We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No children or young adults place.”
Review of Rauda Husid

Rauda Husid
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Eyrarbakki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$87
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Enjoy wonderful food in a historic building in the quaint seaside town of Eyrarbakki. A 45-minute scenic drive from Reykjavik, less than 15 minutes from Selfoss, and your gateway to the south coast. So stop by for a bowl of hearty soup on your way out or a feast fit for royalty on your way back to your accommodation after a day of sightseeing. The historical and relaxing atmosphere at Rauda Husid welcomes you to enjoy excellent food, such as delicious lobster/langoustine and fish direct from the fishermen, Icelandic lamb and other dishes along with good wine and personal service.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No children or young adults place.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went with 6 people and 2 young boys.. the children's menu hardly existed and the size of them was silly.. the waters handed us some paper menu that had been drawn on by another child. My son had 2 of the Lambs stake...from the chldren menu. the meat was similar to the size of one french fry. ... After asking the chef about it and telling him that size was silly.. all he did was make another one the same size... it would not be enough for a 3 year old.

The lamb steak I had was good though,
p.s if you have kids or teenagers by all means stay away from this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiverinnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjkingan, Owner at Rauda Husid, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Hi Diverinn,

I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your trip to Rauða Húsið and that you found the selection on the children's menu inadequate for your two boys. We offer a choice of pasta dishes, and fish, lamb, and grilled sandwiches served with a generous portion of hearty steak fries. The children's portions only come in one size, which is about half of the adult portion of the dishes on the menu (at significantly less than half price). We have always found this to be more than adequate. There is no specific age limit for the children's menu, but we trust the parents to choose whether to order from the children's menu or regular menu as appropriate to their child's appetite.

I would like to take the time to address some of your specific concerns. I know that our french fries are very large, but I assure you that none of them approaches 125g, the size of the children's portion of lamb fillet. Even though you weren't especially kind in your request, when you asked for more, we happily complied. In the end, your son ate a full adult-sized portion of 250g of meat along with a double order of french fries, all for less than half the price of the adult lamb fillet dish. We thought you would be very happy with this solution, and we are disappointed to hear that you chose to vent your frustration here instead of letting us know that you were still unhappy when you left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    91
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good variety of choices, pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We chanced on the Rauda Husid while investigating the black sand landscape at Eyrarbakki one windswept midsummer day. Opposite the old port and the sea wall in this quiet out of the way port, it provides an excellent meal. There were 4 of us and, while not cheap (what is in Iceland?) it was good value. The food was well prepared and very fresh. My salt cod (they called it Bacalau in the English translation) was very mediterranean with lots of olives and tomatoes. Everyone enjoyed their meal which was served by the very young staff in the front room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KNBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great seafood lunch”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As it was Midsummers Day, there was a specially priced fixed menu on offer which we went for. Fantastic lobster bisque, followed by cod and monkfish and then a fantastic molten chocolate pudding.

Not cheap but very relaxed in very nice setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A romantic night”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I wanted to have a romantic night away from the city and chose Rauda husid. We were not disappointed! The atmosphere was romantic and the food beyond delicious, the lobster soup was great and beef tenderloin steak cooked perfectly that made the wine even better. To top it I had the chocolate cake that melted in my mouth and my husband the sweet apple pie.

The service was exellent and our waitress nice and attentive.

All in all it was a wonderful night and worth every penny! If you have any doubts, rest a sure, Johann and Jessi (the owners) are great and go out of their way to make you stay pleasurable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hrafnhildur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Iceland”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

By no means cheap, this was, however, the best meal we had during our five days in Iceland. The fixed menu lobster tail dinner was superb and the service was excellent. Several other visitors came through in a hurry and quickly devoured their meals. We enjoyed the scenery, meal and overall experience. Try the local beer made at nearby farm.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrequentlyinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rauda Husid also viewed

Stokkseyri, South Region
Eyrarbakki, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
 

Been to Rauda Husid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing