We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming, so much character, VERY child friendly!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sennen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WhiteSands Lands End
Ranked #2 of 3 Sennen B&B and Inns
Hertford
1 review
“So welcoming, so much character, VERY child friendly!”
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We liked the look as we drove by and made an impromptu stop.
So glad that we did.
The owner and the staff couldn't have been lovlier, the themed rooms were finished to a very high standard and full of character.
It is a rare combination that would suit couples as well as families, with plenty to amuse kids of all ages.
All in all we felt like honored guests and were very sorry to leave!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD-HERTFORD-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    15
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
67
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Me and my partner had a lovely stay in white sands. The location is really beautiful and although our room was small it had everything we needed although a TV would have been a nice extra.
The maid service was excellent are towles were changed daily and our tea and coffee never ran out.
What really made are stay special though was the lovely warm welcome from the owner of the hotel, who did everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable including directing us to local beauty spots and giving us very useful advice on what to see and do. This was in contrast to one member of staff who at times was very abrupt and appeared a bit stressed.
A note for would be customers, bear in mind that White Sands is not your typical hotel and reflects the laid back culture of cornwall life. So if you want a fun and relaxing getaway with lots to see and do white sands is the place to go.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I booked my holiday purely off the internet so arrived with a touch of trepidation !, this I'm glad to say was totally unfounded though.
I found the hotel to be comfortable, very reasonably priced, clean, tidy and having very polite, caring and attentive staff.
Indeed by the end of the week I felt I was being treated as a friend and felt I would be welcomed back at any time.
The hotel is well situated for sightseeing around the west of cornwall and most places are only a 20 minute drive at the most.
I even went to Minack open air theatre to see Othello which was fabulous [ and this is from a Shakespeare ' hater ' !! ]

David J - Stourbridge

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellorsStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

For our 10th wedding aniversary my wife booked a surprise break to the Whitesands Lodge, what a perfect choice this was. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome. We stayed in the Paris room which was beautifully decorated, as was the ensuite bathroom. Following our arrival Terri had flowers and a card delivered to our room, my wife and I was touched, this was a lovely gesture. Arriving for breakfast the staff again were very friendly and served us very promptly, the breakfast here is outstanding, as is the restaurant and eating area. There is a TV room in the hotel with a nice flat screen television and lots of comfortable seating, again the decor is superb. In a nutshell this is a fantastic Hotel, with great rooms (just look at the pictures on the website) with a great team of people running it, set in an absolute beautiful part of Cornwall. My wife and I would highly recommend the Whitesands Lodge and would revisit in a heartbeat. Thank you for a great and memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniver09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

The hotel was hired for a wedding reception (3 days/50+people, inc. children) right from the start we were made welcome and shown our room and all the facilities - we had looked up the hotel on the web site so knew what to expect, we loved the quirkyness of the rooms and the fact that the owners had kept lots of the original features throughout the hotel.
All the staff were great, nothing was too much trouble - they could not have made it any better, all our friends and family had a wonderful week-end, relaxed and happy.

Terri and Darren (owners) even helped with keeping the little ones happy and Darren even helped to get our classic car going again - thanks a lot for helping to make our sons' wedding week-end such a happy occasion.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyfamiliesBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twickenham middlesex
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We have just finished our 3 day break at whitesands and did not want to come home, we have never been made to feel so welcome, we have been coming down to cornwall for over 25 years and have never met people like the owners Terri and Darren, they are great hosts and run a fantastic business, the hotel rooms were themed around cities we stayed in the Rome room, which was designed to a very high standard, the food was out of this world, all local produce or home grown and cooked to prefection especially the Steak!!! We will definately be returning.Thanks Terri and Darrenxxx

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockneymanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We found our stay at Whitesands very frustrating. From most reviews and their website you would be forgiven for thinking that this hotel (B&B/Youth hostel?) is the best you can find in and around Cornwall. After staying there myself I have to disagree. After walking through the front door we were greeted with 'You need to pay the balance of your stay' not 'Hello' or 'Welcome'. Not a great start and it went downhill from here. From bathroom doors which were cheap plywood and did not fit the frames (it was ajar by at least 50cm) to bedside tables with doors hanging off/not glued on. Our rooms were adequate but certainly not 'hotel' standard. Our towels were not changed on the 2nd day and the bed never made, no TV/Radio and fixtures & fittings fitted incorrectly or not at all. Add to this the fact that the toilet off the bar/dining room has drainage problems (The floor tiles squelch), the communal TV room is also a dirty linen store room, the lights went out on the 2nd night due to 'electricity problems' and staff who just don't seem to fit their roles. This is not a hotel worth what it cost. It is up for sale....lets hope whoever buys it manages to fix the issues because it has the potential to be a lovely hotel in a great part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pritchard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sennen
4.1 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
481 reviews
3.4 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
467 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
4.3 mi away
YHA Penzance
YHA Penzance
#1 of 1 in Castle Horneck
152 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WhiteSands Lands End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WhiteSands Lands End

Property: WhiteSands Lands End
Address: Whitesands Lodge Land's End | Hotel, B&B & Restaurant, Sennen TR19 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Sennen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sennen
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
WhiteSands Lands End Sennen, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing