We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably good hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill House B&B

Mill House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rayne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Rayne B&B and Inns
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unbelievably good hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Wow! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we were made to feel so welcome. We were shown our rooms and Janette then made us a lovely cup of tea. All of the rooms are of the highest standard and spotlessly clean. The beds are really comfy with tea making facilities and a TV in each room. We only stayed one night, but still had an opportunity to walk around the beautiful garden and meet the chickens and the ducks! We stayed there because we were going out for a meal in a local restuarant and both Janette and Richard went out of there way to make our stay really memorable, even to the extent that we forgot our toothbrushes and Richard went to the local shop to buy them for us. The following morning, we got up and had a lovely breakfast made with Hill House fresh farm eggs; gorgeous. We would definately stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend Hill House as a warm and friendly place to stay.
Thank you. From Andy & Jane

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Dick

Many thanks to you and family for the hospitality extended to us during our stay at Mill House. The room was superb with both bed and ensuite shower top notch and most welcome after a days motorcycling. Breakfast the following morning after a superb night sleep was spot on and you could not of been a better host. Safe and secure parking and your recomendations for local facilities complimented the amenities inside this well presented and equiped B&B. Many thanks and we would recomend this to anybody. Will be back next year if competing locally again. Will recomend you to friends and fellow motorcyclists in the mean time,

Regards

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I am currently staying in the single room and will be staying long term as I have started a new job locally and my house in the Midlands is not sold yet. I couldn't wish for a more comfortable, clean and 'homely' place to stay. The bed is really comfortable and the area by the kitchen to watch television or read is relaxing after a long day. Janette and Richard are the perfect hosts and go out of their way to make me feel welcome. The cup of tea when I walk in for the evening is lovely! The shower is brilliant, huge walk in and the choices for breakfast are perfect; farm eggs especially! I would recommend staying to anyone for a great location for local amenities but still being quiet in the country. Staying in winter, the house is lovely and warm too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I have spent four nights in Mill House B&B,it's a big house with sunny garden, where let me enjoy the beautiful landscape in her yard. the room is also clean and tidy with Victoria's decoration. it's really fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaohui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed in the double bedroom at Mill House in august.

The room was exceptionally clean, warm and welcoming - and the en suite looked brand new. It was a very lovely stay. The house very much

The B+B itself is very well laid out, so you do feel like you have your own private house almost.

Janette and Richard could not have been nicer, and were extremely helpful and informative on the local area. They reccomended some lovely places that turned out great.

On our departure we had a nice continental breakfast, and Janette gave us a tour of the grounds of Mill House.

I would certainly re-vist Mill House again, and recommend to anyone staying in the local area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed at Mill House,Rayne. Excellent . Twin Room En Suite. Spotless. Nice continental breakfast, plenty to choose from. Jeannette & Richard very pleasant. We managed to find a Catholic Church thank you Jeanette. And also obtained flowers for my Niece. We had been to a surprise retirement in Witham on Saturday and travelling onto Harlow on the Sunday 19th for a family gathering. Lovely week-end.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Mill House B&B is an experience I would recommend for anyone who wants to visit this area. The accomodation was faultless as was the wonderful hospitality given. Ideal for touring local multiple scenic and historic attractions. 5 star in my book.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayne
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
2.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
9.9 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House B&B

Property: Mill House B&B
Address: School Road, Rayne CM77 6SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Rayne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rayne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in three acres of beautiful gardens and fields, Mill House Bed and Breakfast in Rayne offers luxury accommodation in a rural part of Essex, but is still conveniently located within just 2 miles of the historic market town of Braintree, and only 18 minutes away from Stansted Airport. The city of Chelmsford and Britain's oldest recorded town, Colchester, are just a short drive away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing