We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”
Review of Clouds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ewhurst Green
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clouds
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Charming b&b set in the heart of beautiful countryside, run by attentive hosts, Fiona and John. Nothing was too much. There is also plenty to do in the surrounding area, whether it is an historical visit to Bodiam castle, a trip on a steam train or just a walk taking in the scenery (sampling a vineyard en route if that takes your fancy!) Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandFiona, Owner at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Graham T,
We are most grateful for your kind remarks concerning your brief stay at "Clouds". To read that you appreciated our efforts to make you feel welcome and comfortable gives us much pleasure. All our guests are delightful and it is always a pleasure to meet and accommodate them. The little free and for gratis extras, which we provide, seem to be well received and help to make guests feel at home. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again, when next you want to escape to the peace and quiet of this loveliest part of East Sussex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Fantastic b&b - Fiona and John made us feel so welcome and they went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed to attend a friend's wedding locally - including lending us a torch to get home! The whole property is beautifully furnished and very clean - great attention to detail. The home cooked breakfast was delicious and we even came home with a recipe for the granola. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandFiona, Owner at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Kathryn B,
We are very glad you enjoyed your brief stay at "Clouds" and hope that you have enjoyed making our Granola at home. You are one of our many guests who have taken the recipe to all corners of the globe. Even though it is only a small part of our home made repertoire it is one of the most favoured. Thank you for taking the trouble to share you experience in our home with the TripAdvisor world. We want them all to know just what they are missing by choosing to stay at any of the other excellent accommodation providers in this most beautiful part of The High Weald.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A fantastic 3 night stay, wonderful hospitality, amazing breakfasts of fresh local produce and home made bread, jams, etc. Even early morning tea delivered to the room! Very comfortable, spotless accommodation, great views - wish we'd had longer! Thank you Fiona and John for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandFiona, Owner at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Caroline B,
Thank you very much for your must kind remarks about your stay with us. We equally enjoyed having you stay here. We try our best to please each of our guests and know that it is not always possible to it right on every occasion. Therefore, it is always pleasing to read that, for your visit, we did get it right on this occasion. Your feed back is most welcome and much appreciated. Trip Advisor do not enable us to return the compliment and appraise our guests, however if they did you would be one of our 5 Star Gold Clients based on your charm, affability and good humour. We look forward to welcoming you back at "Clouds" in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This July I had the privilege of being a guest at Clouds Bed and Breakfast and I will have to write quite a few lines to describe all the comfort and special treats things they offered us. We were enjoying a walking trip (organized by Great Oaks Walks) and our luggage was delivered at Clouds where we arrived on foot.
We received first class treatment from the very beginning: we were greeted with warmth when arriving and taken to our separate bedrooms where we found fresh flowers, fruit and a pleasant view, and the most cozy and perfectly beautiful rooms.
We had all the comfort we could ask for and more: robes, a very nice bathroom with great shower , nice light, warm dry towels. Perfectly comfortable beds with a choice of pillows.
So we had showers to wash off the trail sweat and were offered the most wonderful English afternoon tea with the freshest shortbread and cake. Usually I don't care too much for sweet treats, but these were so fresh and tasty I had to try!
Sleep was excellent at this very quiet location, and our breakfasts (we stayed two nights) were delightful: fresh fruit, fresh bread and a menu with excellent choices.
Our hosts were very attentive to our taste and needs and took perfect care of us in every way.
I highly recommend this place, as I am sure you will be happy there in either rain or shine!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoVisualArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandfwouters, Owner at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear PhotoVisualArtist,
We are overwhelmed by your kind and enthusiastic appraisal of our home and our efforts to make you feel welcome here. It does us good to know that such charming guests as yourself and your delightful walking companion noticed and appreciated our best attempts to make you comfortable and feel at home. Fiona and I endeavour to make all our guests feel special and happy to stay at "Clouds" Thank you for taking time out to put in your report and for making it a glowing endorsement of all our hard work.
Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Clouds has to be the best B&B we have ever visited. We were in the area to wave goodbye to our daughter & partner as they set off to Mongolia from Bodiam Castle. Clouds was a 10 minute walk away - perfect. Our bedroom was superb - spotlessly clean with all needs catered for. We had the most wonderful breakfast sitting on the balcony with views of the castle. The garden was delightful and quintessentially English! Fiona & John were extremely hospitable hosts and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely return and shall recommend them to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woofo, Owner at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear David F,
I do apologise for my tardy response to your very kind remarks on TripAdvisor. Fiona has now had the metal work taken out of her knee and we are returning to normal service. We are both delighted that you and your lovely wife enjoyed you brief stay with us. Sitting up chatting late into the evening gave us much enjoyment and took Fiona's mind off her pending operation. So thank you for that and thank you for your charming remarks concerning your stay here. We greatly look forward to that return visit you mention. We hope the Mongolia trip went well and everyone reached their destinations without mishap .
Kindest regards, John W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a brilliant find for anyone wanting to explore the countryside and of course the castle. It is just a short walk away. Delightful host and hostess who provide the most magnificent breakfasts. Also the beds are amazing! And I have not mentioned how clean everything is - quite extraordinary. Do go and stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186361Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woofo, Owner at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comments and for taking the trouble to post them on TripAdvisor. We greatly value the observations of those who have stayed at "Clouds".
Both Fiona and I put in a lot of hard work, keeping our home clean and neat, no just for our benefit but for the benefit and comfort of our guests too.. The fact that you have noticed the results of our efforts means that it has not all been done in vain. We are also glad that you and your daughter, enjoyed the quality of our beds. The system of multi pocketed springs in the mattresses does make for the most comfortable sleep, particularly when used in conjunction with pure cotton sheets and pillow slips, but your confirmation of that fact is much appreciated. We are also delighted that you thought our breakfasts were excellent. A great deal of thought, time, skill and planning goes into the production of our meals and that may be why we have been recognised with Visit England's Good Breakfast Award. We do hope that you will give us the pleasure of accommodating you again in the near future and that you will tarry a little longer on that occasion, in order to sample more of the many delights in the Sussex High Weald.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

An excellent B and B of extreemly high standard.Comfortable room/bed, private bathroom, and very welcoming hosts. We could not have asked for more, nothing was two much trouble Delighful garden and views over surrounding countryside. The breakfast was superb, and plentyfull with lots of choice, prepared to suit your requirments. We'll be going again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woofo, Owner at Clouds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Dear Honoured Guest, Your kind and considered remarks are greatly appreciated by both my wife and myself. We are delighted that you are aware of, and appreciated, all our efforts, spent in our endeavour to make our home as comfortable and welcoming as possible, for all our guests.
Your feed back is our reward for all the hard work and dedication that we put into this enterprise. It confirms, to us, that we are doing the right thing, it encourages and inspires us to make greater effort Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clouds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds

Address: 9 Dagg Lane, Ewhurst Green TN32 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ewhurst Green
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ewhurst Green
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clouds is located in a designated area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in The High Weald, with panoramic views over Bodiam Castle and the Rother Valley. There are wonderful walks, glorious gardens, historic houses and a private steam railway all within the region. We also have copious excellent restaurants locally and two first class inns about half a mile away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clouds Ewhurst Green, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing