We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kommunikations kaos”

Sommerland Sjaelland
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Nykoebing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sommerland Sjaelland is an amusement park in the eastern part of Denmark. Only one hours drive from Copenhagen you find yourself and your family in great outdoors and more than 60 activities for children and parents to enjoy together. The season 2015 goes from 14th of May until 6th of September, but check sommerlandsj.Dk for specific opening hours. In Sommerland Sjaelland you can enjoy Zealands greatest outdoor water park area with water slides and pools for all ages.Check out the pictures, and feel free to contact us for more information.
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We scrutinized the homepage before deciding on takig this trip. We are five (mom, dad, big brother 7, big sister 4 and little brother 0,25 (3 months)). While entering "den blå lagoon" we saw the signs saying "no carts allowed"...!!!??? Why was this information not on the internet? I (dad) walked in and found a pirate (who was working there...) and addressed our problem with the 3 month old child. The only thing that could be done was to carry the cart up to the 1 st. floor cafeteria and then carry it down to the cafeterias confinement area. Did that. About one hour later another pirate (who also work there) pointed out that what we had done was illegal, and as soon as the baby wakes up we have to move the cart away from the cafeterias confinement area. I said that i refuse to do that, based on her colleages advice to begin with. She came back 15 minutes later and acknowledged what her colleague has said and she repeated her request. I refused again saying that i wanted it in writing if they where to throw us out. I urged her to put this information on the homepage as well, being a very important information in the descision process for families with young children. 2 - on the internet, gas grills are available for the guests to freely use to cook their food. - However, we never saw 1 (one) gas grill. We saw 2 (to) ordinary coal based grills. One with the coal burned up and the other ( smaller one) overpacked with food from the guests trying to make some food. We were 7 persons using a grill 40 by 70 cm. Not quite as on the homepages ideal information. One other thing that not has anything with communication to do; it was the hottest day so far (25.7.2012) and there was very few shades (parasoller) available. Would it not be good service to provide a little shade to the people. Conclusion; IF above information would have been present on the homepage - then our trip would have gone to Lallandia instead.

4  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHavmand, Public Relations Manager at Sommerland Sjaelland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear TonyM

We are sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay at Sommerland Sjælland, as we wish it for our guests.

About the carts in the water park area, I have immidiately added the information to our webpage, so no one can doubt our rules in this area.

A common experience is that families with that small children split when the elder children are going to the water park area. Mom or dad then often spend the time finding a nice and quiet spot for the babies to take a nap. Others stay right outside the fence where they can communicate and see their family in the water park area.

About the gasgrill, it is available for all guests in the opening hours. It cannot be removed, and it is placed right in the middle of the barbecue area free to use. It has a little roof over the grill, so we are not sure, if you went to the right area of the park? I can see you visited us on a very busy day, and that might be the reason that we furthermore lid 2 ordinary grills for our guests.

The coal based grills are also used for groups ordering a grill in advance, and this can also be the ones, you've spotted if one was almost out.

About the shades. We put up all of the shades possible on the days with much sun, as well as we have a lot of shades from trees in our park, where guests are free to move benches and tables under. We are sorry, if there were not enough shades for you to sit in at your visit. We spread out our shades to the whole park, to meet as most needs as possible. We will consider, if more shades are necessary.

Have a nice summer.

Best regards

Lone Havmand
Sommerland Sjælland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

17 - 21 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

A country amusement and picnic park. You can bring your own lunch and BBQ or buy your lunch. Aimed at families with 2 to 12 years this is a great place.

2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHavmand, Public Relations Manager at Sommerland Sjaelland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Softwall

Thank your for your review about Sommerland Sjælland. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and even more, that you took the time to enjoy a meal in our new tent "Smagen af Sommer" /The taste of Summer, having a good meal made of local groceries.

We hope to see you again some day.

Best regards
Lone Havmand
Sommerland Sjælland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I've been here 3 times and every time it was just as fun as the first time. You pay at the entrance and once you're inside the park you can forget everything about money. Sommerland Sjælland is a free place for both kids and their parents, there is a very relaxed and informal atmosphere,just what you need when you are on vacations with your kids. The place is clean, the personal is kind and it never overcrowded. It is a good idea to take the lunch from home, but otherwise I can only recommend this place.

1  Thank LauraPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHavmand, Public Relations Manager at Sommerland Sjaelland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Laura

Thank you for your positive response. We are very happy, that your experience of the atmosphere at Sommerland Sjælland is exactly relaxed and informal, as that is what we are aiming at every day.

As you mention it is seldom overcrowded, which gives the families the opportunity to relax and have fun together instead of experiencing crowd, queues and noisy surrounding.

We welcome you again here at our country side in Odsherred!

Best regards
Lone Havmand
Sommerland Sjælland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

It is a heaven for kids, and for adults, I must admit. Very interesting and exciting, safe, clean, there is a lot for everybody, no matter what you like.

Thank IvyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertsMum, Public Relations Manager at Sommerland Sjaelland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear IvyJ

Thank you so much for your very positive response. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you found acitivities for the whole family. We hope to see you again some day!

Best regards

Lone Havmand
Sommerland Sjælland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Sommerland Sjælland is an amusement park on the island Zealand, Denmark. In July 2010, we rented a cabin near the park, and, for 3 days, our son and his friend were in heaven:). The rides were perfect for this age group (our son is 5). The kids could go in and out of some rides by themselves, and that gave them a great confidence boost. They loved the ‘Wild West, the rollercoaster, the ‘Amazon trip’ and the Wii -room. I loved canoeing and the aqua park. However, if you plan to visit the park, there are a couple of things you should take into consideration:

-check the weather forecast. There aren’t many indoors facilities
- It is definitely preferable to come in a car, though you can also take the train from Copenhagen.
-make sure you bring food with you. The food is expensive and bad. You can, of course, choose to live on ice cream, hotdogs and fries.
-check out the opening hours, they vary, but, in general, the park closes pretty early.
-the pools are not heated, but, if them Vikings can bathe in it, so can you:)

4  Thank cross_over_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertsMum, Public Relations Manager at Sommerland Sjaelland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Cross_over_10

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about Sommerland Sjælland. We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed staying in our cabins and that both you and the kids had fun with our activities.

About the food, we are this year introducing an area, where local products will be sold, so that the family will meet a good quality alternative to the fast food and pizza places. We are aware that the modern family today has days of fast food hunger as well as days of quality and health focus. Therefore we are taking this initiative in 2012 - also to promote the many quality food products our local area, Odsherred, has to offer.

We hope to see you in the park again some day:-)

Best regards

Lone Havmand
Sommerland Sjælland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sommerland Sjaelland also viewed

 
Falster, South Zealand
 

Been to Sommerland Sjaelland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing