We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free 24/7 parking-A vibrant fishing harbour ...you can simply scoop up the free fresh mackerel with your hands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Newlyn B&B and Inns
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Free 24/7 parking-A vibrant fishing harbour ...you can simply scoop up the free fresh mackerel with your hands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The harbour has a life of its own, independent and self sufficient from nearby Penzance. The freshness of the fish is magnificent. We have never tasted such 'crumbling to the taste' fish. The chipshop and nearby restaurants serves a great range of fresh fish dishes. There is a value for money Chinese takeaway. We ate in the local Red Lion pub, the hamburgers are highly recommended. The B and B is run by Joy and her musician (chef) husband. Breakfast is freshly cooked and sets you up for the day. The B and B has a range of rooms, we stayed in room 6. Situated at the top of the next building, it is part of her house. Ensuite bathroom with shower, tea and coffee facilities and shower gel were provided in the room. We enjoyed our stay here, learning more about the workings of a busy fishing harbour. Be sure to visit the ice cream parlour, go to the lido, St Michael's Mount and pirate ship. Dogs are most welcome here. Joy's local knowledge enabled us to complete a comprehensive motor tour in three stages. Joy's help was invaluable. There is a cash machine at the co op, newspapers can be purchased from the bookshop hut, there is free parking 24/7 on the side roads opposite the park and all along Alexandra Road (TR184NE). Everything you need is walking distance. Immerse yourself into this welcoming fishing community.

Room Tip: Great for walkers, ramblers, dog owners and those interested in the local community. There is someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    22
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A group of 6 of us with 2 children stayed for 2 nights as part of a road trip in January 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our host was friendly and helpful and the accommodation comfortable and quirky in a good way. There were no issues with parking and the B and B provides a great base for exploring. There were places to eat within walking distance and the locals were friendly in the pubs. I recommend this place for a fuss free and friendly stay, it is comfortable and the view is superb. The room configurations might not be to e everyone's tastes but for our group it was fine. I recommend this guest house and will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fizzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The wife and I recently stayed in the Harbour View Guest House for 2 nights.

With our children away for the weekend on a school trip, we decided to make the most of some rare time alone and go on a trip of our own. After some searching on the net, we settled on Penzance as our destination...

Upon arrival at the Harbour View, we were greeted by Joy and personally shown to our room. Whilst we had paid for a room "upgrade", we were pleasantly surprised to get both a double room with shower and an adjoining twin room with bathroom. The double room overlooked the harbour. Both rooms, shower and bathroom were clean and well presented.

Breakfast was excellent with a selection of cereals and fruit to start, plenty of fruit juice, tea and coffee on hand whilst "Full English" was cooked to order.

Sofas/chairs in the lounge area are extremely comfortable. Plenty of leaflets and information print outs of Cornish & local attractions to hand.

A very friendly and well run B&B which helped cap a fanstatic weekend. Should we get the opportunity to return to Penzance in the future, the Harbour View Guest House would definitely be our first choice accommodation.

A very well run and friendly B&B, highly recommended! :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooseybaby1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sopton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our 4th or 5th visit to Harbour View, (getting to be a habit!!), we stayed for 4 nights, 10th to 14th July in order to visit the Mousehole festival, hence the title of this review.
To be honest, I don't know if I can add much to my previous reviews!! Harbour view, as the name suggests looks out over Newlyn harbour and most rooms have this view, check before booking to make sure you get the room of your choice. Double glazing has now been installed which is very efficient at cutting down the noise of the seagulls which can sit up long after proper people go to bed, fighting over fish scraps from the fishing fleet in the harbour.
We had room 2 which was small but comfortable with our own shower and washbasin and dedicated wc across the landing. Our companions were lucky enough to have the "family room" next door which was huge with every facility you could wish for. New "memory foam" mattresses provide an amazingly comfortable sleep.
Joy and Peter, as ever, made us so welcome, it was a real wrench to have to leave at the end of our stay. The only consolation - looking forward to the next visit!!
Oh did I forget to mention the breakfast?? - Just fabulous as ever.
As I said before - their good luck to live there, ours to visit. What more can be said!!!

Room Tip: Ask about room sizes and take your pick. Book early this guest house is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

As promised, the rooms overlook the beautiful harbour. The view from the window looks like a painting.

The bedroom was very nicely furnished - very warm and homey. They provide handphone charges in case we guests forget ours. They even provide ear plugs in case the neighbours are noisy. I really love how much thought they put into the details.

Also, there is a bus stop just 1 minute away (by foot) from the guest house. And another one about 10 minutes away.

What made my stay most comfortable and enjoyable was the staff there - particularly the owner, Joy. My partner and I got into some sort of trouble with our transportation as we arrived at Penzance 2 in the morning and luckily she was there to save us and let us in middle of the night. The next few days, she always made sure that we knew where we were going and she also made sure we knew our way back. She was a lovely person and very nice to talk to.

On the last day of my trip, I had to leave at 4am and Joy gave me access to her kitchen - allowing me to make breakfast for myself. She even offered some books for me to read on my way home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaushal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The accomodation is comfortable,the bed is soooooooo comfortable. Breakfast is divine. Very welcoming and view to die for. The location is exactly what we needed and is perfect for our needs. Definetly be going back. Highly recommend

Room Tip: All rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrienne661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy C, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Adrienne
I would like to thank you most sincerely for your lovely comments about Harbour View on Tripadvisor recently. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the comfortable bed and cooked breakfast.
It's good of you to take the trouble at such a busy time of year - it helps so much with promoting our little business with future guests. I hope we may see you here again some time.
Kind regards Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I am puzzled by the good reviews of this awful guest house. When we arrived the owner did not know what room we were in and bizarrely made us choose between two rooms which were both equally horrendous. The windows were wide open with a hoard of flies circling the room and then nesting on the lamp shade. The rooms didn't appear dirty, just neglected with most objects/surfaces having a distinct orange stain. Instead of the usual tea and coffee facilities, there was a half eaten packet of digestive biscuits on the floor in the hallway with a handwritten sign saying 'help yourselves'. No thanks. Advertised as en-suite but our toilet was down the corridor (do we pee in the shower?). This is the best part. Instead of a bedside table, there was a peeling and distressed looking shower cubicle. The whole room just felt mouldy. We contemplated sleeping in the car rather than staying in the beds. I can't comment on the breakfast as we wanted to escape as quickly as possible. Didn't say a word to the owners, there was a distinctly 'League of Gentleman' type feel about the place and there was nothing they could do short of 6 months of renovation to improve my stay. Just don't bother.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 20skate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy C, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I have just noticed this review - shocked at what was said - but we all occasionally get one like this. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities. The room in question was family suite 3 where the ensuite bathroom is accessible either via the rear twin room or via the corridoor. We are right on top of the harbour and, if it is hot, (as it was in August) the seaweed below us can cause flies to enter the house - not a lot we can do about that - the windows we always keep open during hot days. The guests were offered a choice of rooms - often you can upgrade to a family ensuite if doubles have gone - ie a front double, a rear twin and an ensuite bathroom all for £60 per night! The house is Victorian and decorated accordingly - not modern. Housekeeping is of a high standard. Our aim is to provide homely accommodation at the best prices with a superb view and breakfast. Virtually all of the reviews are extremely good - it is always important to read all the print to decide whether or not the accommodation is what you are seeking. I am sorry these guests were not impressed with what we are trying to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
2.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#2 of 5 in Newlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#18 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Guest House
Panorama Guest House
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Guest House

Property: Harbour View Guest House
Address: 22 Fore Street | Penzance, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlyn harbourside Guest House has stunning views from all front double rooms across the harbour and Mounts Bay - situated between Penzance and Mousehole in SW Cornwall - 10 miles from St Ives and Lands End. There is a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with free tea/coffee, and free wifi. We are the only B&B in Newlyn which has direct 180 degree views across the bay, and we are the cheapest. Free Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the harbour. All rooms refurbished this year. We have 3 double rooms, overlooking the harbour, with CH, wifi, digital tv, tea/coffee tray, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, toiletries and private or ensuite facilities. Suite 3, sleeping 4, has a double bedded ensuite room overlooking the harbour, a sunny rear twin room, and adjoining that a private bathroom. It can also be booked as a triple or a twin. Suite 3a (the front double ensuite) can also be booked as a double or single occupancy. Suite 3b (the rear twin) can be booked as a twin or single occupancy. There are plenty of pubs serving food (the nearest being 4 doors' away) and 3 restaurants. Our local village is 300 yards down the hill with a variety of shops, a fish and chip shop serving freshly caught fish, and a cinema. We are on the coastpath, cycle route 3, a main bus route and have coastal walking in both directions. Buses can be caught in the village to Land's End, Sennen Cove, Porthcurno beach and The Minack Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Guest House Newlyn, Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing