We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smugglers

The Smugglers
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

The food is amazing and you should eat there even if it is a little expensive. Would definetly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fish at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

First night in Cornwall and seafood was our choice. We'd spotted this little restaurant earlier in the day and took the phone number.
I rang and booked for the evening at 7:30, enough time to walk from the other side of Penzance we thought! We eventually arrived at 7:50 an offered our apologies, "Oh come in and don't bother about that!" was the greeting by the lady who I think was the owner. How kind.
Both of our meals, including starters, were excellent both in presentation and preparation.
A fantastic little gem tucked away in Newlyn. Seafood to die for!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Friendly staff, an elegant dining room overlooking Newlyn harbour. Varied menu which is not 90% fish that many quality restaurants in the area are. The fish was superb btw, but so was the pork..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrahamSpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingskerswell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely find in South West Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great food, Great atmosphere. Good views over the fishing harbour. Well paced friendly service. A great place to come after a long coast path walk.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanLievesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Really excellent food cooked by a culinary star.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

The views from this little gem are truly sublime, cuisine is masterful, my wife's mussels in a parsley sauce were superb, my sole was perfectly cooked too. Perfectly cooked breakfast after a cosy nights stay. This is a real find. Well done Barbara & Stephen. There are only three rooms to stay in each with cleverly designed space with a difference. Don't let the slight smell of damp put you off as you enter, for you are in for a real treat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers also viewed

 

Been to The Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing