We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Y3P Charity Weekend”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Lion Hotel
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Y3P Charity Weekend”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Walking the Yorkshire 3 Peaks for Harrison's Fund - www.harrisonsfund.org - we hired out the Bunk Room at the Golden Lion, 12 beds on Friday night and the 15 on the Saturday @ £12 per head per night. We also took advantage of one B&B room for both nights @ £70 per night.

Emailing back and forth to ensure we got everything sorted, Sami (Pub Manageress) dealt with things promptly and was always really friendly and helpful.

Arriving at Horton In Ribblesdale at 8pm ish on Friday night, the pub was in full swing! Absolutely packed with a mixture of walkers and locals, luckily we got there in time to still get food (served 6pm-9pm).

There are three main rooms to the pub itself, front bar, pool room (leading to breakfast area) and rear lounge. The bar conveniently is sited between the front and rear lounge, so it doesn't take you too long to get served.... they were particularly busy on both nights!

Plenty of food choice including a decent Veggie menu and really is just what you need for any type of hiking - lasagne, chilli, gammon, curries, steaks etc Pub grub, all good! With the amount of people in the pub, the staff do a brilliant job in managing.

Initial nerves about the Bunk Room (after reading reviews on here) were put to rest, yes it's compact and seperate from the pub but it is and does exactly what it says on the tin - it's a bunkhouse! If you want anything else, book a B&B room and pay the extra....

BUNKHOUSE: Three bunks high, sleeps 15 and there is a strong possibility you'll be sharing with strangers, it's a bunkhouse... It's basic and perfectly adequate for a night's sleep @ £12.00 per head. Sami at the Golden Lion offers Full English Breakfast at £6.50 per head and Continental Breakfast at £4.50 per head in the pub. A £20 deposit secures the key for early morning walkers (5.30am) and we helped ourselves to fruit, cereal, toast, tea and coffee.

Plastic mattresses, so take a sleeping bag and pillow with you. Some of our group brought along a base sheet. For those scared of heights, bagsy the bottom bunk. The bathroom area is off the bottom end of the room, it has a lock on the main door should you require absolute privacy, alternatively it's a room that houses 2 showers (glass doors) and 2 toilets - girls and boys in the group did a seperate bathroom shift! Plenty of toilet roll in the toilets! Bring your own towels and toiletries... there are a couple of plug sockets in the main room to charge phones etc.

With 15 people we had a mixture of gentle snoring, occasional giggling, toilet breaks, the odd trump from the boys... a couple of stiff vodka's before you go to bed in the pub is a good shout :-)

B&B ROOM: For the discerning walker who doesn't wish to snore with the rest of us, £70 per night including breakfast. Lovely en-suite room, kettle, tv, shower, double bed. The B&B rooms are above the pub therefore you should expect noise during the evening from downstairs although Sami did regularly come into the pool room and make sure we were aware of the noise levels.

Full English Breakfast - bloody delicious! Sunday morning, post-walk, it was demolished... veggie full english for me :-)

Continental Breakfast - good choice of cereal, toast, orange juice, tea / coffee etc.

Ample parking to the rear of the pub, with a £2 per day "honesty box" charge for walkers wishing to use the spaces for their Y3P walk. It's the ideal starting place for Pen Y Ghent.

WHAT TO EXPECT: It's a bunkroom, why are people moaning on here? Staff, very friendly and helpful - Chris, Anna (chef) and Sami were all brilliant, very busy but couldn't do enough for us. Great team.

It's also a pub, there will be people there enjoying themselves, a walker's pub so expect millions of walking boots left in the porch! It's not posh, it's functional and fun. Perfect location and fab food. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Bunkhouse - avoid the bottom bunk by the bathroom door, I slept in that one and if you're a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoopdeedoobasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    36
    25
    39
    25
See reviews for
13
21
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Chose to use the bunk house in the Golden Lion as it was in a perfect location for the 3 peaks. As this was only a training trip, we didnt do teh full three, just the one.. Being out of season, there was no one at the bunk house to greet us, but the owner did allow us entry by way of telling us how to get in in the absence of anyone being there which was most helpfull. First impression when walking in was quite good.. Alot of beds for such a small space, but as it was only me and my boy staying there that wasnt a problem. There was one other guy making use of the room that night, so not a real squeeze. Being an unfamiliar bed, I didnt sleep too great, but thats normal for me..The bunks are quite low, so if you like your space, use the top ones as you have loads of head room then.. although does make it tricky to navigate to the toilet in the middle of the night.. Left our kit there for the day while we wandered across to ingleborough for a little leg stretch.. came back to a lovely hot shower each.
One little draw back, there was no breakfast service on, as they had no other guests staying. Dont really blame them as it was out of season and cooking for two just wouldnt be viable.. No big deal though, we just went to a cafe in Settle, would of been an issue if we were on a time scale though..

On the whole, more than happy with the bunk house and will use it again in the future..

Room Tip: Use top bunks if you want space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a horrible fusty, damp room humidity is at a dangerous level with no ventilation. The fact that there are 15 people on bunk beds with plastic mattresses three beds high in a tiny damp room meant that I woke up to dripping wet walls. To top it all off they allow people to bring their dogs to sleep in the already over crowded room. Last night there were two Jack russles jumping all over our gear. There is no room to put your stuff. The worst bunk house I've ever stayed in. The stench was so bad I can't explain it. The smell was so bad we got up and left in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchellowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horton-in-Ribblesdale hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Living down south, we did the 3 peaks as we heard it was a challenge, it was!! On completion we headed to the lion, beer great service and food top notch, would definitely call in again the next time we are up there

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welch79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

stayed in the bunk house for three nights over the weekend starting the 6 Sept 2013,slept well in the 15 bed bunk house attached to the main building, the showers were brilliant just what you needed after a long walk, food was great and plenty of it (and more if you wanted), the hotel staff were friendly and helpful (enjoyed the banter)
great thanks for a good weekend, I will be going back........ but not just yet my legs and head need to recover :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Golden Lion Hotel when on a walking trip 06/09/2013 to 09/09/2013, staff and Landlady were very accomadating and friendly, food was also very good, great steaks and breakfast. Accomadation, toilets and showers clean with good hot water with good water pressure, however would benefit from having a Kitchen area with Tea/ Coffee making facilities for early starters but wasn't the end of the world. Had a great time thanks all at the Golden Lion Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in the B&B. Very basic facilities and extremely dated. Had no hot water when we arrived, but this was quickly fixed. Only bed sheets and pillowcases had been washed - the cover on the duvet had stains on it. The lady who greeted us was friendly, but we couldn't work out who owned the accomodation. The place as a whole is very run down and disjointed. The breakfast was basic and fry-up greasy. Definitely the worst accommodation that we stayed in on our Pennine Way walk.

Room Tip: It's ok for one night - check for big spiders as we had 2 in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
4.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
516 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
Top Farm Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Golden Lion Hotel
Address: Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing