We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do during your Atherton Tablelands trip!”
Review of Paronella Park

Paronella Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.92*
and up
Paronella Park Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Everyone has a dream. Jose Paronella’s dream became a reality. On 5 Hectares beside Mena Creek Falls he built his castle, picnic area by the falls, tennis courts, bridges, a tunnel, and wrapped it up in an amazing range of 7,500 tropical plants and trees. He even harnessed the waterfall for his electricity. It opened to the public in 1935.Today, visitors to the park marvel at the achievements of one man. Admission to Paronella Park is valid for 24 months and covers all of the tours (a 45 minute guided walk that explains this extraordinary story & takes you through the highlights,the stunning Darkness Falls Tour where the castles and waterfall are flood-lit to allow for amazing photo opportunities, and the hydro tour, giving you an in-depth look at the hydro electricity system that harnesses the power of the waterfall to provide the electricity for the whole Park). Admission also includes a souvenir guide book, fish food for feeding our resident fish and turtles, a bookmark, as well as a site for one night in the adjacent van park.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Staff are very friendly! We booked in for the night in one of their cabins. Very tidy & comfortable. Shared toilets & showers were clean & highly recommend going to the local pub for a great steak for dinner before your night tour. The ruins are really interesting & amazing to see!

1  Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, your meal over the road at the pub, and your stay overnight in one of our cabins.

Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"night tour"
in 317 reviews
"guided tour"
in 162 reviews
"current owners"
in 44 reviews
"jose paronella"
in 151 reviews
"entry fee"
in 80 reviews
"former glory"
in 24 reviews
"fish food"
in 26 reviews
"feed the fish"
in 29 reviews
"ticket price"
in 17 reviews
"amazing history"
in 17 reviews
"free camping"
in 27 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 26 reviews
"powered site"
in 18 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 22 reviews
"mission beach"
in 17 reviews
"spanish castle"
in 22 reviews
"mena creek hotel"
in 20 reviews
Filter

1,284 - 1,288 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

A fantastic story and great piece of history to give us an insight into yesteryear. Our teenage kids had reservations as we did not know what to expect, but they absolutely loved it. The tour guide was enthusiastic, delivering the story of Jose with entertaining passion.

1  Thank FourJJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for visiting, and for reviewing Paronella Park.

It's really nice to hear that you all enjoyed the experience!

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We went to see what the hype was about and if we could access the park with our disabled child. We were welcomed at the front by the owner Mark who was so friendly and helpful we decided to go in. The price includes the stay in the caravan park which is basic but very clean and well maintained. That done we went into park and found the top part amazing but could not get our child down the 47 stairs to bottom part, not a problem for staff as the drove us down an access road. It was spectacular and well worth the effort. I have never seen so much enthusiasm and dedicated staff in my life! We went to the pub over the bridge for tea and again was blown away with the quality of the meal and price. Can easily say best pub meal we have had in Queensland! The night tour was breath taking seeing the fire flies which light up the trees! Paranellla Park was the best attraction we have been to and well worthy the money. A big thankyou to Yang, our guide, who gave the best night tour ever! We totally get what the vision of the owners is and can't wait to go back again and again!

Thank MDTravellers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review - it's wonderful to read about your experience at Paronella Park!

We have a great team of passionate staff and I'm glad that their combined efforts made your visit so enjoyable.

Look forward to seeing you when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in the camp ground which was included in the entry price. This was great as it allowed us come and go in the park with and without the kids which was an added bonus. The kids loved the tours and were mesmerised by the story of the Paronella's. The night tour is a must as it makes for a great atmosphere and some wonderful photo's (take a tripod) We saw some fire fly's and even the Croc. During the day the kids got to feed fish, eels and turtles (free fish food for the kids). The staff were great especially when we arrived late at the camp site, the greeting in the car park was just what we needed after a long day travelling. They went out of their way to make sure it was a memorable experience. Keep up the good work!

Thank SalCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit, and that the resident croc decided to make an appearance for you!

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We saw some brochures and drove past but the night before read some scathing blogs about the place so were not sure if we would go in. Such an amazing place, the night tour was truly beautiful with lights, music, waterfalls and even fire flies. Tour guides were enthusiastic about telling us the story of Jose, the spaniard, who in 1935 started to build this beautiful place. He built a hydro powered system that provided electricity to the park before the area had any power and it is still working today. Words do not do this place justice, if you have the opportunity come and check it out for yourself.

We also stayed in the caravan park, reasonable facilities, little bit tight but very quiet and the cost is included in your admission price.

1  Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeParonellaPark, Public Relations Manager at Paronella Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I'm glad you decided to visit and that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you again one day - thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paronella Park also viewed

 
Babinda, Queensland
Mena Creek, Queensland
 

Been to Paronella Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing