We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and dog-friendly stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Newlyn B&B and Inns
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice and dog-friendly stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My partner and I stayed there for a week with our 3 dogs.
Joy and Peter were lovely hosts and were very welcoming of our dogs.
They were very helpful with places for us to visit and eat.
The view of the harbour from our room was stunning. The room was very nice and there was a good choice of breakfast - toast, cereal and cooked breakfast to order.
We would recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mette7406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    22
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Superb location with stunning views of Newlyn Harbour and the Bay. Joy was very helpful and made sure we knew where the good eateries were. The pub next door has wonderful food with a very friendly cook! We managed to tour most of the surrounding area despite lousy weather and would certainly use Harbour View Guest House again when in the area. Extremely good value for money and the breakfasts are large and filling.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alumrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a lovely long weekend at the end of May 2013. The guest house is situated right on the harbour and the view was fantastic from our room. The room was comfortable and the facilities were good. The breakfast was excellent with a good range of choices.

Joy and Peter were perfect hosts and made us feel at home. They were very welcoming of our dog and provided information as required regarding parking, eating out and sightseeing etc.

We really enjoyed our stray and will hopefully be able to stay again.

Ian and Ann and Max

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

My daughter and I wanted a quick few days away, we Had a wonderful 2 night stay while exploring the area, we had an Excellent view over the harbour as you would expect. Joy was a very helpful and welcoming host as well as being knowledgeable. Great value for money the room was a good size with a large shower and sink in the room and the toilets (private) were in a separate area. Will defiantly be re-booking in the near future!
many thanks

Room Tip: All rooms have great views you are spoilt for choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Harbour View Guest House for three days in May 2013, and was very impressed. The breakfasts were delicious and filling and my room overlooked the harbour. The room was a good size with a large shower and sink in the room and the toilets (private) were in a separate area across the hall. The owner (Joy) is very friendly and knowledgeable. It’s easy to find, being right on the main street and there’s a good pub (Red Lion) 2 doors up that serves good food at good prices. The guest house doesn’t have a car-park, but there’s a pay-and-display lot just up around the corner from the pub. Newlyn is a great base from which to explore western Cornwall.

Room Tip: I think all rooms on the first floor front on the harbour, so there are no bad rooms there. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiftless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy C, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Harbour View Guest House Newlyn - I am glad you enjoyed your stay - we too enjoyed having you visit. It is kind of you to take the trouble - we appreciate it. Kind regards Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay while exploring the area, were given lots of info by owners on surrounding areas and generally a very calm relaxing warm environment. Will defiantly be re-booking in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night stay in this spacious well run b and b . Excellent view over harbour as you would expect. Joy was a very helpful and welcoming host. Great value for money. We are walking the coastal path and all 4 of us agreed this was the best we have stayed in during the 350 miles we have completed so far.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andybigboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
2.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#2 of 5 in Newlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#18 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Guest House
Panorama Guest House
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Guest House

Property: Harbour View Guest House
Address: 22 Fore Street | Penzance, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlyn harbourside Guest House has stunning views from all front double rooms across the harbour and Mounts Bay - situated between Penzance and Mousehole in SW Cornwall - 10 miles from St Ives and Lands End. There is a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with free tea/coffee, and free wifi. We are the only B&B in Newlyn which has direct 180 degree views across the bay, and we are the cheapest. Free Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the harbour. All rooms refurbished this year. We have 3 double rooms, overlooking the harbour, with CH, wifi, digital tv, tea/coffee tray, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, toiletries and private or ensuite facilities. Suite 3, sleeping 4, has a double bedded ensuite room overlooking the harbour, a sunny rear twin room, and adjoining that a private bathroom. It can also be booked as a triple or a twin. Suite 3a (the front double ensuite) can also be booked as a double or single occupancy. Suite 3b (the rear twin) can be booked as a twin or single occupancy. There are plenty of pubs serving food (the nearest being 4 doors' away) and 3 restaurants. Our local village is 300 yards down the hill with a variety of shops, a fish and chip shop serving freshly caught fish, and a cinema. We are on the coastpath, cycle route 3, a main bus route and have coastal walking in both directions. Buses can be caught in the village to Land's End, Sennen Cove, Porthcurno beach and The Minack Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Guest House Newlyn, Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing