We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge”
Review of Pen-y-ghent

Pen-y-ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you love walking, beautiful scenery and are up for a tough challenge then take on this challenge. You will begin with Pen-y-ghent and although the rock scramble is a tough start this is nothing compared to the rest of the walk. A long trek across the fields and up Whernside is followed by an extremely testing scramble up the 'stairs of death' to Ingleborough. The views are spectacular on a good day and well worth the endurance. Take plenty of fluids and energy food and make sure you have good walking boots and changes of walking socks. Completing this challenge is very hard work but extremely rewarding.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    21
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walking”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Beautiful views great walk. Most walkers come to Horton-in -Ribblesdale to do the three peaks we enjoy walking but did not wish to go through an endurance test.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great walk up n down”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Challenging but do-able. Take any of the three peaks seriously and wear good walking boots and take supplies. Good luck.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeyEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a peak!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

One of the acclaimed Yorkshire 3 peaks I've done this walk a few times. The traditional route from Horton can be quite busy if there's a 3 Peaks event on so check ahead if you want to avoid crowds. I've done my fair share of hills but wouldn't call myself an expert walker. The steady slog upto the final ascent is quite short and not too hard going but the last bit of the climb is fairly steep and exposed. A nice slow descent back to Horton is a diddle in comparison. Beautiful views from the top of the weather is good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjr1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for one peak and a pub”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Brought my OH here who is not a hill walker as it is a easy hill. Just climbed it as if we were doing the 3 peaks and came down via the pennine way. Really easy now with all the paving stones. Glad I did the 3 peaks challenge when it really was a challenge!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 747Webby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pen-y-ghent also viewed

Horton-in-Ribblesdale, North Yorkshire
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Horton-in-Ribblesdale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pen-y-ghent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing