We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accommodation in lovely location”
Review of Mill House B&B

Mill House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rayne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Rayne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I couldn't fault the accommodation that was on offer at Mill House nor the welcome I received from Janet and Richard.

The rooms are furnished with quality beds, bed linen and furnishings throughout and the standard presented is what you would expect of a four star establishment.

The rural location is perfect if staying in the Braintree area as it is only 5 mins away from Braintree itself but free from the noise you would get if staying in a town centre, so very peaceful and quiet.
It was particularly good to find the accommodation in the actual house as other accommodation available in the area is sometimes found to be in converted sheds, away from the main house, which can feel quite isolating for a single traveller

I stayed 3 nights whilst visiting family in the area and would have no hesitation in recommending Mill House as being one of the best and nicest places to stay for the discerning traveller.
I was quite sad to be leaving and hope to be back again next year

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlosJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at the Mill House B&B for a two month period in September and October 2011, I was working in the South East doing site safety visits from Peterborough to Canterbury so I needed some where central to all the sites.

I was very fortunate to stay at the Mill House, I had a excellent comfortable room with en-suite bathroom, The location is very quiet with lovely surroundings but also close to major routes into London and other cities and towns.

My hosts were very friendly and even helped me plan my routes and give information on congestion charges and the likes. If I return to to work in the area I would not hesitate in contacting the Mill House.

Steve B

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Nice room - very clean. Good bathroom ensuite. Perfect for our stay (we were at a wedding nearby). Owners really friendly without being oppressive. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Mill House B& B is in an attractive location, we were made very welcome. We found our rooms very comfortable and fascinating with all the Victorian fittings and furniture. Our hosts were friendly and generous with their help when we needed to find our event venue. They also showed us a route for our journey the next day. We inadvertently left two articles behind and they contacted us and sent them on. A huge Continental breakfast was provided, more than my wife could eat. For me, the only extra would have been a full English breakfast!

The gardens were lovely and it was fascinating to meet all the animals, ducks and chickens. If we revisit the area we will definitely book again. There are many places to visit inearby so one needs more than a one night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BETTY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a smashing B+B, one of the best ive visited and stayed at and would go again. Great service, friendly and comfortable owners and family. :) Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reisetante299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House B&B

Address: School Road, Rayne CM77 6SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Rayne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rayne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in three acres of beautiful gardens and fields, Mill House Bed and Breakfast in Rayne offers luxury accommodation in a rural part of Essex, but is still conveniently located within just 2 miles of the historic market town of Braintree, and only 18 minutes away from Stansted Airport. The city of Chelmsford and Britain's oldest recorded town, Colchester, are just a short drive away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing