We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful destination”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with a small exhibition of paintings by a local artist.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with a small exhibition of paintings by a local artist.
The Ecohouse in Eyrarbakki Layout of house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Living room with a small exhibition of paintings by a local artist.
The Ecohouse in Eyrarbakki
Layout of house.
Access and off-street parking.
Dining area with extendible table to seat 8 people.
Fully equipped kitchen.
South facing double bedroom.
Relaxed atmosphere and good visual contact to the outside.
West facing double bedroom.
All bedrooms have ample wardrobe space, working table and computer connections.
One of two single bedrooms with a working table, small library and ample wardrobe space.
Bathroom with shower access for handicapped people.
Bathroom
Laundry with a washer and a dryer
Refuse is separated into paper (blue lid) and general refuse with more separation being planned.
The local church in Eyrarbakki is popular for weddings and wedding parties can be arranged
From Eyrarbakki you can sail directly south to the South Pole or go walking and watch the waves
The Eco House in Eyrarbakki is an ideal base for exploring the wonders of southern Iceland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Eyrarbakki, South Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Don S
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful destination”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is a great village destination. The house is extremely nice, quite large in every aspect, very comfortable, clean and well outfitted for a short or long stay, including eat in. You can easily do day trips to many of the spectacular sights in Iceland, including Reykjavik. The hosts interaction is superb.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Yes, I might return that you are also exceptional guests, left everything perfect. Thank you warmly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullB...
solihull
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Have just spent three nights with family and friends at the property. Bedrooms were modern with lots of storage. Good location for exploring. However, shower head was held on with something like an elastic band so you have to be careful that you don't knock it as it falls off. Kitchen left a lot to be desired. Oven dirty. Tea towels smelt. Only one saucepan. No chopping board. Disgusting kettle which I'm sure would fail any electrical tests in the UK. We moved the one sofa to make it cosier. Loads of dirt underneath so spent ten minutes cleaning. Skirting boards covered in dust. To add insult to injury we have been left a negative review on airbnb saying we hadn't cleaned! I also find it slightly strange that the owner turned up on our last night as we were in the middle of dinner. Some people might find this a nice touch but we just felt we were being checked up on. Not sure what him and his wife expected to find. We are two families with adult children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2018
The most unfair review I´ve ever had. Circles between untrue and false. They didn´t even answer any e-mails so - yes - I payed them a visit on their last evening. Where they only expressed gratitude and friendliness towards us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denthead1...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Family Base”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Ragnor saw us in on arrival, and kept us informed of weather reports and even the burst pipe which meant the heating to the house was lost, this was repaired within 24 hrs as the whole of Eyrarbakki was off. The house kept the heat in and we hardly noticed, even declined the offer of a heater from Ragnor.
Plenty of space yet felt cosy at night, wonderful quiet village, easy access to Selfoss for supplies.
Excellent value for money

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shereeang...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Eco-Home”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ragnar was the best host or the best place to stay in South-East Iceland. His Ecohouse was beautiful, spacious and well designed. Come the end of our stay we did not want to leave. No other place, during our stay in Iceland could compare to this place.
Plenty of room, clean, and welcoming our family felt straight at home in this home. Conveniently situation for the Golden Circle, it was a pleasure to returnn home each night after our adventures in nature.
Highly recommend this rental for families, large groups of friends and people looking for home comfrts away from home. Really close to the beach and the colourful sunsets of Iceland. We want to return soon!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you ever so much for your appreciation, we really try to do our best. You were great guests so we do look forward to your return :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaWest2...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Our favorite during 10-day trip around Iceland”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (two adults and two kids ages 8 and 11) stayed in four places during our trip to Iceland. The location was convenient for Golden Circle activities North of Eyrrarbakki and trip to Westman Islands. We then continued to Vik and Ice Lagoon.

This lodging was my boys' favorite. The house is bright and modern and well laid out. It has ample closet space in each bedroom. Each bedroom, living room, and bathroom has it own heating zone, so you can have warm floors and warm bathroom but regulate the temperature in each bedroom to your liking.

The washer and dryer are small (1/3 to 1/2 the standard load) but very convenient.

There are some basic condiments and left over pastas, sauces, and cooking oils from prior guests in the kitchen, which can be very handy if you are planning to cook.

Blackout curtains are in each bedroom. Water does not have sulfur smell.

Sheets and bedding is new and very clean but warm, so we had to pull the comforters out and use duvets only during hot days.

The owner is wonderful and very attentive.

The restaurant (Red House) in Eyrrarbakki is great. Lamb dinner and lobster pasta were wonderful. Make sure you make reservations. See my other reviews for Iceland.

Everyone told me Iceland is expensive, but you don't realize how much until you actually go. Expect to pay $15 for beer, $18-26 for soup, $24-36 for a salad, and $36-76 for a main course. Dinner for two adults and two kids with two kids meals and two beers runs between $210-320. Yeah. Lunch for the same family of four with two kids runs $110-$210 if you can find some cheep lunch place, like cafe or informal bistro. T-shirts are $36, sweatshirts are $72.

Re packing, don't bring jeans or shorts or cotton socks, unless you are just chilling in the city. Make sure you pack wool socks, hiking shoes (no sneakers), fast drying pants, fleece, rain jacket, and maybe one more fast drying layer. Pack deodorizing spray for your hiking shoes unless you bring one pair for each day. Weather is unbelievable: you will be undressing to a T shirt then you will be cold in fleece and rain jacket 5 minutes later. Dressing and undressing all day long. No wonder they say: If you don't like weather in Iceland, wait 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you back, it was a pleasure to meet you and you´re welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski1998
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A jewel in Eyrarbakki!”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This house is gorgeous! Four bedrooms, one bath, huge living room, extremely nice kitchen. Another nice and convenient feature was the washer and dryer room. This location was perfect for exploring south Iceland. The beach was close for walks or just to stroll down the streets of Eyrarbakki. Very lovely little town 6 min from Sellfoss. Ragnar is a wonderful host! We only hope we can visit again soon!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing