We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical day at a small but lovely castle”
Review of Muiderslot

Muiderslot
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.44*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
More Info
US$67.61*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Muiden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
1 review
“A magical day at a small but lovely castle”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I planned a day trip to Muiderslot castle yesterday and it was a Fairytale adventure. We went by bus from Amsterdam. We got there by 10am and were the first to arrive. The lady at the ticket counter was friendly. She booked us for a tour but it was only offered in Dutch however they would be handing out English information cards. The tour was just my husband and I so our guide did it in English. WOW! The castle is small but magical with lots to see and do. The staff is polite and knowledgeable. After the tour we stopped for a quick drink at the tavern at the castle then wandered around the grounds on our own. We left the castle as it was starting to fill up with kids. After we left we had a great lunch in town and headed back to Amsterdam via the bus. It was well worth the 27 euro.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    173
    44
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Majestic Castle, Lovely Journey”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The castle is magnificent looking from outside, surrounded by a moat but the actual area inside seems quite small once we walked through the castle entrance. The tour inside the castle was conducted in Dutch but we were provided with reading material in English, explaining the significant of each room that we were shown around. The journey from Amsterdam to the castle itself was a wonderful experience, first by train, followed by bus then walking the remainder of the journey before reaching the castle. The journey through the Dutch countryside with its breathtaking scenery of picturesque landscape dotted with farms, livestock i.e. sheep, cows and horses, river and canals as well as modern windmills was truly a remarkable experience. Overall, the castle, its surrounding town and the journey makes it an unforgettable and lovely experience that's worth experiencing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not worth the €13.50 admission”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

No tours in English, no written info in English, no online tickets so forced to queue unless you have the Amsterdam museum card.

Beautiful castle but making not much effort for international visitors when we graced it with out presence in early May.

The redeeming feature was the app which provided an audio tour although we realised too late that some of the castle is only accessible on the guided tour and so if you are English speaking and don't go on a tour you miss out.

We were disappointed to be asked at the ticket office our language and told to book onto a guided tour using a computer screen within the museum, without being told that there were no guided tours in our language. Worse we wasted 25 minutes waiting for the guided tour without viewing the rest of the castle which turned out to be a needless waste of time.

It just left is feeling that we were second-class visitors behind the Dutch guests. Don't sell a ticket with an included guided tour when you know that the guests will not understand a word of the guided tour.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pete07734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fairytale castle, complete with moat!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a lovely time here following a boat trip from Ijburg (www.amsterdamboatexcursion.com) but I understand it's easy to get to by car and pubic transport too.

Not suitable for the disabled visitor (access to the towers is only via steep spiral staircases) and almost all the signs are only in Dutch but interesting nevertheless. Sadly she wasn't with us but my almost 5 year old granddaughter, on seeing our photos, asked if it was a REAL fairy-tale castle (that's just what it looks like). I loved the small garden (which clearly would be better in summer) and all the jackdaws (mini-ravens!)

Don't miss the "feature" in the grounds regarding water being friend or foe - it's a hoot.

There is a fine tea-shop (lovely cake) and very modern WC facilities.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_in_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Easter weekend”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went to see Muiderslot during our stay in Amsterdam. Going there is easy even it takes a train and a bus ride to get there. Walk through village is nice. Castle and it´s surroundings are straight from childrens storybook. Our nine years would rate this castle as excellent, I don´t. I wouldn´t go to visit this castle without children, seeing them enjoying the castle is (huge) part of the trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C0ffee_Break
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muiderslot also viewed

Zaandam, North Holland Province
Haarzuilens, Utrecht Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Muiderslot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing