We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm atmosphere in the ferry-tale inn”
Review of De Witte Holevoet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scherpenzeel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
De Witte Holevoet
Ranked #1 of 2 Scherpenzeel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2014

For me this was a cozy one night sleep in a ferry-tale village. Coming from a busy town, Scherpenzeel, with its wide windows hoses, its ducks and its green grass was like a magic appearance. The hotel has a nice retro design. The room had a nice terrace with view towards a park.
The restaurant looked great, with a nice combination of old, traditional details and modern accents. Some of the waiters were nice; everybody talked English perfectly. One negative comment I have: one well built employee didn't bother to carry my luggage on the stairs although I was pregnant. He just sat and waited.
The food was a little bit strange for my friends, but I could get used to some plates: bull tail soup for example.
Good breakfast, I could enjoy the restaurant again, in the morning. It's a shame we couldn't eat on the wide terrace!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinaMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed as a couple for two nights here as we had business in the area. The location is a bit remote, as there is nothing to do in the neighbourhood. The hotel seems to target groups, family reunions or weddings. Restaurant a la carte is a bit expensive with rather small plates, but the menus are better priced. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are in a good state. Beds are comfortable, bathroom is good. The noise in the hall and from the garden restaurant can be quite disturbing, lasting quite long in the evening and staring early in the morning. Breakfast buffet is not very big, just the bare necessities, but sufficient. Staff is friendly. As the price is not very high, it is good value.

Room Tip: rooms are towards garden where the restaurant has tables (i.e. a bit noisy in the evening) or toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dojolowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

OK, I made a reservation for the restaurant (did not stay for the night).
Arrived around 7pm, not too tables occupied, just a few. Later in the evening all tables were occupied. Make a reservation in advance!
Friendly staff, good explanation of the menus (4 courses €45 p.p.excl. wine).
Attractive wine menu and affordable. Got a Yalumba white for €35 (Australia)..
Bread and olives plus drinks arrive quickly to get you in the mood.
Nice in betweens snacks to fill up the waiting.
We enjoyed the good food, nice decoration and good taste.
You will be surprised finding this quality in such a smaller place.
Oh, red wine by the glass is also affordable and their house wine (Languedoc) is tasty.
Coffee comes with chocolates, a must do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PoggiBonsi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed her 2 nights recently and have stayed here before.
It's a very pleasant and comfortable place with spacious rooms and was good value for money.
The restaurant menu is certainly focused on "fine dining" but I have to say I wasn't convinced by all the dishes and combinations we tried - a little disappointing , including the small portion sizes, so not great value.
Wine choices are good though and there's a pleasant terrace and garden area which is great in the warmer months of the year.
Would certainly stay here again if in the area .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetcure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Only did lunch here by myself as my friends prefer the 'pay less, get more' kind of restaurants. So i have tried every restuarant in Scherpenzeel and this is the place to go for a top meal. I had duck when i was there and it was magnificent. Well worth a go!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesarmstrong1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

High end food, very very friendly and polite service, this is truly a top restaurant. With a price tag, I should add :-) If you seek a truly culinary experience, go for the 'preuverij' with accompanying wine arrangement. Not many restaurants in this class in the neighborhood.

I only ate here, so cannot say anything about the rooms/beds etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandV030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brettemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to De Witte Holevoet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Witte Holevoet

Address: Holevoetplein 282, 3925 CA Scherpenzeel, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Scherpenzeel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scherpenzeel
Hotel Class:4 star — De Witte Holevoet 4*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing