We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD FOOD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smugglers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Smugglers
Ranked #2 of 5 Newlyn B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We only ate at the restaurant so cannot comment on the rooms.

The food was exceptionally good and fresh with good sized portions too.
Prices too seemed reasonable.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We shall be going back but hope to be able to sit in a window seat to get a better view of the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEN034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    11
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed 2 nights at 'the smugglers' had a fantastic time. Our room was really nice, spotless, lovely big bed.
Breakfast was superb, tasty, fresh and delicious!
We had a meal in the restaurant, it was FAB!
The owners were very friendly and welcolming, and gave us lots of local information and recommendations,
Excellent value for money, a MUST if you are visiting Penzance!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonannepearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Excellent Room, run by wonderful people.

Room immacculate, great breakfasts and insightful tips on places to visit. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunty7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

My husband booked us into The Smugglers as a birthday treat.....and so it was.

We were greeted by Barbara, who made us feel most welcome and loaned us some change for the carpark which is a couple of minutes walk away. You are able to park outside on the road to unload. The carpark costs approx £6.40 for 24 hours.As we were walking part of the coastal path we left the car there and used the frequent public transport

We stayed in the Forbes room, which is at the back of the restaurant and although it doesn't have a view it does have it's own private courtyard with tables, chairs, umberella and loungers and is filled to brimming with colourful plants.

The room has it's own front door and porch area with coat pegs for wet clothes and room for muddy boots. There is another 'stable' door from the porch into the room, which is large, light and beautifully furnished with a king sized bed, two leather easy chairs, dressing table etc.,flat screen wall mounted TV with numerous freeviwew channels and tea/coffee facilities.

The bathroom is of resonable size with a shower, but no bath. Toiletries and shower caps were supplied, but no soap.

The view from the restaurant is fascinating. You will be able to sit and watch the fishing boats coming and going to and from the harbour.It is colourful and vibrant.

The food is excellent, with an extensive seafood menu. Breakfasts too included fish and we can highly recommend the seafood omelette. This was a special, but it is worth asking for. There was also fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals and juice and a full and varied breakfast menu.

I would thoroughly recommend The Smugglers and can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0lympus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed for 1 night on a wet weekend in November visiting relatives in Newyln but The Smugglers made up for the bad weather! We stayed in the Forbes room which is set in a courtyard behind the restaurant. We didn't get any fumes from the restaurant and the facilities in the room were perfect, modern but charming and everything you should need. The breakfast the following morning was of a high quality from the freshly squeezed orange juice, to the perfectly cooked scrambled eggs with smoked salmon! My husband had a full english which was equally excellent quality. The owners were friendly and welcoming. We'll definately be back but hopefully with the sun shining!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weekendersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

We stayed here for two nights whilst touring west Cornwall. The Smugglers is an old inn now converted into a restaurant / B&B overlooking Newlyn harbour and marina. We stayed in the largest of the 3 rooms (Forbes) which was very comfortable and spacious and had its own private courtyard at the rear of the building. The ensuite bathroom was also quite large, although a little basic compared to some other B&Bs - could easily have fitted a bath in and some shelving etc for one's toiletries.

Barbara made us very welcome throughout, and Stephen cooked excellent food, making the most of the fresh fish available from the harbour. Evening meal in the restaurant outshone some of the food we had in Padstow and was reasonably priced. Breakfast was also the best we had whilst in Cornwall including more fresh fish options. The restaurant appeared to be popular with both locals and visitors.

Overall really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if back in west Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anicecupoftea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#17 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smugglers

Property: The Smugglers
Address: 12-14 Fore Street, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Smugglers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smugglers Newlyn, Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing