We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome”
Review of The Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A cosy bar with excellent food and a fine selection of beers served by friendly people. Get a seat by the fire on a chilly day and you'll find it difficult to leave. Perfect!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    26
    11
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3YP”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just done the 3YP challenge 19/07/14 and stayed at The Crown Hotel, Although I could improve the Yorkshire Interior Decorator Of The Year Challenge, nonetheless the room we had was clean and totally adequate for us doing the 3 peaks, clean comfy bed, hot water, all one needs under the circumstances! All we needed. We stayed for two nights, and were pleased with the food - good menu, great food and good breakfast and thought the service was brilliant, served quickly and efficiently. A great walking/outdoors pub, no frills, so get over it! ........No Complaints and would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ERH58Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not the crowning glory”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Over priced food as little competition locally, interior needs a thorougly updating. Need to sell itself more, could be really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 205Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiang rai
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very peculiar!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a strange little pub, we came here to have some food (which was nice, albeit strange too! Cheese and Beetroot Pie) It was a packed as people arrived from completing the '3 Peak Challenge' which was great, nice beer too. But, the bald headed guy kept insisting on having the back door open, letting all the midges in and the cold draughts, even though the customers next to the door obviously desired respite. Although much rougher around the edges the pub on the, err, edge of Horton-in-Ribblesdale was a much more down to earth experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waterpist0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant, peaceful dinner”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

As the title says, had a nice dinner here during a country evening drive. Food good and arrived fairly quickly. Total portions a good size, though too many chips for me personally. Friendly welcome from the landlady and helpful service from the waiter.

One side of the bar was full and the other fairly quiet, but as it was a Tuesday evening, it seemed to be doing well.

Others have commented on the signs. I've seen loads of places with signs up about not reading your own food. It's simple manners and respect. I don't have a problem with it at all. I wouldn't expect to eat my own food in any café, bar or restaurant.

Eat here, if you're in the village. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Hotel also viewed

Horton-in-Ribblesdale, North Yorkshire
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing