We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, quality food, good service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tolcarne Inn

Tolcarne Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Newlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local pub-look at Website
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent, quality food, good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely, this little find of a restaurant. Excellent short menu based on seasonal and daily availability. Scallop and spinach velouté, skate wing with broad beans and peas - excellent. A couple of menu substitutions handled with no problem, friendly and competent wait staff. A must visit. booking required in tourist season I think.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    102
    41
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab-u-lous lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recommended by our friends who have a cottage in the local area. They told us that Ben had a Michelin star when he was at the Abbey Hotel in Penzance.
We went early the week and did book but the restaurant was not too full so probably not necessary. We opted to eat inside as the outside eating had a view of the car park rather than the beach.
Very friendly informal atmosphere, food and service spot on. Not a wide choice but posted on the menu blackboard which I like as it is indicative of how fresh everything is, from the harbour which is a short walk away (worth visiting as it is a genuine, authentic fishing harbour rather than a posey marina!).
Puds good too!!!
Very nice experience all round and seemingly very dog friendly too (useful to know as we are getting a dog soon).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I took some friends here who were visiting last week and have to sat it. Was a fabulous meal. I had the chicken but they had fish dishes. I think the seating leaves a lot to be desired, we also felt that the staff hurried us along and gave us no time to make choices. All in all a cracking meal but we did feel in the way once we had eaten and didn't hang around for further drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank seamonkey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angoulême, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is what Penzance and Newlyn have been waiting for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We've visited the Tolcarne many times over the years , and were pleasantly surprised to hear that it was turning into a restaurant / gastro pub. Having read some of the reviews here, we were unsure what might be our experience, but a Saturday night meal with family was duly booked ( and booking was necessary - many people dropped in looking for a table but were turned away)
First impressions - the interior remains the same layout, although refreshed , with the ubiquitous mismatched chairs and tables and tasteful decor. The large table in the bay window is always superb for a group of 6+, so book early and request it. Note to the owners. The table for 4 next to the bay table is a tad too small for the 4 chairs, and the table next to it has some seriously low chairs compared to the height of the table itself, one of the downfalls of the mismatched trend, but it didn't impact the night greatly.
Glad to see they still stock local beers for a cheeky starter. The menu is on the board, as its all fresh each day ( and was wiped clean at the end of the night).
Very fish dominated, but just as it should be when you are 2 minutes from Newlyn Harbour and we were not disappointed. Perfectly cooked and seasoned scallops, super fresh mackerel fillets for starters, John Dory and cod mains were superb, and the desserts were supreme. We are not light eaters, but we had to share puddings between 2, and the panna cotta was sublime as well as generously portioned. Great wine list, including Cornish, and the serving staff were perfectly attentive. I feel sorry for the people who had a bad experience, as we have nothing but praise. Even more so when we discovered that the head chef wasn't working and these were his assistants. As my title says, this is exactly the kind of restaurant that has been missing in Penzance area for many years and they do wonderful service to super fresh and local produce. If you are worried about the prices, make some economies elsewhere and book a table here, you won't regret it

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Some of the best food I have tasted in a long time. The service was very good and we didn't have to wait long for the food to come out although it was a very busy night. The menu is limited and mostly fish, but if you love good food well cooked then this is the place for you. Booking is advised as it can get very busy. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freethy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tolcarne Inn also viewed

 

Been to Tolcarne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing