We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent Pennine Way location.”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent Pennine Way location.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our most expensive stay on the Pennine Way and rooms although comfy and very clean were only basic so perhaps a little overpriced. However very good pub food. I had the veggie option with beetroot, lovely and great breakfast and pack ups too. Busy evening as they had a local 'doo' on and so noisy in to the night. But this is what a local pub/hotel is all about and it was a great atmosphere. Nice to see a room doubled as the Post office in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    51
    44
    51
    47
See reviews for
28
63
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Crown Hotel during the Pennine Way section of my Lands End to John O Groats walk through England and Scotland.

THE GOOD:

* The location is excellent for the Pennine Way.
* Lots of hot water.

THE BAD:

* The evening meal was good, but well overpriced - £12 for a fish pie is restaurant prices - but this is just pub grub.
* The rooms are well outdated and full of mismatched colours and peeling wall paper. £82 is a premium price for a twin room of this quality - just a rip off. Urine stains on the toilet, so obviously was not cleaned properly. No shower, only a bath - not a shower above a bath so that customers can make a choice. The bathrooms are like something out of the Antiques Roadshow and need ripping out and replacing.
* Remote controls for the TV are kept behind the bar downstairs- just in case someone steals it. This is the first time that I have experienced this lack of trust towards customers in a hotel.
* Fried food smells from the kitchen permiate throughout the accommodation.
* Breakfast is 0830-0900. Just 30 minutes is a joke for a hotel. Not one 'Good Morning or a smile from any member of staff - customer service Zero. Being a vegetarian I asked for eggs and bean - I received one small egg and a tablespoon of beans - £41 per person for Bed and Breakfast.

AND THE UGLY:

* Signs, signs and more signs on the walls throughout the pub. In the room there is a folder full of 'do not do this, do not do that, or else' instructions. Having walked about 500 miles from Lands End to Horton and stayed about 40 different B&B's and hotels during my walk, this was the first time that I had been subjected to such an over use of signage - it was like a bad health & safety nightmare.

* Having read the responses from Helen the owner, it is clear that the Crown Hotel does not want to learn and improve from the constructive criticism that other reviewers are making on Tripadvisor. This is a 'know it all' arrogance based only on the fact that the accommodation in Horton is very limited and the owners have a captive audience - take this hotel with its standards and prices and drop it in any town in the UK and it would have a big For Sale (correct use of signage) outside within 6 months.

FACT:

Without doubt the worst overpriced accommodation on my 1,050 mile ten week walk through the country.

Avoid!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lejogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We cant please everyone and obviously you were one of those.
Your review is highly critical and damaging.

Our website states we are not a 5 star chic boutique Hotel and our prices are their on our website to be seen before booking, you could have chosen to stay elsewhere.

We are an old fashioned countryside pub and most of our guests ask us to keep it like this. Our furniture maybe mismatched and old but it is in character with the building.

Our rooms and bathrooms are certainly not dirty they maybe not be your modern colours but why pull something out when it is in fully working order just because its not an up to date state of the art model. Some rooms have baths some have showers and whichever one you get there are an additional 2 bathrooms one on each floor one with a bath one with a shower so if you have not got whichever one in your room you could have used the additional bathrooms. We do find most of our residents require a bath after a long days walking for a nice soak.

As for breakfast most of our residents are walkers and they want to be up and away , they dont want to be hanging around and this time slot suits 98% of our residents . People doing the 3 peaks have a help yourself breakfast at whatever time they want to get it most departing in between 6 and 7.00am . The rest of our guests are either walking pennyghent , or the pennine way or the ribble way etc and they want to be away by 9.00 or 9.30 am at the latest , obviously you were one of those it did not suit.

As for your breakfast itself we do ask residents on our website if they have any dietary requirements to let us know when they arrive or when booking . I dont for one minute believe you just got a spoonful of beans we always give plenty, as you were a vegatarian if you had said we could have offered you mushrooms tomatoes hash browns .


Our prices are the going rate for the area, for rooms and food.

If you had wanted to pay Macdonalds prices you should have eaten their, many have stated on previous reviews that our food is good and reasonable and the portions are very generous that is what are clients require, good food at reasonable prices.

If anyone has a genuine complaint they complain at the time, they dont go away and put it on tripadviser, if i had a complaint about something i would want it putting right there and then if it could be. Genuine complaints are dealt with straight away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horton-in-Ribblesdale hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I want to thank the Crown Hotel for a very pleasant visit. You and your staff provided a lovely helpful service that was appreciated by my cousin and me. As soon as we arrive (9pm), we were looked after. The food was very good, the room was comfortable and clean plus the shower was wonderful after doing the three peak challenge. I have no complaints about you or your welcoming warm staff. It added to the whole delightful experience we felt as relatively new hikers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineQ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments they are greatly appreciated, and we hope to see you again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I was wary of staying here because of some of the earlier negative comments. However, I'm glad I stayed here and would definitely return. It's a perfect base for the 3 Peaks Challenge.

Only a couple of people from our group were staying here, but they still managed to accommodate 12 of us for an evening meal both nights. The food is superb and very well priced. Rooms are clean & comfy.

The locals were friendly and told us a lot about themselves & the history of their beautiful village. If you are looking for a cosy friendly place to stay then you've found it. If you have a little respect for these people and their village then I'm sure you'll be treated well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Negative reviews can have a bad impact on businesses especially when they are not true.

You decided to come along and try us out , and it showed how wrong some reviews are, you cant knock something until you have tried it yourself. We are glad you came along and enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We went for a meal the day before I did the Yorks 3 Peaks challenge and my wife and daughter dined when I was doing the challenge. The food and atmosphere is really great. The only mistake we did was ordering the starters since it really filled us up due to the size of the portions! Couldn't finish the mains!!

The owner has been nice to my wife and daughter and has even kept our daughter entertained so my wife can enjoy her lunch. Prices are very reasonable.

This is also in a fantastic place since the first pub to meet after doing the knackering 3 Peaks Challenge!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSK2977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while doing the Pennine way. I, personally didn't like it.

The service was poor. The atmosphere was terrible. The place was full of signs telling everyone what to do and what not to do.

The rooms were average, obviously when you walked in there was a tv and a folder with things that you must not do. There was no shower just a bath.

Overall I think that if you are walking the Pennine Way, try to walk 20 miles into Hawes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rtplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen471, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
You have a right to your opinion, and we have a right to ours.

Personally Trip Advisor is a load of rubbish. Not only can it damage businesses, it hurts the people that run them after they work so hard.
Like i have said in previous reviews the majority of our guests dont even use this site which is a shame, they tell us to ignore the comments but how can you , when you get people like yourselves.
If some people used there common sense there would be no need for signs to be put up .
Our main signs are telling people not to go upstairs in moody boots you would not do it in your own home so why do it in ours, Dogs are not allowed in [ only in the beer garden] we used to allow dogs in, but yet again a small minority spoilt it for the others letting their dogs run wild while others are eating which people dont like and complained about so we had to stop them coming in, and another sign tells people not to eat their own food , would you go into a cafe and bring your own sandwiches out, probably not so why should we allow it. If these signs offended you well then we are sorry if you have nothing to hide well you have nothing to worry about.
As for baths in rooms, most of our guests after a hard days walking want a red hot bath to relax in when they return. There is a shower room for people to use if they dont want a bath.

As for the atmosphere , our place is usually buzzing and that is why most of our guests return because of the atmosphere. They tell us there isnt many pubs like ours remaining where there is such an atmosphere people chatting with each other, the locals telling their tales to everyone thats listening.

Yes our rooms are basic , but clean ,and provide everything you require after a days walking, a red hot bath, [ half of our rooms do have showers ] comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities, good food and good beer what more can you ask for.

Dealing with the public can be very difficult.

Obviously we cant please everyone and you were one of them. But its not for the want of trying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Hi recently stayed at The Crown Inn and I would not recommend it to anyone else. The owners did not provide us with a warm welcome and certainly didn't want to help us find a table so we could have an evening meal. It was only when one of their kind staff took pitty on us did they manage to squeeze us in to the near empty resturant room. That beign said if you are lucky enough to get a table then the food is great. We did not have so much joy on the following night when we were told that they would not find us a table in the resturant and we just had to wait until someone left one of the small tables in the pub could we order some food. An hour went past no-one had left and we were left nursing our drinks clearly in need of a meal after a long day walking - but still no assistance from the owners. In the end we had to walk to the other end of the village to the other pub that would accomodate us.

Also the room we stayed in was obviously lacked maintenance and some of the woodchip walk paper was pulling away from the ceiling and it was very worn. i didn't expect anything more than a standard basis room but this really wasnt comfortable or a nice place to rest our heads. there is a folder full of notices listing what you cant do and fines payable for all manner of things, but there is no effort put in by the owners to provide help and advice on local attractions, things to do in the area or their recommendations, there is just a toursit broucher supplied for that - so no thought put in at all!

i have stayed in another place in the area (a lovely cottage in Ingelton) and I would recommend people look at alternative accomdation in the area asit is much better and you will receive a godd Yorkshire welcome. Only when the owners of the Crown Inn realise that they need value their customers will they improve the service they provide, but as the hoard of walkers that use Horton as a base people will probably keep going due to the ideal location - but definetley because it is a grat place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
4.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
524 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
306 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
330 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Horton In Ribblesdale, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing