We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trading on its location”
Review of The Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trading on its location”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place clearly trades on being slightly better than the other pub in Horton-in-R, and having a huge semi-captive audience of walkers and campers.

The first thing we noticed, apart from the fact that it was extremely busy, was the vast array of petty signs saying "Please do not..." with basic obvious things like "Please do not eat your own food in here", which was not a welcoming touch.

The food was average. That's about all I can say for it. The chips were out of the freezer, the chicken pie turned out to have toadstools in it (which wasn't mentioned on the menu) and was a cheating pie rather than a proper pie. Portion sizes were OK, but nothing special, and given the price I would have expected either better quality or bigger quantity. Soft drinks are offensively expensive.

While there is outside seating, it's a feeding frenzy for midges on a warm evening – not the pub's fault, I know, but if you're looking forward to relaxing in the beer garden then make sure you've doused yourself in Deet before going outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevieinselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    26
    11
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Focus on the priority”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having pre booked dinner for 18 hungry walkers after a gruelling 3 Peaks walk we settled down to eat. Ordering our meals was obviously an inconvenience to the lady in charge as she struggled to cope with more than one table.
Dinner done our group settled in to the bar for a couple of celebratory beers. To celebrate our success the team bought me the traditional "special drink" that had to be drank in one. We did this outside so not to disturb anyone inside. When we returned to the bar the Landlord, a very cheerful chap indeed, said the special drink had ruined one of his glasses, there was a residue of Baileys in the glass,and someone needs to pay for it! Having spent over £300 in the pub we asked if maybe he should focus on closing his till rather than a 20p glass. All in all a legendary Yorkshire welcome, Never again!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howittzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming. Rude staff. AVOID.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Two minutes past 2 food wasn't being served. Bar staff and owner very rude and aggressive. One girl would serve the person behind me before myself.

Wouldn't offer a bowl or anything similar so that my dog could drink some water because 'people steal them'. However they did tell me to use the dirty bowl in the garden with stagnated water in and tab ends. Thankfully used my own initiative and gave the dog water out of a pint glass.

Countless signs telling you what you can and cannot do.

Reading past reviews, seeing the owners reply is enough to put anyone off. Just shows how truly rude and unwelcoming they are.

If you're looking for a warm Yorkshire welcome, go else wear.


Helpful?
1 Thank ELHx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not very nice owners”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Not a homely pub, cold, dull. watched by oweners all the time we were there, signs up everywhere saying what you can and can't do.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good beer”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

good beer friendly service at end of most walks. didnt have food here as only serve between 12 and 2 and 6 and 9pm. Nice beer garden at back and also seats at front though these are close to the road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Hotel also viewed

Horton-in-Ribblesdale, North Yorkshire
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing