We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position, rooms clean, rest of hotel shabby, young staff over stretched.”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Lion Hotel
Hertfordshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great position, rooms clean, rest of hotel shabby, young staff over stretched.”
Reviewed 18 July 2007

The Golden Lion's main asset is its position, sited at the "start" of the Yorkshire Three Peaks and the free camping. Also the Pub, which is lively and seems to be a village social centre. We were resdients and enjoyed a long evenings hospitality during our two nights stay. The Car park is very handy and a very good size.
I went with a group. Some in the bunkhouse which was the OK, clean terraced bunks. Basic, but not the worst. There is free camping and use of the bunkhouse facilites which was great. The BandB rooms in the hotel/pub were small but clean and had great , great showers. the rates were standard for the area.
The Staff were friendly and as accomadating as could be, however most were young overseas seasonal workers and we did not meet the owner during our stay.
The down side was the "continential" breakfast offerred to walkers at £5, in reality a DIY brakfast i.e toaster, loaf of sliced White bread, kettle,coffee and tea bags , some boxes of cornflakes. Not good value, not very "continential", if you have an early start take sandwiches may be best option.
The dinning room is scruffy and needs and refurb in line with most of the pub etc. The evening meals are not great and other local pubs etc do offer better quality.
Also confirming arrangements was never easy and this down, I think to the inexpierenced staff taking phone calls and so on.
My advice is if you have to, the GoldenLion will do, if you can camp its great value, if you enjoy a good pub this could be up your street but other places may worth cheking out first.

  • Liked — Location, mixed accomadation types available, lively pub,
  • Disliked — Amateurish customer care, dinning area needs refurb, food not great, Hotel Admin in consistent
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolphinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    36
    25
    39
    25
See reviews for
13
20
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

This Hotel/B&B Pub/Resturant was very nice. The rooms were comfortable the food was very good and reasonably priced. The staff are freindly. If you are looking for a full service hotel It's not that kind of place but if you are looking for a raesoably priced comfortable hotel in a nice old town with good beer and freindly locals this is a recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisburbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 April 2006

Arrived on Monday lunch time greeted by the cook who showed us to our room.
The cook also served behind bar at night.
Bedroom towels grubby and had a smell of smoke,shower leaked and had to use a towel to clear the water up, the bed spread was fraying around the hem we had a trail of white thread around the room.
Breakfast we found our own way and found the cereal.
We found the whole place could do with a make over lets hope Gorden Ramsay is passing.
The car park look like a dumping ground maybe when the weather improves and trades goes up the place might not look so bad.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Horton-in-Ribblesdale hotels

Blackpool, Lancashire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2005

Stayed at the Golden Lion on a busy bank holiday, having arrived in Settle without booking a room. Hotel was very busy, but staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Room was of average standard, but the beds were very comfy! Unfortunately the walls are paper thin, and we could hear every word spoken in the next room so sleeping is difficult if next door are chatty (as our neighbours were).
We ate in the dining room as opposed to the noisy bar area. The food was excellent, with a large choice of good British classics. THe service was friendly and efficient.
Drinks in this hotel are VERY reasonably priced and we would stay here again but ask for a room with no one next door!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poultongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2005

Having recently stayed at this b&b pub I would say that if you are looking for good food at reasonable prices this should certainly be considered.The accommmodation is fairly basic but clean and has recently been very nicely refurbished.The staff are pleasant and helpful and the bars are nice especially with an open log fire on a cool evening.At the weekend there was a full bar but later in the week it was a bit lonely but I asume this would pick up later in the season.It attracts quite a number of walkers on the Pennine Way who either stay in the bunkhouse or in the hotels own 5 rooms and the bar also attracts a number of campers from the nearby camp site.

Helpful?
1 Thank tamfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 May 2004

A wonderful pub/hotel. The food was good, the beds were comfortable, the staff were pleasant and they served the best breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. Settle is a great place to explore the Yorkshire Dales and a beautiful old town.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton-in-Ribblesdale
4.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
5.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Golden Lion Hotel
Address: Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Horton-in-Ribblesdale BD24 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hotel Horton-In-Ribblesdale, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing