We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Have Been a Bad Week”
Review of Mena Creek Hotel

Mena Creek Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mena Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mena Creek Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Mena Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must Have Been a Bad Week”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to go ahead and book a room for the night and had looked forward to staying for a beer, a meal and a night's stay. The hotel room was small and tiny, behind the bed had not been cleaned ( we checked ) and must of had six months worth of dead bugs and dust behind it. You have to go through a second door in your room outside to the toilets and the one shower we could find, also outside the main building ( connected by a covered BBQ area which was not being used and had equipment and other items stacked up in corners ). At night the toilets are filled with bugs and lizards and huge spiders too. The meal was expensive for what it was, deep fried crumbed steak cooked from frozen ( tough ), frozen chips and a basic salad, not worth what we paid. Had wanted their burgers that were famous in the area ( according to their web-site ) but we were told that they were for lunch only. The hosts, whilst not totally rude, were really indifferent and displayed quite an arrogant attitude towards us that did not make us feel welcome at all. After our beer ( which was thankfully cold ) we almost packed up and left. Considering how quiet it was and how worrying it must be with so few customers, some effort could have been made to engage and chat a bit to us, instead of leaning on the bar watching TV and talking to a couple of locals ( who were talked too, and engaged with to the full ).

Perhaps it was a bad week or bad night but certainly the place needs an injection of enthusiastic and positive attitudes to clean it up, sort it out and some training in good old fashioned customer service is needed too. Be warned, it may not be what it appears at all on their web-site and these other reviews.

Room Tip: There are other hotels in this area that might be worth trying first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BossandMrsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Have been touring Australia for over a year - visited Paranella Park across the road from the Mena Crek Tavern/Hotel. Decided to go for a beer and some food. I ended up booking in for a week. The place is fantastic. Atmosphere is amazing, very laid back, great locals, great food - big portions and the Land Lady & Land Lord couldnt have been nicer. Music was great, the locals were friendly, and I have been back there twice now, and cant wait for my next visit. Highly recomend the place!

Room Tip: I had a lovely quite room out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The pub is only a couple hundred metres from Paronella Park and they clearly get a lot of their business from there - when we checked in at the Park they told us the pub would be serving dinner from 6pm and so we decided to have dinner here and several other people from the Park did too. The steaks were delicious and quite reasonably priced and came with a surprisingly good Greek salad as well as yummy chips. The service was quick and friendly. They told us they also do breakfast but we didn't take up the offer. Definitely recommended if you visit the Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilaeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

In early july, we visited Mena Creek Hotel, it was friendly, with excellent service and meals. They went out of thier way to make you feel welcome.We stayed nearby, while we went to Paronella Park, for the day and night tours. we were told the kitchen would be open for a meal after the tour ended at night. Came back after tour for a fantasic meal, and returned in the morning for a hot brekkky, had to make a booking for brekky, another fantastic meal, had a big hot brekky, so big i couldn't finish it, there was steak, sausage, eggs, mushrooms, tomato, bacon and toast and i think some baked beans, an absolutely wonderful breakfast. Mena Creek Hotel would leave some of the city pubs for dead, for the service, friendliness and size and value of meals. Would definely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisces-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After Paronella Park..we decided to have lunch at this hotel...one word...Fantastic...
Meals were great for a good old pub meal..atmosphere was excellent..And service was brilliant...keep it up guys..we will be back...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Great family run pub/hotel including budget accommodation with shared facilities within walking distance to Paronella Park attraction.
After a long drive, my husband and I checked in just after 6 pm, to find the night tour of Paronella Park started at 6.15 pm. The welcoming staff quickly showed us to our room and highlighted the self-serve breakfast area for the morning, and said that dinner will still be available to order after the one hour tour, and off we rushed. On return to the hotel at approx 7.30 pm, we took our seats at a table on the verandah and placed our dinner orders, then settled down with drinks to await our meals. There were plenty of areas to dine such as on the verandah or the 'beer garden', which was roofed. There was also a lovely lounge just off the verandah which looked comfortable and welcoming, and of course in any Aussie pub, there is the main bar. The meals arrived and were hearty and very much appreciated after our long day.
Our room for the night was basic yet comfortable and homely, with a double or king bed (can't recall now but it was roomy enough and we're tall), TV, wash-basin, wardrobe and importantly in hot climates, air-conditioning. There was another door opening off our room on to a small fenced area which screened the room from the beer garden, with the toilets and shower facilties on the far side. There weren't many people in the beer garden this night, other than a small family celebration which dispersed relatively early. Not sure what hours this area is open too, but if after 10 pm, there may be some noise.

In the morning, we helped ourselves to a light breakfast which was included in the rate. Cereal, toast, juice, tea or coffee. A hot breakfast is also available at extra cost. The hotel owners said they have only taken over the business in recent months and it is a family concern. To finish, even if you are staying at another town but are visiting Paronella Park or just travelling the Canecutter Way, make sure you at least have a bite to eat or have a drink at this friendly pub.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElizaBeth2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mena Creek
12.4 mi away
Black Marlin Motel
Black Marlin Motel
#3 of 3 in Innisfail
51 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tropical Bliss Bed and Breakfast
18.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena Creek Hotel

Property: Mena Creek Hotel
Address: Corner of Japoonvale & Mena Creek Road, Mena Creek, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mena Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mena Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing