We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill House B&B

Mill House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rayne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Rayne B&B and Inns
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A lovely house in a quiet location. A lovely clean nicely decorated double bedroom with en suite. Though the bed was a bit to soft for my liking. The owners were very friendly and very helpful. The only thing that was a negative for me would be that the room was very hot at night possibly due to the heat from the burner in the kitchen below, and the breakfast could be a bit bigger.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at mill house for several nights and several times, while my son is going to Felsted school. The house is wonderful and homely in a quiet location, our guest room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Janette and Richard are fabulous hosts and helpful every time.
There is a wonderful garden, which you can enjoy. In the morning you get a perfect breakfast.
We would highly recommend it!
We`ll comme back as often as possible. Thanks for all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reisetante299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was a last minute same day booking, I drove from Scotland to the Mill house to be greeted with a very homely welcome. Had the single room which is attached to the family kitchen. The room had an en suite gorgeous shower. The bed was so comfy, to die for and just what I needed after my drive. Everything was very fresh and sparkling clean which made the stay so much more enjoyable. The property is set in a beautiful part of Essex and my only regret is that I did not have time to enjoy the very well maintained and stunning large gardens to the rear of the property. Would highly recommend for both individuals and families. Breakfast was perfect, Egg and soldiers with freshly laid eggs from their hens. THANKS !!! Cant really beat it. Would stay here in again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphabravo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Janette and Richard were the most fabulous hosts, for my husband and I and for my brother and his wife. We were doing some family history research and Jeanette had contacted the church, then walked us there, and was as interested in the history as we were. The rooms were superb, the best linens, clean, good showers etc. Also, a greet made to order breakfast, eggs, chicken or duck, your choice. Also toured the three acre property which is absolutely lovely. We hope that we can reciprocate the great hospitality, warmth, we found here. Two new friends were made. Carol G Yellow Springs Ohio USA

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol51181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I was booked into Millhouse on short notice while working in the area. I stayed for 4 nights and was hosted fantastically. Everything i needed was on hand and any advice i needed on what to do over the weekend was offered. I honestly couldn't recommend it more if you're looking for somewhere in Essex to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at mill house for one night, while attending a friends party. Welcomed with a nice cup of tea and friendly face. The house was wonderful and homely, our guest room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The bed and bed linen was really soft and comfortable. We was lucky enough to get driven to and collected from the party venue personally, (which was a wonderful touch) I would totally recommend a stay at mill house and look forward to staying there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at mill house for 5 nights and can't give the family enough praise. I received a lovely warm welcome with a cup of tea . They have a beautiful house and garden, the room was tastefully decorated and well equipped with tea making facilities, WiFi and TV. The bed and bedding were really soft and comfortable. All the facilities are spottlessly clean. Janet, Richard and there daughter Lucinda are very friendly and more then happy to help in any way they can,The shower is brilliant, huge walk in and the choices for breakfast are perfect; over all I would recommend mill house too anyone,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayne
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree
Premier Inn Braintree
#1 of 5 in Braintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
8.3 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House B&B

Property: Mill House B&B
Address: School Road, Rayne CM77 6SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Rayne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rayne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in three acres of beautiful gardens and fields, Mill House Bed and Breakfast in Rayne offers luxury accommodation in a rural part of Essex, but is still conveniently located within just 2 miles of the historic market town of Braintree, and only 18 minutes away from Stansted Airport. The city of Chelmsford and Britain's oldest recorded town, Colchester, are just a short drive away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing