We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay - Could be Better”
Review of Hotel Krone

Hotel Krone
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Krone
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aarberg
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We enjoyed our two nights at the Hotel Krone last summer. The hotel is an older style establishment that overlooks the central square in Aarberg. The staff were pleasant, friendly and welcoming. They were keen to make our stay peaceful and enjoyable. The rooms are large and airy, although they could do with a makeover. The bathroom is also a generous size. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The food and service were both good. The ever present flies were a definite detractor in the dining area. Overall, a pleasant stay, but it could have been better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Krone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have made many visits to the Bienne area for both business and pleasure and always stay in Aarber a smallg at the Hotel Krone. The hotel faces on a small square surrounded by small shops and restaurants with a large church at one end. Village is entered on one end by maybe the oldest all wood bridge in Europe. Cars are allowed in one direction by signal. Several excellent restaurants are located on square. One of my enjoyments is walking from hotel in morning through a forest with a fresh water stream. Hotel rooms are very comfortable, with modern bath. My room had sofa and a writing desk. I ask for same room. Food is also very good.
A delightful place to spend your days when in area. Bern and Bel/Biene are only short time away.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear of hotel are more quiet if there is activity in the square.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It is a shame to be so negative about a generally pleasant hotel!
The rooms are large, the bathrooms have bath tubs and showers, the staff are friendly and the hotel has a definite old world feeling with creaking floors and old fashioned beds.
But I have two complaints.
1. Flies were all over the restaurant at breakfast and at dinner! They crawled over the bread at breakfast, they crawled across the tables at dinner and they crawled over us as restaurant diners. We were constantly swatting flies - and so I can only imagine that in the kitchen it was even worse. This hotel has a serious hygiene problem and needs to sort it out! I have stayed in hotels all over the world in ain developing countries too and this was one of the worst instances I have ever encountered.
2. No internet access without paying. Every other hotel in Switzerland offered free Wi-Fi internet access except this one. They wanted to charge high rates for short access times. I find this completely unacceptable in this day and age. My goodness, will they start charging for the pillows next?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quietest - but look out onto blank walls.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Very friendly hotel, welcoming staff in front of hotel and restaurant. The hotel is very traditional and truly swiss. We enjoyed our day. Great location. Lovely food and good choice of food at breakfast including fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, croissants etc. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaandJames_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Rooms are clean but old fashioned. Friendly staff when I could find them. I did not receive a welcome drink like 'highlanddave053'. The room was expensive (compared to the rest of Europe but by Swiss standards I guess the deal was OK (just)).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Very basic 70' design room with the standard room for 180 CHF. Hopfully the more expensive rooms are better.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tes183u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Arrived and were given a welcome drink. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel and room very old fashioned and quaint but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highlanddave053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aarberg
2.4 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
10.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
5.2 mi away
Hotel Florida Studen
Hotel Florida Studen
#1 of 1 in Studen
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
10.7 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
5.4 mi away
Hotel Schloessli Ipsach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone

Address: Stadtplatz 29, Aarberg 3270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Aarberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aarberg
Price Range: £96 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, Hotel.de and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing