We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Higher Melcombe Manor
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional B&B”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lorel gave us a wonderful welcome to her beautiful Manor. She made us feel us at home from the minute we arrived, and this was reinforced by the quality of the room she provided us with. The location is peaceful and idyllic situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Dorset. Breakfast was a feast and we had truly lovely weekend. I would definitely recommend this as one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our group of 20 spent a weekend at Higher Melcombe Manor in May 2013. We had an excellent evening enjoying wine and dinner in the big banqueting hall. The catering was first rate all weekend, and the hosts were very welcoming - recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I wanted to explore southern England and a friend recommended that I stay at Melcombe Manor and it was a great suggestion. It is a beautiful home in the county with green rolling hills and scenic farmland. When I arrived Lorel and her trusty dog, Alfie were there to greet me. One walks into a beutiful and well decorated foyer that leads to a stunning sitting room with a fireplace. Lorel showed me to my room as I choose the large but cozy Paneled Room that had a very comfortable bed. I quickly changed so I could go and explore the area. Lorel suggested that I take Alfie who made a great companion on my 6-mile circular route through peaceful countryside with a stop at the Fox Inn at Ansty. On my return Lorel had tea set up for me in the living room with a roaring fire.

The next morning Lorel had a full proper breakfast ready for me before I started my day of site seeing. Since I didn’t have a car I used the Dorchester Taxi service operated by Jude and Karen. Jude picked me up promptly at 10:30 and it was a great day of exploring the area of Dorchester and the Athelhampton House and Gardens.

The next day Karen picked me up and we explored the Kingston Lacey House and Gardens. I would recommend exploring both of these properties.

Overall I had a great time at the Higher Melcombe Manor with its charming English style and the hospitality of Lorel. One would have a great time and enjoy staying at this lovely property in Southern England.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elyce_gall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Lorel, Michael and Alf (the dog) in January, after many weeks of travel and we felt at home as soon as we arrived. Lorel is thoughtful of her guests needs and the rooms cater for a relaxing, peaceful stay. We had snow while there and the huge fire in the main lounge was so lovely to come in to after a long walk with Alf. Food was very good and so generous. Tea was bought to us on rising, followed by a lovely breakfast in the gracious old dining room. We loved it all and were sad to leave. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlygirl013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Wonderful country wedding venue, made perfect by Lorel's equally wonderful warm and welcoming hospitality. She made us feel so much at home in her beautiful house - we felt like much-loved old friends when she and Alfie (the lurcher) greeted us on our arrival. The bedrooms are lovely, the breakfasts great, the gardens are gorgeous - and the sun shone for the wedding! I've run out of superlatives - can't wait to go back for a luxurious B&B break.

Room Tip: I slept in the very pretty Chapel Close Room at the top of the house overlooking the fields - very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We've just had a fantastic stay at Melcombe - Lorel was fabulous, solving our last minute crises and wonderfully accommodating. My room was gorgeous, luxurious feel and yet very relaxed. Beautiful views and gardens really well kept, great venue for a country wedding. Looking forward to returning for B and B.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary1983_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My mother had a wonderful stay. She compared it with six stars hotels. The service was absolutely amazing. Lorel is one of the friendliest person I have come across -- also very caring with great humour. We would actually make a trip half way across the world, as we live in Thailand, to stay at Melcombe Manor! Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SunTansri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Higher Melcombe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Melcombe Manor

Property: Higher Melcombe Manor
Address: Melcombe Bingham DT2 7PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Melcombe Bingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Melcombe Bingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Higher Melcombe Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Higher Melcombe Manor Melcombe Bingham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing