters of an hour to arrive after the rest of party had recieved thier coffee. The Manageress jack of all trades but master of none. Learning to delegate after training staff would certainly help. We had young children in the party so this made things very difficult.All of the party apart from two are locals and will never return or recommend. Very noisy

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    8
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Vineyard restaurant with excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This restaurant is a drive from Christchurch out in the vineyard. It has great atmosphere and great food, with friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be giving this place a wide birth unless the ownership changes hands.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had our wedding at this venue and we thought this was the perfect place to get married. This was until we turned up the week before and discovered that the courtyard was gone! We had been told by the manager on more than one occasion that the courtyard was a great place for drinks and nibbles for guests in between the ceremony and the reception and that it was very sheltered from the wind on all sides. This was a big selling point when we hired the venue. All that was left for our wedding was a construction site. A scraped back to bare earth mess! Apparently this major landscaping work did not need to be communicated to us! We had to find out ourselves when we turned up there. When we questioned this we got strung a long list of excuses. Most of the blame went to the builder who was doing the work and then there was the weather and then there was the earthquakes. We think it would have been fair to know about these proposed major works at the time we hired the venue. We still haven't received an apology for this major lack of communication and when we asked if it was fair if we received some kind of discount we were threatened with legal action and lawyers fees and hiked up interest fees if we didn't pay the full outstanding amount immediately. Mr Caunter can be quite the bully!

Anyway, the food was great and the staff were excellent. Our bar tab did run over however. And this is understandable considering that their bar tab system is counting beer bottle caps from a bucket at the end of the night!

This venue has such great potential but its going to struggle with these clowns running the show.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip C, Owner at Melton Estate, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Our Pavilion building and associated landscaping have been completed. We have hosted many successful events during and now after the renovations.

We appreciated the reviewers comments about the food and staff. As for the other issues raised by the reviewer, we have tried to resolve them in an amical manner. At all times we have remained courteous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have been several times before & enjoyed the experience. This time I felt the meals were overpriced for a lunch menu. Two had the salmon, & a few steamed veges at $29. I had the platter, that WAS good value. The wine is reasonably priced though. It was tne wait service that let things down. Friendly, but disorganised. We waited several times for our drinks etc for 20mins or more, and one order was completely overlooked. Just not the standard we have come to expect from Melton. Twice, tables were rearranged & reset while we & others were neglected. The tables remained unoccupied... When will kiwis wake up & realise that customets are the most important factor in the equation, and not cleaning up empty tables?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip C, Owner at Melton Estate, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thanks Ethan for your comments. During that time we were under staffed and your feedback on the service is appreciated. Since then we have added more fulltime staff and extras for busy days. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great fun and excellent food”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our group went to Melton Estates for a private dinner and wine tasting while we were touring New Zealand. What a fun evening! Our hostess (and the owner) was charming and entertaining, the food was fabulous and the service was great. I'm not much of a drinker, but even I found a wine that I really enjoyed. I'd highly recommend trying them.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredinPA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melton Estate also viewed

West Melton, Canterbury Region
West Melton, Canterbury Region
 
Rolleston, Canterbury Region
Rolleston, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Melton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing