We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family attraction”
Review of Muiderslot

Muiderslot
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.92*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
More Info
US$66.87*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Muiden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family attraction”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Travelling with children who had never seen a castle before this was a great introduction for us. We travelled there via the Amsterdam Tourist Ferry and thoroughly enjoyed the day. With the welcome card and discount this was a very reasonable price for the visit.

The children enjoyed the castle. We did the tour, even though it's in Dutch, and were given a booklet with the translation. The activities and sights were lots of fun. This was a highlight for our children for sure. The hints to pack a snack or lunch were good so I can't comment on the cafe.

For a family attraction of a medieval castle handy to Amsterdam this was a great day!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    171
    43
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Secunda
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Castle and more!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Not only is it a real castle used in the past but it has beautiful surroundings with gardens and the sea. There's plenty of activities for kids (some of which even we joined!) but some of it is in Dutch. Stunning views and cool self guided tours. Should take an hour and a half at least.You can learn a lot here, too. It is a bit out of Amsterdam central but it's easy to get there and worth the trip. Even the town of Muiden is quaint and a pleasure to be in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Onashan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We took the bus from Amsterdam followed by a short walk through Muiden to arrive at the castle. During our walk we got to view the pivoting bridge allow boats to pass through town. Our Museumkaarts allowed us to walk in without waiting to buy tickets. The tour was given in Dutch, but there were written translations available in several languages. Plenty of places with hands on activities for the kids (dress up, mechanical jousting, stilts, etc) to try. Views from the top of the castle towers were breathtaking, anyone unable to handle stairs will miss this part. The gardens and area around the castle provide a quiet place to walk and there are picnic tables to eat a picnic lunch. Do bring a jacket because on a cloudy day the breeze from the water can be cool.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattapoisett, ma
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Wonderful town, beautiful castle and very child friendly!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a great place to have kids or adults young at heart to enjoy history. They have outfits and props that you can dress up in. Makes for some great photos. Also, the town is absolutely beautiful! If possible bring a bike and explore the community gardens, the gelato shop, the bakery and the pretty gardens.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank debbythec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enchanting Castle and a quiet day trip out from Amsterdam”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Taking a very short train journey from central station, we arrived at the castle via a ferry. It was a pleasant change from Amsterdam to escape the crowds and chill out in a very historic venue. The guided tour was done in Dutch & English, although the English dialogue lasted half the time. I think the anecdotes didn't translate that easily. Its worth the effort of finding the ferry, just a short walk from the bus stop. Bus fares were cheap and the timetable is regular.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiger8Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muiderslot also viewed

Zaandam, North Holland Province
Haarzuilens, Utrecht Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Muiderslot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing