We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you like to sleep.”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Lion Hotel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you like to sleep.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a horrible fusty, damp room humidity is at a dangerous level with no ventilation. The fact that there are 15 people on bunk beds with plastic mattresses three beds high in a tiny damp room meant that I woke up to dripping wet walls. To top it all off they allow people to bring their dogs to sleep in the already over crowded room. Last night there were two Jack russles jumping all over our gear. There is no room to put your stuff. The worst bunk house I've ever stayed in. The stench was so bad I can't explain it. The smell was so bad we got up and left in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchellowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    25
    40
    25
See reviews for
14
21
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Living down south, we did the 3 peaks as we heard it was a challenge, it was!! On completion we headed to the lion, beer great service and food top notch, would definitely call in again the next time we are up there

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welch79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

stayed in the bunk house for three nights over the weekend starting the 6 Sept 2013,slept well in the 15 bed bunk house attached to the main building, the showers were brilliant just what you needed after a long walk, food was great and plenty of it (and more if you wanted), the hotel staff were friendly and helpful (enjoyed the banter)
great thanks for a good weekend, I will be going back........ but not just yet my legs and head need to recover :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Golden Lion Hotel when on a walking trip 06/09/2013 to 09/09/2013, staff and Landlady were very accomadating and friendly, food was also very good, great steaks and breakfast. Accomadation, toilets and showers clean with good hot water with good water pressure, however would benefit from having a Kitchen area with Tea/ Coffee making facilities for early starters but wasn't the end of the world. Had a great time thanks all at the Golden Lion Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in the B&B. Very basic facilities and extremely dated. Had no hot water when we arrived, but this was quickly fixed. Only bed sheets and pillowcases had been washed - the cover on the duvet had stains on it. The lady who greeted us was friendly, but we couldn't work out who owned the accomodation. The place as a whole is very run down and disjointed. The breakfast was basic and fry-up greasy. Definitely the worst accommodation that we stayed in on our Pennine Way walk.

Room Tip: It's ok for one night - check for big spiders as we had 2 in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horton-in-Ribblesdale hotels

UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms, decent showers and overall good value for money in the B&B. Good location for the 3 peaks as it's just across the road from the path to Pen y Gent and just down the road from the cafe where you can check in for your walk. Cereals, fruit + yoghurt was provided for breakfast for those with an early start, and the kitchen was available to make tea, coffee and toast as well. Cooked breakfast wasn't massive, but again with access to cereals, fruit etc was still a good deal. reasonable selection of evening meals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

1 night camping to carry out a recce for the 3 Yorkshire peaks challenge 2 couples coed at Holme Farm campsite in Horton in Ribblesdale. Perfect location. We tried The Crown pub first but found the beer cloudy so we went to the Golden Lion. The beer was fine so we decided to eat there in the evening. The 2 ladies had a curry each but did say it lacked a naan or chapati to mop up the sauce. The 2 fellas had the carvery which was fine. Plenty of choice for vegetables and 2 types of meat. The prices were much cheaper than than The Crown also. If camping in Horton I would recommend a visit to this pub

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Filmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
4.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Golden Lion Hotel
Address: Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing