We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
New Inn Hotel(Clapham)
US$240
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$350
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$241
US$202
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Lion Hotel(Horton-in-Ribblesdale)
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stone House Hotel(Hawes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
76
60
46
56
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
60
46
56
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb henrybad reviewspiesthe ritzwrite a reviewreal firerest stopyorkshire peakscommon senselots of hot waterdouble roomcoal firespent two nightscomfortable roomshis wifegood home cooked foodkeep up the good work
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Hi recently stayed at The Crown Inn and I would not recommend it to anyone else. The owners did not provide us with a warm welcome and certainly didn't want to help us find a table so we could have an evening meal. It was only when one of their kind staff took pitty on us did they manage to squeeze us in to the near empty resturant room. That beign said if you are lucky enough to get a table then the food is great. We did not have so much joy on the following night when we were told that they would not find us a table in the resturant and we just had to wait until someone left one of the small tables in the pub could we order some food. An hour went past no-one had left and we were left nursing our drinks clearly in need of a meal after a long day walking - but still no assistance from the owners. In the end we had to walk to the other end of the village to the other pub that would accomodate us.

Also the room we stayed in was obviously lacked maintenance and some of the woodchip walk paper was pulling away from the ceiling and it was very worn. i didn't expect anything more than a standard basis room but this really wasnt comfortable or a nice place to rest our heads. there is a folder full of notices listing what you cant do and fines payable for all manner of things, but there is no effort put in by the owners to provide help and advice on local attractions, things to do in the area or their recommendations, there is just a toursit broucher supplied for that - so no thought put in at all!

i have stayed in another place in the area (a lovely cottage in Ingelton) and I would recommend people look at alternative accomdation in the area asit is much better and you will receive a godd Yorkshire welcome. Only when the owners of the Crown Inn realise that they need value their customers will they improve the service they provide, but as the hoard of walkers that use Horton as a base people will probably keep going due to the ideal location - but definetley because it is a grat place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

At short notice ( 5 hrs ) we booked a room at The Crown Hotel at Horton -in-Ribblesdale, The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, we were made very welcome from the moment we arrived, our room although fairly basic had everything you would need, was very clean and we had a good nights sleep in comfortable beds, we ate in the hotel that night and the food choices, portion size and quality were all excellent, breakfast the following morning was of a similar standard, all in all we had an enjoyable stay and would certainly stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: some rooms are not en-suite so if this is important to you book early, for our one night stayour room (without full en-suite facilities ) was acceptable ( it did have a shower and hand wash basin)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No29wellstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the Crown whilst doing the Pennine Way. It's a nice little pub and it's location on the Pennine Way is perfect.

The dinner was good pub grub and the service in the bar was effeicent. Breakfast was good and they do a nice packed lunch.

There is no internet connection.

Weirdly though, and this really will be my lasting impression of the Crown, is that there was laminated signs everywhere telling you what not to do. "No muddy boots, no standing here, dogs at your own risk" etc etc. There was 5 on the front door, 2 by the fire, 4 on the bag door and i in the toilets. When I went up to my room there was a FOLDER full of laminated signs telling me what to do and not to do.

It's a shame because it really makes the whole hotel less hospitable. I want to stay in nice little friendly pubs, not feel as though my every action will be an inconvenience or a breach of the rules.

This affected the team too, while I was in the bar four guys came in (obviously walkers) at 6 minutes after food last orders and asked if they could order food. The barman said no, the rule was 9.45 and that was that. The kitchen staff were still there, and the barman was still taking desert orders, but obviously rules is rules. Four people, left hungry and tired because that really is how this works.

Overall, I'd go again because of it's location, but what could be a great little place is drifting away from what hospitality should be about.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a shower if you want one.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon72London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Clean, and basic, just whats required if you're on the three peaks walk.
An absolute cracking Full English Breakfast the Sunday morning.
Beer very good and food good.
Would stay again if we do the three peaks again.

Room Tip: Room 9 was a large twin room with shower.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here whilst we did the 3 peaks challenge of w/e 14th june and i have to say feel disappointed with our stay.We tried getting a evening meal in bar or restaurant and despite staying in the hotel didnt make any attempt to help us get a table.The rooms are very shabby . i want expecting much with being a walking area,but when youre being charged £41 per person you expect a half decent standard.The breakfast was good but was only served between 8.30 and 9.we arrived down for breakfast at 8.26 to be told waitress would take our tea /coffee order but wouldnt take breakfast order til exactly 8.30!!
The most astounding thing was when we overheard someone asking if they could have cheese on their burger,to which they were told that the chef was fair to busy for that!! unbelievable.
the overall impression we got we was the owners are just happy to take your money and have no interest in customer satisfaction .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

How wrong you are, we do care.
Our rooms are certainly not shabby, we have just spent all winter decorating them. It's some of the people that use them that have no respect ,you have no idea what we have to put up with and clean up after some people have left. Ask any B&B or Hotel owners they will tell you the same.
95percent of our guests leave happy , so we have to be doing something right it's just a shame they don't use this sight.
We do have Burgers on our menu , and they come with chips salad and onion rings we do not do cheese burgers for a reason. On a busy night we can do up to 150 - 180 meals and not have one complaint , we don't have the facilities when it's busy to do cheeseburgers and the guy who asked for one totally understood when I explained to him the reason. Perhaps if you had asked we could have explained this to you.
Our dining room is fully booked most Saturday nights but we always make sure we find our residents a table if they haven't already booked one , no one ever goes away hungry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews