We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Horton-in-Ribblesdale, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jswaino
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil Retreat”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this cottage and location so much ended up extending our weekend and stopping a further day. Welcome scrumptious homemade biscuits, jug of milk and coffee on arrival. Cottage very spacious, great value, well equipped, fantastic views, just felt so at home and fell in love with the place. Nice and warm 2 x bathrooms, one up and one down, lovely soft large towels provided. So peaceful and minimal light pollution so stargazing excellent on clear night. Approx. 10min walk to pub, which serves good food. Great walking area and also option to hop on train to other towns/villages. Four of us altogether and we all loved it. Thank you for letting us stay another night and making us feel so welcome x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage.
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Thank you for kind comments
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lee m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blind Beck”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loved it the cottage is lovely the views are wish we stopped longer a peaceful retreat recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S
London
2 reviews
“Blind Beck Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very charming, warm, comfortable & spacious accommodation plenty of room for 5. With 2 bathrooms, endless hot water and well equipped kitchen. The dinning room has picturesque views across the hills behind. Ample parking. A great base for walking or touring the area. The owners who live next door could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Thoroughly recommended and great value too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangilli...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Look no further,blind beck cottage has everything !”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Hospitality is second to none !! Our hosts were so kind providing a meal in the cottage when a friend visited, to checking tyre pressures when the need arose !!!
Heather and James make the cottage what it is, welcoming, warm and wonderful.
The location is Yorkshire at its best, would recommend 5 stars !!
Thankyou to our hosts, you are exceptional.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind comments
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ofer C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful old English Cottage. Great location for Yorkshire walks”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is lovely, the dining room is fabulous, the family room cosy, the kitchen full of dishes and utensils making home cooking extremely easy. There are 2 bathrooms which make it very comfortable for a family of 5. The bedrooms were very nice and the entire cottage had a true "character" about it.
The location is perfect to climb the 3 peaks and do additional walks in this fantastic area. The supermarket at Settle is in close enough proximity.
Our hosts were very accommodating, and friendly. We received great home made biscuits on arrival and they were very responsive to everything we asked. We would gladly vacation there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind comments.
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jalousie4...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Get away from the hectic pace of life in this lovely peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked Blind Beck Cottage as we were participating in the 3 Peak Challenge. The cottage is situated just outside the village, however only a short 5 minute walk to The Crown pub, train station and the start of the route to Pen-y-Ghent. The cottage is spacious and ideal for a family or a small group of walkers. We only stayed 2 nights, however wish we'd have booked for a few days more to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of the area and the lovely garden. Peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of work and city life. The cottage is well supplied with games, books, radio/CD player and TV (although we purposely avoided TV), there was even an organ! plenty to keep a family busy. It really did feel like we were stepping back into the 70's with a proper dining room and a homely feel. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare and cook your own meals, although both pubs in the village also do meals, although we only had an ale there well kept cellars. If you are travelling past/thru Skipton try stocking up at Keelham's Farm Shop absolute food heaven and their pies are awesome. We really hope to return again and thank Heather and Jim for a lovely albeit short stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage.
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing