We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear of the property with private patio area and rockery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of the property with private patio area and rockery
Pen-y-ghent - one of the Yorkshire Dales Three Peaks Front of the property with private parking for two cars and a private garden area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Rear of the property with private patio area and rockery
Pen-y-ghent - one of the Yorkshire Dales Three Peaks
Front of the property with private parking for two cars and a private garden area
Beautiful Scenery surrounds the cottage
Newly refurbished Double Bedroom
Newly refurbished Double Bedroom
Porch at the front of the propert - ideal for storing waterproofs and bicycles securely
Newly refurbished King Room
Newly refurbished King Room
Newly refurbished Twin Room
Newly refurbished Twin Room
Large kitchen with dining table
Large living area with open stone log fire
Family bathroom with bath and a stand alone shower
Dining room with seating for 6
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Horton-in-Ribblesdale, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kazwatmor...
Hemel Hempstead, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just returned home from a long weekend at the Byres. Wow what a wonderful cottage. Very oldy worldy. Clean & tidy & well equipped. Really big with plenty of room. Owners very friendly. We stayed here to do the 3 peaks challenge. We had beautiful weather. Its not in the middle of Horton like we thought it would be. Its 3 miles outside i Selside. Only 5 min drive back to Horton. The crown pub is worth a visit. Landlords are very welcoming. The beer & food is gorge. Especially the homemade pies. Its not too to some of the attractions. Ingeleton waterfalls walk is awesome. Quite strenous walk though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review,so glad you enjoyed your stay and you have recovered from all that walking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Thank you for your lovely review so glad you enjoyed your few days with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
flolou201...
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Byres was very well appointed everything perfectly maintained very clean very warm, very cosy. Perfect location for photography and to explore this area of the National Park especially if you were thinking of doing the three peaks walk!! The dogs loved it too. Delicous food at The old Hill Inn. Mr and Mrs Lambert were very helpful and had a lovely log fire alight for us when we arrived. We will definately return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review ,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denise032
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in perfect location.”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Following a New Year's Day trip to Ribblehead, we decided to book a weekend in order to explore this stunning part of Yorkshire. On searching Trip Advisor reviews we discovered The Byres and have just spent a lovely few days there. We found the booking process easy and Shirley responded immediately, offering help and advice.
The cottage was spacious, warm and clean and offered every facility we could want
for a self catering break.
The countryside around Selside is beautiful and a walker's paradise but there are also many attractions within easy driving distance.
We would certainly recommend The Byres to friends and family and would have no hesitation in booking again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Thank you for your nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
regards Shirley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angleboys...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a three night break here with my wife and our friends to celebrate our wedding anniversaries! What a beautiful, relaxing, cosy cottage with everything you could wish for.... It is about 3 miles to the nearest village which has a couple of pubs (we can recommend the Golden Lion) and a cafe and approx 8 miles to Settle. Whether you want to use the cottage for a base for a walking holiday or just to have a chilled break, I can highly recommend this lovely cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Than you for a nice review so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your lovely comments
regards Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mitty1
lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FAB FAB FAB”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just had a wonderfull stay at selside cottages, we took our grandchildren for a holiday and they loved this cottage it has everthing you would need including a well stocked toy cubard that the children loved and enough games to keep you going for a year! Would highly recommended this cottage to everone, only down side is no WI FI.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage
Liked least: no wi fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thankyou for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing