We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Heart”
Review of The Old Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iringa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Farm House
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm Heart”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Having been an overland guide for nearly 4 years we stayed at many many places all over East Africa and if I had to call one place "the warm heart of hospitality and friendship" or even call it "like coming home to rest after a long road and enjoy fantastic home-made food and lovely beds" then Kisolanza and its wonderful staff would be it. Well done Nicky, you guys deserve praise! How's that golf coarse coming?

--

Jaco Beukman
(ex G-Adventure CEO)

Room Tip: Rooms to the north are nicely tucked away in the bush. All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacoBeukman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
881 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Really nice campsite although I would highly recommend upgrading to the rooms rather than tenting. Delicious hot chocolates at the bar - it can get a little cold up there so this is very welcome! You can also get amarula hot chocolates which are incredible and a delicious brownie. The hot water needs to be turned on, but once it's on the showers are fab. The bar is nice with great atmosphere although a little disorganised. Nice room and comfy beds in the stables.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iringa, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I came in a bit group right at dusk on a cold, cloudy, and rainy day in the wet season. Richard greeted us and made us feel very welcome despite the atmosphere. I had joined he group for only a few days as I had a chance opportunity to meet up with a good friend who I see rarely because we live on opposite sides of the world. I was not given many details on the safari and the list of things to bring did not include a sleeping bags, so I was not prepared for a cold night in the Tanzanian highlands. Richard, the site manager, was extremely helpful and helped me to equip myself for a warm toasty night, and I could not be more grateful. The food was superb. We had a Tanzanian fare with a spin of some more European-American style additions, and it was absolutely delicious. The meatballs were especially tasty and even the ugali was better than 99% of the other ugali I have eaten here. Many in the group had hot chocolate with amarula in it, which they said was to die for. If you are in the Iringa area, please go on over to The Old Farm house, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We camped at The Old Farm House (Kisolanza) for three nights and didn't want to leave. The camp manager Richard couldn't have been more hospitable, helpful, or welcoming.
A spacious newly thatched palapa with picnic table at the campsite was useful for cooking under cover. The ablutions were spotless and the hot showers were much appreciated, as was the efficient 4-tap area for doing laundry or dishes. Have a drink in the convivial bar and don't miss a dinner in the adjoining restaurant -- the chef is amazing and the portions are plentiful. Nice wine list. Beef Cobbler was scrumptious. Have breakfast on the terrace overlooking a manicured garden with many flowers in bloom. We ordered a fruit plate (passion, papaya, mango, banana, pineapple, pear, grapes, sweet juicy strawberries), and fresh baked bread with homemade jam each morning which was delicious and beautifully presented. I was thrilled to get the strawberries because it has been 11 months since I had one. Ask at reception for a walking map and do the walk to the two lakes and sunset walk (any time of day). Lovely. On one of our walks we bought some mushrooms from old woman and the chef was kind enough to prepare them as a side dish for our dinner that night. The campsite is spread out and there is a separate area for the big overland trucks. Though there were several in camp while we were there, we never heard them but we did enjoy the birdsong from the nearby bushes and trees each morning. Peek in or upgrade to the camping bandas -- they are charming! Can't say enough about The Old farm House and its management. We felt very safe and well cared for during our entire stay.

Teresa O'Kane, Traveling Africa in a Land Rover named Ndoto

Room Tip: Eat at the Mud Room Restaurant. Buy fresh farm veggies at reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fosterkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

If you are even remotely close to this region, you should visit the Old Farm House. The food was some of the best i"ve had in Tanzania. The owners personally greet all the guests and make them feel welcome. The houses are really nicely designed (some feel like hobbit houses!) with individual furniture, great beds and fireplaces.

There are a couple of nice walks to do locally but not a lot of other activities - don't expect an action packed time, but if you are ready to relax and just be in your surroundings with some home comforts, this is the perfect option. Well priced too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this place by a friend and were delighted we were! The grounds are stunning and the staff and owners were so helpful. We had a great experience here and the food was absolutely fantastic. Probably the best we have had in Tanzania. This place is a must if you are near iringa. The owners are so friendly and are really engaged in their work and look after their guests so well. If we come back to Tanzania, we will come back here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Lovely shady spot for my tent and, although basic, clean comfortable stable accommodation for children and their mum. Cake with our tea a real treat after a hard push from Mozi and hours on the road. Absolutely magical atmosphere created by lamps in the mud ruin restaurant. A delicious three course dinner. Shared ablutions spotless with hot showers. I loved that we had a covered area in which to cook and enjoy our next dinner, out of the rain. Thank you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iringa
0.0 mi away
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
Ruaha Hilltop Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ruaha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
32.1 mi away
The Alizeti Hostel
The Alizeti Hostel
#4 of 20 in Iringa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zakinn
Zakinn
#3 of 14 in Iringa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Isimila Hotel
Isimila Hotel
#4 of 14 in Iringa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mufindi Farm Lodge
Mufindi Farm Lodge
#3 of 20 in Iringa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
32.0 mi away
Neema Crafts Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farm House

Property: The Old Farm House
Address: Kisolanza Farm, Iringa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Iringa Region > Iringa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Iringa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Farm House specializes in accommodation from bush camping (1 site for Overland Trucks and a separate site for Private Vehicles) to luxury, with a variety of cozy and clean accommodation in between.Kisolanza is a working farm with cattle, sheep, vegetables, tobacco and flowers. You are free to explore the farm. Place an order for beef, lamb, eggs and fresh vegetables for your onward journey.The Ghaui Family has lived in East Africa for over a hundred years, and are happy to share their knowledge of the area with you.Our Restaurant incorporates the ruins of an old mud building and is famous for it's authentic atmosphere and for the menu of fresh farm produce and garden herbs. The Old Farm House, Kisolanza, is the perfect gateway to your stay in the Southern Highlands of Tanzania. We are a days drive from Dar Es Salaam, the borders of Zambia and Malawi, Arusha and about 3 hours from Ruaha National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing