We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our favorite during 10-day trip around Iceland”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with a small exhibition of paintings by a local artist.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with a small exhibition of paintings by a local artist.
The Ecohouse in Eyrarbakki Layout of house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Living room with a small exhibition of paintings by a local artist.
The Ecohouse in Eyrarbakki
Layout of house.
Access and off-street parking.
Dining area with extendible table to seat 8 people.
Fully equipped kitchen.
South facing double bedroom.
Relaxed atmosphere and good visual contact to the outside.
West facing double bedroom.
All bedrooms have ample wardrobe space, working table and computer connections.
One of two single bedrooms with a working table, small library and ample wardrobe space.
Bathroom with shower access for handicapped people.
Bathroom
Laundry with a washer and a dryer
Refuse is separated into paper (blue lid) and general refuse with more separation being planned.
The local church in Eyrarbakki is popular for weddings and wedding parties can be arranged
From Eyrarbakki you can sail directly south to the South Pole or go walking and watch the waves
The Eco House in Eyrarbakki is an ideal base for exploring the wonders of southern Iceland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Eyrarbakki, South Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AnnaWest2...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Our favorite during 10-day trip around Iceland”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (two adults and two kids ages 8 and 11) stayed in four places during our trip to Iceland. The location was convenient for Golden Circle activities North of Eyrrarbakki and trip to Westman Islands. We then continued to Vik and Ice Lagoon.

This lodging was my boys' favorite. The house is bright and modern and well laid out. It has ample closet space in each bedroom. Each bedroom, living room, and bathroom has it own heating zone, so you can have warm floors and warm bathroom but regulate the temperature in each bedroom to your liking.

The washer and dryer are small (1/3 to 1/2 the standard load) but very convenient.

There are some basic condiments and left over pastas, sauces, and cooking oils from prior guests in the kitchen, which can be very handy if you are planning to cook.

Blackout curtains are in each bedroom. Water does not have sulfur smell.

Sheets and bedding is new and very clean but warm, so we had to pull the comforters out and use duvets only during hot days.

The owner is wonderful and very attentive.

The restaurant (Red House) in Eyrrarbakki is great. Lamb dinner and lobster pasta were wonderful. Make sure you make reservations. See my other reviews for Iceland.

Everyone told me Iceland is expensive, but you don't realize how much until you actually go. Expect to pay $15 for beer, $18-26 for soup, $24-36 for a salad, and $36-76 for a main course. Dinner for two adults and two kids with two kids meals and two beers runs between $210-320. Yeah. Lunch for the same family of four with two kids runs $110-$210 if you can find some cheep lunch place, like cafe or informal bistro. T-shirts are $36, sweatshirts are $72.

Re packing, don't bring jeans or shorts or cotton socks, unless you are just chilling in the city. Make sure you pack wool socks, hiking shoes (no sneakers), fast drying pants, fleece, rain jacket, and maybe one more fast drying layer. Pack deodorizing spray for your hiking shoes unless you bring one pair for each day. Weather is unbelievable: you will be undressing to a T shirt then you will be cold in fleece and rain jacket 5 minutes later. Dressing and undressing all day long. No wonder they say: If you don't like weather in Iceland, wait 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you back, it was a pleasure to meet you and you´re welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski1998
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A jewel in Eyrarbakki!”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This house is gorgeous! Four bedrooms, one bath, huge living room, extremely nice kitchen. Another nice and convenient feature was the washer and dryer room. This location was perfect for exploring south Iceland. The beach was close for walks or just to stroll down the streets of Eyrarbakki. Very lovely little town 6 min from Sellfoss. Ragnar is a wonderful host! We only hope we can visit again soon!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavannahH...
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable house with great beds”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Easy access off roadway 1. Cute seaside village with top notch restaurant. House was very comfortable, clean, with modern kitchen and bath. Very quiet and peaceful. After long days sight-seeing, house was very nice to come back to. Owner was really nice and very informative and helpful. Size able grocery store nearby. I would highly recommend. We would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
... and you´re very welcome :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great house, great location”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 25 days and found the Ecohouse really comfortable. It's spacious, warm and very well designed, with plenty of cupboard and storage space. We slept incredibly well. It's also in a great location: some days we just spent locally, walking along the beach; other days we went further afield. It's only a 10 minute drive to Selfoss and its supermarkets and drive-thru hot dog stand. Ragnar was a very good host, really helpful when we needed help but otherwise unobtrusive. Two tips: a good place to see the Northern Lights is over the bridge at Eyrarbakki and then parking on one of the small tarmac places looking out over the river/estuary. And the cafe next to Kronan supermarket in Selfoss does delicious cakes. Two things that could be improved at the Echouse: most of the time we could only watch DVDs as TV reception seemed to be affected by wind, and two of the main lights were out for our entire stay, making it hard to read when it was dark. But otherwise I would really recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liu_jade
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ecohouse review”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the best house I've stayed in for my whole trip in Iceland. Close to everything, the beds were so comfortable, the water didn't smell like sulfur, no flies, internet was quick and working. The owner himself was easy to work with and the price is great for such a fantastic house!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valerie78...
Versailles, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Single plane house - ideal for wheelchairs and strollers”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were the first to rent this house.
Very friendly owner, rather large, well-equipped and clean house with the necessities to care for a family of 5.
Eyrarbakki is a small town with endless beach, well located for visiting other places within one hour's drive.
We had a great vacation on Iceland

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Z
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing