We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid the food!”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Lion Hotel
Reviewed 19 June 2014

superb location if you are doing the The Peaks. The bunk barn is nice and new. Beware of having the room downstairs because the noise from the room upstairs is ridiculous. I would advise avoiding the food. I was in a group of 13. The most positive comment about the food was that it was okay but bland. Quite a few simply left theirs and decided to find somewhere else for breakfast the following morning. Most of the meals had clearly been defrosted then over cooked in the microwave. Breakfast was okay with the baked beans arriving half way through the proceedings. Had to ask for toast and the tea was very weak. In short the accommodation was good but would advise to give the food a wide berth if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Golden Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

It's nice to see a pub that's not been themed by corporate HQ. The bar area looks a bit tired and frayed around the edges, but that doesn't matter.. I prefer a bit of character. The staff seemed friendly and helpful. The beer was good, and the food was unpretentious and perfectly OK.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had to leave at 07.00 and the hotel left a cold breakfast which was awful. Grotty selection of cereal, instant coffee and horrible white bread. They clearly couldn't care less about their customers. In addition the twin room was tiny. Not a pleasant experience and really poor value for money

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Popped in here for a quick drink and to allow one member of our party to have some food as he didn't feel like eating at the other pub in the village. It was slightly after 9pm but the Golden Lion chef still rustled up a lasagna for him. Now that it what I call dedicated service and attention to customer needs. The barmaid was absolutely brilliant and she and the chef actually chatted to us as people and not just customers. The interior decor was very welcoming with framed football shirts, TV, dartboard etc. It was a complete contrast to events earlier in the evening at t'other end of the village. Our custom was actually valued, we managed to squeeze in four rounds of drinks (so much for a quick drink eh) and didn't want to leave - when we return to Horton in Ribblesdale next year we will be staying here. We even got a photo at the end of the evening with both the chef and the barmaid smiling away... It was just what was required after a long week's walk on the Pennine Way in very poor weather - somewhere to have a laugh and let our respective hair down!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

For £15 per night you get what you pay for....somewhere to crash either after a long days walking or a few Yorkshire ales, or both! TIP: Avoid the bunks by the bedroom door as it tends to slam every time someone gets up for the toilet in the night!
Otherwise all clean and tidy, couldn't want for more as a walkers bunkhouse.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Walking the Yorkshire 3 Peaks for Harrison's Fund - www.harrisonsfund.org - we hired out the Bunk Room at the Golden Lion, 12 beds on Friday night and the 15 on the Saturday @ £12 per head per night. We also took advantage of one B&B room for both nights @ £70 per night.

Emailing back and forth to ensure we got everything sorted, Sami (Pub Manageress) dealt with things promptly and was always really friendly and helpful.

Arriving at Horton In Ribblesdale at 8pm ish on Friday night, the pub was in full swing! Absolutely packed with a mixture of walkers and locals, luckily we got there in time to still get food (served 6pm-9pm).

There are three main rooms to the pub itself, front bar, pool room (leading to breakfast area) and rear lounge. The bar conveniently is sited between the front and rear lounge, so it doesn't take you too long to get served.... they were particularly busy on both nights!

Plenty of food choice including a decent Veggie menu and really is just what you need for any type of hiking - lasagne, chilli, gammon, curries, steaks etc Pub grub, all good! With the amount of people in the pub, the staff do a brilliant job in managing.

Initial nerves about the Bunk Room (after reading reviews on here) were put to rest, yes it's compact and seperate from the pub but it is and does exactly what it says on the tin - it's a bunkhouse! If you want anything else, book a B&B room and pay the extra....

BUNKHOUSE: Three bunks high, sleeps 15 and there is a strong possibility you'll be sharing with strangers, it's a bunkhouse... It's basic and perfectly adequate for a night's sleep @ £12.00 per head. Sami at the Golden Lion offers Full English Breakfast at £6.50 per head and Continental Breakfast at £4.50 per head in the pub. A £20 deposit secures the key for early morning walkers (5.30am) and we helped ourselves to fruit, cereal, toast, tea and coffee.

Plastic mattresses, so take a sleeping bag and pillow with you. Some of our group brought along a base sheet. For those scared of heights, bagsy the bottom bunk. The bathroom area is off the bottom end of the room, it has a lock on the main door should you require absolute privacy, alternatively it's a room that houses 2 showers (glass doors) and 2 toilets - girls and boys in the group did a seperate bathroom shift! Plenty of toilet roll in the toilets! Bring your own towels and toiletries... there are a couple of plug sockets in the main room to charge phones etc.

With 15 people we had a mixture of gentle snoring, occasional giggling, toilet breaks, the odd trump from the boys... a couple of stiff vodka's before you go to bed in the pub is a good shout :-)

B&B ROOM: For the discerning walker who doesn't wish to snore with the rest of us, £70 per night including breakfast. Lovely en-suite room, kettle, tv, shower, double bed. The B&B rooms are above the pub therefore you should expect noise during the evening from downstairs although Sami did regularly come into the pool room and make sure we were aware of the noise levels.

Full English Breakfast - bloody delicious! Sunday morning, post-walk, it was demolished... veggie full english for me :-)

Continental Breakfast - good choice of cereal, toast, orange juice, tea / coffee etc.

Ample parking to the rear of the pub, with a £2 per day "honesty box" charge for walkers wishing to use the spaces for their Y3P walk. It's the ideal starting place for Pen Y Ghent.

WHAT TO EXPECT: It's a bunkroom, why are people moaning on here? Staff, very friendly and helpful - Chris, Anna (chef) and Sami were all brilliant, very busy but couldn't do enough for us. Great team.

It's also a pub, there will be people there enjoying themselves, a walker's pub so expect millions of walking boots left in the porch! It's not posh, it's functional and fun. Perfect location and fab food. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Bunkhouse - avoid the bottom bunk by the bathroom door, I slept in that one and if you're a ligh...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whoopdeedoobasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Chose to use the bunk house in the Golden Lion as it was in a perfect location for the 3 peaks. As this was only a training trip, we didnt do teh full three, just the one.. Being out of season, there was no one at the bunk house to greet us, but the owner did allow us entry by way of telling us how to get in in the absence of anyone being there which was most helpfull. First impression when walking in was quite good.. Alot of beds for such a small space, but as it was only me and my boy staying there that wasnt a problem. There was one other guy making use of the room that night, so not a real squeeze. Being an unfamiliar bed, I didnt sleep too great, but thats normal for me..The bunks are quite low, so if you like your space, use the top ones as you have loads of head room then.. although does make it tricky to navigate to the toilet in the middle of the night.. Left our kit there for the day while we wandered across to ingleborough for a little leg stretch.. came back to a lovely hot shower each.
One little draw back, there was no breakfast service on, as they had no other guests staying. Dont really blame them as it was out of season and cooking for two just wouldnt be viable.. No big deal though, we just went to a cafe in Settle, would of been an issue if we were on a time scale though..

On the whole, more than happy with the bunk house and will use it again in the future..

Room Tip: Use top bunks if you want space.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
5.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
501 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
292 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
316 reviews
5.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing