We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay”
Barn Cottage and garden from the rear showing seating and play area by woods; Private and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Cottage and garden from the rear showing seating and play area by woods; Private and quiet
Dining Area Open Plan Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Barn Cottage and garden from the rear showing seating and play area by woods; Private and quiet
Dining Area
Open Plan Kitchen
Lounge Area with Wood Burning Stove
Lounge with Wood Burner
Dining Room to Lounge
Second Wood Burner
Double Bedroom Upstairs
Twin Bedroom Downstairs
Twin Bedroom Upstairs
Family Bathroom with bath and shower downstairs
Shower and toilet downstairs 1
Kynance Cove - 1 mile away
Outdoor Seating Area
Cadgwith Cove - 1 mile away
Entrance to Mount Carlees Farm
Organic Vegetable Garden
Dexter Cattle - Oak
Maran Cockerel
Nearby - Trebah Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cadgwith, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ian S
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a great place to stay. Sandra and peter were great. Very welcoming. If you needed anything they done their very best to help you in any way. The cottage is a great place to stay. We went in April and it was still quite chilly so we had to set our own fires which i have no problem with and enjoy. You cant beat sitting in front of a roaring wood burner. Loads of information in the cottage of where you can visit and Sandra recommended some great areas to take the dog. The cottage is rustic and charming and has most of the stuff in it to make a fantastic holiday. The area around is truly stunning with some stunning beaches. Local shops can cater for every need and large supermarkets are not that far away. My wife will never forget the goat experience. It really made her holiday. I would recommend this place to anyone and would certainly go back. Thanks Sandra and peter.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Hi Ian and family - thank you so much for such a glowing review, we really appreciate it. I am so glad that you had such a wonderful holiday and especially for your wife who needed a break. It was lovely getting to know you both and would be delighted to welcome you back. Warmly Sandra and Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elaineu59
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet, peaceful, lovely location.”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here with my grandchildren and mother. We all enjoyed watching the animals and despite the weather had a lovely time exploring the area.
Sandra and Peter , and everyone we met were very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Hello Elaine and Anne - thank you for your lovely review. It was very nice to meet you all and to introduce the children to the goats and please thank Amy for the lovely drawings she did of herself with Parsley and Fern. Could not do much about the weather but at least there was plenty for them to do and enjoy and very much hope to see you all again and tell Amy she is part of the herd!! Warmly, Sandra and Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Brescia, Italy
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and once again thank you for leaving the house so beautifully clean - much appreciated. So glad that you had a great time and we very much look forward to welcoming you here in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather T
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We all thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week holiday. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The owners Sandra and Peter were very friendly and were happy to help with anything. The cottage is situated within easy reach of lots of beautiful coves, dog friendly as well if needed. We enjoyed spectacular coastline walks and would recommend it to anyone wishing to explore the Lizard Peninsula.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location and standard, friendly advice and welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Dear Heather
Thanks for giving us such a great review for your stay with us in August, we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again this year! Warmest wishes
Sandra& Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susieboo2...
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, private, perfect”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed for 5 nights in February with husband and 5 children and dog. You are always a bit nervous when booking online, but we arrived after a long journey and found log fires burning and a warm welcome. The cottage surpassed our expectations and is really cosy and comfortable with quality furnishings not the basic standard you can often find in holiday cottages. Lovely touches like bedspreads, pretty pottery and handmade interiors (doors, beams, coat rack etc) gave character and made it feel like home. The children loved gathering (and eating) the fresh eggs warm from the hens and the bigger boys collected wood in the woods and helped chop it for the fires ( under supervision!) go and visit the local ruined church while you're there. The nobles were really helpful and accommodating I will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful old building lovingly restored
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Hello and Happy New Year. Thanks for the great review that you gave us for your stay with us last year and we are glad that you all had such a great week. We hope to see you all again!
Warmest wishes

Sandra&Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here for Christmas and had a very relaxing time. The owners are very friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble. We had family visit while we stayed and that was no problem either. The cottage is in very good condition, clean and faciltated the 6 of us very nicely. It has 2 woodburners, which make it very cosy. Cadgwith is just a short distance away and is a stunning village as are all the other places in this part of Cornwall. If you are looking for a friendly place that is peicefull and in one of the best areas in Cornwall then this would be a good choice. Regarding the privacy mentioned in a previous review, this is not really the case in my view, it seems like it but after looking into it the bathroom is not visible from the owners house unless they are tree climbers. All in all a great place in a fantastic area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Hello All and Happy New Year to you all. We hope this hello from us finds everyone well and looking forward to the year ahead. I never did thank you for your review - much appreciated and we hope to welcome you all again in the future!
Warm, regards
Sandra&Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaGLan...
Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant conversion but with some reservations”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Spacious and homely barn with handy hall for removing wet outdoor gear and drying the dog! The Barn not only sleeps six, it also comfortably seats six in the dining room and lounge (not all places do).

There is no central heating but with two multi fuel stoves and plenty of electric heaters, we were nice and warm. The exception was the bathroom in the morning as it was only heated by the back boiler, as far as we could understand, so we dragged a heater in there.

It was great to have use of a field to exercise the dog first and last thing.

There were a few disappointments, the biggest for me was to discover all the lounge and both the main bedroom windows looked onto a corrugated tin building and tarpaulin about ten feet from the cottage. The large curtainless windows would deter me from staying here when the nights are short, and I was uncomfortable with the lack of a blind in the bathroom. I also found it odd that towels are not provided - not an issue for two of us but for a family to have to take its own "house towels" as well as beach towels, that probably means an extra suitcase.

The house was rather dimly lit in some rooms, the lounge could do with a reading light and the main bedroom would benefit from a second bedside light.

A word of warning - there is a Yale lock on an internal door! So if you are as tired and unobservant on the first evening as I was, and have a husband as security conscious as mine, it is quite possible to lock yourself out of the main part of the house!

We felt very welcome and cared for by the owners and the other lovely couple who lives on the farm. I would recommend The Barn to friends but with cautionary notes as advised above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amount of space and multi fuel stoves
Liked least: The outlook from lounge and main bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Dear Fiona
A long time since you stayed with us I know but I realised that I had never replied to you so apologies for that and hope this finds you well. I appreciate your helpful suggestions as well as the nice things that you said about us. We do actually offer towels at a charge of £3 per person to cover laundry. We never put a blind on the sky facing velux in the bathroom because no one could see in unless they climbed a tree! It may well be that the angle of the window and total privacy could not be appreciated and we went for blinds rather than curtains in the cottage as a whole because they are a lot easier to fit into the deep stone wall window recesses. There are lots of windows to the property that look out onto lawns, flower beds, trees as well as the dutch barn and storage shed which is the least attractive we know. We have since painted all that side of the building and added flower pots etc and also made another garden area to the end of the cottage with a bay tree and flower bed around. We also lost one big old tree in a storm which actually has given lots more light in the sitting room. The middle door has a lock on it so that the property can be split for privacy if needed but no-one has ever locked themselves out before and of course it would have to be when we were away and our neighbours took out the door frame to get you back in! We put that one down to experience and of course could have let you in had we been there. Any way we are always listening, learning and love adding to and improving things every year. Warm regards to you both
Sandra & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing