We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of St Johns House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lecarrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Johns House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Lecarrow B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I can absolutely endorse what others have written here. This is a unique and very idyllic location. Liz and Richard are attentive and charming hosts who provide delicious homemade cakes, jams, cookies, homegrown fruit, a wholesome breakfast and also go out of their way to deal with dietary restrictions. We were thrilled with our charming extra large room, bed and bath. Highest recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMCouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review, Rose Marie and delighted that you managed to contact us out on the lake! As we said at the time, we get very few 'walk-in' guests, but getting our number from Coffeys Bar was a good call. I hope you enjoyed the figs - wew are still trying out new ways of serving them.

Best wishes, Liz and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hello together,
the stay at St Johns House B&B was on of the most beautiful we have done so far!
Liz & Richard provide the perfect stay if you are looking for a quiet and wonderful spot. there are great walks, nice views and very pleasant hospitality!
thanks for everyting
Jolana, Ulrike and Jonathan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, Jonathan. it reminds me that I have a good photo of you all sitting in the garden in the evening which I will email on to you. we hope to see you here again one day. Best wishes, Liz and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

From the moment we came through the gate and met Liz working on her veg. garden we were made welcome. A quick view round the house and then drinks with home-made cakes and biscuits, whilst sitting in the sunshine overlooking Lough Ree. What a fabulous spot! Surrounded by beautiful flowers in the garden, cattle and sheep in the field adjacent, some standing in the water (and looking for all the world like they had stepped off a landscape painting). There were no noises or distractions from modern life - this was truly idyllic. A stroll around the Rinn Duin peninsula to see the Norman remains (the walk starts and finishes at the house), followed by dinner in the garden cooked by Liz. A 3 course meal with all ingredients home grown and locally sourced, served, of course, with a choice of red or white wine. Only 25 euros! If you stay here, you must pre-arrange dinner for one night. Being a Georgian property, the rooms are a fantastic size - really spacious, fantastic views, fitted out with beautiful old furniture, yet with all the modern touches one has come to expect these days. Breakfast was as good as the dinner - the potato cakes being particularly tasty. Liz was so helpful with local information (especially with regards the investigation of my family who originated from this area) and attractions. There was no problem with bringing our own refreshments back to partake in the garden, Liz providing a tray of kitchenware for us, and we were welcome to store wine and goods in the fridge.
We had 3 wonderful nights here, and our only regret is that we didn't meet Richard, who was away when we visited.
Roscommon is a very rural area with many places of interest to visit, all within easy reach of St.John's. The main roads make the journey from Dublin airport only about 90 minutes long, so it is well within reach despite appearing miles away.
If you want somewhere different, peaceful and romantic, this is the place to go.You will be blown away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Trish, thank you for such a lovely review - it was a great pleasure to have you here and the hot weather was a bonus - it is not often enough that we can serve meals in the garden! Richard was sorry not to meet you, but he had a great time sailing in Brittany.

I probably should set the record straight for other guests about the size of the rooms - you stayed in the front room which is in the older part of the house and, as you say, very spacious, but the other two rooms are not as large, although they do have great views over the lake - it is suprising how many people opt for the view over the space - it all depends on choice.

I hope you will be able to visit again to do some more familynresearch and that Nik will have a chance to do some fishing as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend at St. John's house and Rinn Duin. We can only echo previous reviews - we were so well looked after by Liz and Richard from the moment we arrived, and were made to feel very welcome along with our 2 1/2 year old boy. Our room was very comfortable and attractive with everything you could need provided including a jar of homemade biscuits!The garden was peaceful with amazing views onto the lake and the hens were welcome company for our little boy. The walk from the house was beautiful and the history of the peninsula fascinating. And to top it off, breakfast was really excellent - with everything possible homemade and delicious. A really perfect b&b and we will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were very tempted to keep this secret to ourselves but we just had our best weekend away in years in St John's House on the shores of Lough Ree. The room was beautiful and very comfortable with great views. The food was tasty with homemade bread a highlight and very good coffee! The lakeside table with log stove was a lovely touch overlooking the peaceful lake and a few sheep and cows grazing nearby. With Norman remains and medieaval hazel woods scattered around the house, this is a sure win for romantic retreat or family trips.
Liz and Richard are very welcoming and helpful with tips, picnic rugs, coolers (we had excellent weather!) and everything a traveller might need. We are jealous of everyone who goes there !

Room Tip: The front double room (without the lake view) is 5 star hotel standard. Spacious and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stjohnsroscommon, Owner at St Johns House B&B, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Niamh - Thank you for such a kind review. I hope you are coming back soon as I have your blue shoes waiting for you! Very happy to send them on if you need them. It is amazing to realise that you were here at the start of the hot spell and guests this weekend were still able to sit outside until late by the stove - this time last year we were lighting fires inside. Long may this summer continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I spent one night in this charming XIX century farmhouse with eight friends and it has been a most pleasant and relaxing weekend. I've choosen this place thanks to TA reviews and everything was even better than expected:

- The owner, Richard, welcomed us with a cup of tea/coffee and cakes as soon as we arrived and he was always ready to give us recommendations on things to do/places to visit.

- 4 of us went fishing on the shores of Lough Ree, just in front of the house, thanks to the equipment kindly provided by Richard. The other 4 of us did a very nice walk along the Rinn Duin Loop: a beautiful and very easy walk which starts just outside St. John's House. The walk is along a peninsula on the lake , and it has beautiful views over the lake and the countryside: the ruins of an ancient church and a castle, and a blossoming field of bluebells make this walk even more enjoyable.

- The rooms are simply lovely: fresh flowers and splendid views on the lake. Every room is ensuite, with fresh towels and sheets.

- In the evening we enjoyed the fireplace in a super cosy living room and in the morning Richard spoiled us with a gorgeous full Irish breakfast, with fresh local eggs in a most elegant dining room.

In a nutshell: beautiful house, breathless landscape, but especially the discreet and warm welcoming of the host made this weekend unforgettable: the place is definitely worth a second visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bet_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

In October 2012 my Mom (60's) and I (20's) stayed here one night. I wish we'd stayed a week! It was heavenly!

Roscommon is not a much touristed part of Ireland, and it was a wonderful treat to find this very peaceful, historic, and beautiful B&B in the middle of the county. After a short drive (40minutes) from Clonmacnoise, we arrived at St. John's, following the GPS to a L in the street and a promising farm Gate.

Once through the gate, we arrived at a gorgeous B&B, located on a peninsula jutting out into Loch Ree. It was a beautiful place to behold at sunset, as we pulled up the drive.

Upon arrival, our hosts greeted us with our first Irish Tea, including small cakes, scones, and a collection of cookies; it was such an unexpected treat! As the night wore on, we were offered the chance of either a walk about the grounds -- and the grounds are quite large, jutting out for several acres along a peninsula into Loch Ree -- or a relaxing sit by a peat fire. What a choice! My mom and I chose the walk about the grounds, and were much pleased with the views at dusk, lots of waterfowl on the lake, old ruins, and cattle in various pastures -- a bucolic paradise!

During our stay, our hosts regaled us with stories of the property, local history, and politics. They proved a veritable encyclopedia for those interested in local goings on -- both past and present. They also have a load of recommendations for how to spend time in the area -- from archeological sites to local restaurants to where to catch the best fish, they can direct you anywhere your interests might take you!

Regarding the rooms, they were clean, fresh, sunlit and welcoming. We had a double room at the back of the house, and were happy to find a large picture window giving us a view of Lough Ree. (There were also ample plugs to charge our electronics and a collection of soaps and shampoos bolster our waning supply.) I was most pleased to find an actual cookie jar, with fresh baked oatmeal biscuits (cookies) along with a fin collection of teas on our tea tray. If formal tea wasn't enough, we could have a 2nd tea in the privacy of our rooms. What a treat!

And then there were the beds -- large, soft (but firm) mattress, with large pillows and electric blankets! They felt luxurious! I slept better there than I do in my own bed at home! It was wonderful!

As if the hosts, tea, rooms, and land were not enough, then there was breakfast! And it was divine. This was the only B&B we stayed at where all the breads were freshly baked -- and there were a whole collection of them. They offered the fullest of full Irish Breakfasts -- with breads, eggs, local meats, black & white pudding, roast tomatoes, and on and on. They served us homemade jams and marmalades, local meats and eggs (collected daily from their chickens), fresh fruit (apples, literally picked that morning from their trees!), and homemade apple juice (also from their own apples). I am a vegetarian (though my mother isn't), and our hosts were very helpful in accommodating my dietary needs.

Our breakfast conversation was shared around a large table, where we were joined by three Frechmen on an extended fishing weekend. (Lough Ree is great for fishing!) They were excited to head out on the water early, having made some arrangements with our hosts to bring bagged lunches on the lough with them.

Overall, this was the best stay we had in Ireland -- a true gem of a place. We couldn't have asked more kinder more welcoming hosts. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavita3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lecarrow
7.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,064 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
658 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
8.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Johns House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns House B&B

Property: St Johns House B&B
Address: St Johns House, Lecarrow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Lecarrow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lecarrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in a Georgian House on the shore of Lough Ree in the centre of Ireland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing