We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!”
Review of Abbots

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cerne Abbas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbots
Ranked #2 of 2 Cerne Abbas B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This was my first time staying at an English Bed and Breakfast facility. The owners were warm and welcoming and the Full English breakfast with homemade scones and local Dorset tea was exceptional. My daughter and I stayed at several other bed & breakfast facilities during our 2-week stay in England, but this was our favorite. We had to leave early the next morning and the owners were very accommodating in adjusting their schedule to accommodate us. They made us feel special and well taken care of.
The location is right in the center of this quaint town. The local abbey and several restaurants are an easy 1-2 minute walk . Our room was very clean with sparking white comforters.
I only wish we had been able to stay more than one night. I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnW_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicWilkes, Owner at Abbots, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that your first experience of an English bed and breakfast was so positive. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Staying at Abbots was for us the quintessial English B&B experience, complete with warm characters, an immaculate room, and the most incredible Full English Breakfast. We were greeted warmly and shown to our room (4) which overlooks the village. The room was beautifully presented with fluffy towels and good quality cotton linen.

We had a great night's sleep which was only topped by the breakfast, which although full was not greasy. We also made the most of the pretty garden to gobble our substantial cream tea. The owners were helpful and attentive without being irritating. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Poor welcome, room dated with creaking bed, television and heating not working but excellent breakfast and wifi a bonus. Have stayed in many b&bs but this was the poorest facilities by far. Agree with another reviewer that a welcome with tea and cake would have been improvement for price of £85! No communication available with owners to discuss our concerns. ( oh, and one couple even walked out on arrival last night, they were so disgusted)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebrideski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicWilkes, Owner at Abbots, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Firstly, thank you for your trip advisor review. We take all critique serriously.

I am sorry that you did not feel that our property was up to standard. We have owned this business for 2 years and have improved each room - including your room which was the Superking room at the top of the house. The building is circa 300 years old, and as such we have improved sympathetically - your room is newly decorated, new carpets with crisp white linen. We are not a modern boutique hotel, and we do not try to hide anything, all our rooms are available to view on our website. The bed you stayed in has a tempur topper mattress, which although you dont mention in your comments, you did say was very comfortable when I spoke to you on the Sunday morning. We have since tested the bed and found that normal "laying and turning" movement produced no creaking, however the wooden bed did creak upon vigourous movement. We will look to reduce the creaking on the bed to ensure future guests full enjoyment.

You state that the owners were not present, and yet I was here on Saturday and again on Sunday - cooking the breakfasts. I greeted you on Sunday morning when you came thorugh to breakfast and asked if all was OK. You advised me of the bed creaking but you did not mention the TV nor the heating. We have tested both, and they are both working. There are contact details of our home number (we live next door) in the manual in your room or on the half landing, which you could have called us on if you were unable to work the heating or TV. We are always happy to assist.

Your comments regarding the guest that did not stay are inappropriate. You were acquainted with him, and indeed all the other guests that were staying with us, all of you attending Saturday evenings annivesary party in the village hall. Perhaps you weren't aware that the major area of disappointment to him was the fact that the room booked for him by his friend (and indeed the last room available) was a twin room, which he appeared to be unaware of. As per above renovations, his room has been newly decorated, new carpets and brand new bathroom.

We are a small family run business, in our second year of trading and we strive to continually improve both our service and our facilities, such as the addition of free WIFI and welcome constructive critism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Location - Right in the heart of Cerne Abbas making for a lovely weekend away for any couples or young family.

Rooms - Varying sizes (Standard, Superior, Family) We had superior after getting an upgrade due to other bookings. This was ensuite and of very decent proportions. Looked over the street out the front which was nice and not to busy. The room was slightly dusty maybe due to having not been used but clean and well decorated. The main issue was the beds in the particular rooms which were very dated provided to support what so ever!!

Breakfast - Freshly cooked breakfast which was excellent and served in the front tea room. Variety of options from srambled egg, to full english.

Price - £70 a room per night which is good value for the location

Service - Lovely staff were friendly and attentive at all times.

Improvements - Beds and perhaps offering a tea and cup cake on arrival to guests in the tea room. Would make for a great welcome!!

Overall - A decent choice for the money paid, the staff were fantastic this was matched by the location and standard of breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikeyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We took a group of 31 for lunch at Abbots, a real treat. The selection was pre-ordered from a mouthwatering selection & exceeded expectations in all respects. We have never experienced friendlier or more efficient service. Cerne Abbas is a lovely village & it is delightful that Abbots provides such a jewel in the crown. If parking is a problem then use the car park - it is only a few moments walk!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at Abbots for 2 nights in the Superking room. First impressions were good - it's a lovely old building, and we had a nice welcome. Our room was clean, with a powerful shower. However, there was a sign in the room stating that only cash or cheque could be used for payment, and cards were not accepted, so we spent a flustered hour or so trying to find a cash machine and parking to reach said cash machine. When the time came to leave Abbots and pay, the young member of staff in the tearoom - who appeared to be working alone on the Saturday morning - seemed rather startled at us producing a huge wad of cash, and pulled out a card machine, usefully informing us the signs in the rooms were out of date.
Breakfasts were nicely done and the vegetarian sausages were lovely, although the 'Full English' provided didn't match what was listed on the menu. The tearoom itself was attractive-looking, but could have been kept cleaner. We were disappointed there was no welcoming 'Front-of-House' present on Saturday morning, or to bid us farewell.
If you're travelling on a budget, eating in the village is expensive.
The village is very picturesque, and enjoyable to explore. Last but not least, the Giant is Cernetainly impressive!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay at the Abbots. We were in the family room; it is a large sized room, with a bunk bed for the kids, a large bed, as well as a sofa (the bunk bed doesn't have a railing, so the upper bunk is not suitable for very young kids). It was very comfortable for us. Its not en-suite, but has a huge private bathroom right next to it.

The hosts are really lovely folk, and make the stay even more enjoyable.

In addition, they run a superb tea room downstairs, which is an excellent lunch option. If you visit, ensure you take some of Nic's cup-cakes away with you for the road - they are divine (and so are all the other desserts and cakes she makes)!

There are a couple of good pubs down the road for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outofofficeautoreply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerne Abbas
2.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
3.6 mi away
George Albert Hotel
George Albert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Evershot
262 reviews
6.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Inn Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas
#1 of 2 in Cerne Abbas
245 reviews
3.1 mi away
Brace of Pheasants
Brace of Pheasants
#1 of 1 in Plush
280 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hunter's Moon
Hunter's Moon
#1 of 1 in Middlemarsh
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots

Property: Abbots
Address: 7 Long Street, Cerne Abbas DT2 7JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cerne Abbas
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cerne Abbas
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty tearoom and B&B set in the picturesque village of Cerne Abbas, approximately 8 miles from both Dorchester & Sherborne, conveniently located for sight seeing. We have a variety of rooms, from Singles to Superkings all en suite providing warm, clean accommodation with a hearty breakfast to set you up for the day. We serve light lunches throughout the day and all cakes and biscuits are homemade. Our scones are made fresh daily, served with delicious Duchy Original Strawberry Jam and Blackmore Vale Clotted Cream. We have a pretty tea garden where dogs are welcome. We cater for Vegetarians and those with special dietary requirements such as Gluten free. We also serve a traditional Sunday Roast - booking is advisable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbots Cerne Abbas, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing