We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standards dropping?”
Review of The Meadery

The Meadery
Ranked #10 of 13 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“standards dropping?”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A firm favourite of mine for many years. Plenty of choice and choices and small, large or half and half options available. Firm favourites being chicken in the rough, garlic mushrooms, fish fries but others available to. Unfortunately we felt the salad selection was not as nice as normal on Saturday and hope this was just a blip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4ndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    50
    20
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marazion, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The setting is great, love the way it's set out & the staff were very friendly however the meadery in Penzance is much better, Penzance portions are much larger but for the same price. Liked the salad bar here though. Don't dislike it just prefer Penzance!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

very warm welcoming family restaurant. Always enjoy coming here excellent service excellent food and amazing mead wine must recommended the strawberry mead. We sat in and eat last night but I must recommended the excellent take away service. Thank You Very Much See You All Soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our long awaited return”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We always used to visit one of the meadery's in Penzance when our children were young. Now that they're 25 and 21, they still want to go back! I know that the food's not 'haute cuisine', but I have to say that the staff went out of their way to accommodate us, with our (quite large) dog. We always enjoy the food, as we know what to expect (unlike some of the reviewers here), but the warm welcome is always a real bonus!

Helpful?
1 Thank Evans1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dire”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you like greasy fried food, served in a noisy, dimly lit cavern, a wait for a table then slow service when you get one - this is the place for you. Obviously plenty of people do because the place was heaving. Not for me though, the entire meal was a torment. Up until now I have yet to have an unpleasant meal eating out in Cornwall, the run has been well and truly broken.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dem98_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Meadery also viewed

 

Been to The Meadery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing