We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money, intesting location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Newlyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This is an excellent B & B for those on a budget.
We expierienced both good friendly service and clean accomodation.
The Location is very good, overlooking Sea views and being near to a
pay car park.
The room was on the small side but adequate and functional.
Breakast was good and well above average.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony1765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Harbour View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2009

We had a really nice time staying there, the room had a nice view over the harbour and further away you could see mount saint-Michael.
Joy was very helpful and knows a lot about the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceclasolaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We were greeted by the lady owner which were very friendly and polite. The rooms were not all ensuite but not a problem as the toilet was marked clearly only for the use of our room. Clean and comfortable room with nice view of the Newlyn harbour, shower in the room. The room are facing the main road with a little bit of car passing by noises but we got no problem with that.
We got nice lovely english breakfast (sausage, bacon, egg, tomatoes, mushroom), watermelon, different kind cereals and coffee,tea,orange juices. We paid for only £50/night and I think its a good price in Penzance. They do not have a private carpark but we park at the public carpark just a few steps from the b&b. 5pm-10am its only £3.30, beware that the carpark are first come first serve, might get full up by late evening as its only a few lots available. Or can park at the bigger carpark at the harbour and have to walk up to the b&b, not far only 3minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazy_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My wife and I took advantage of an early glimpse of Summer and came down from Devon for one night. We know the area extremely well from many years ago and feel that West Penwith has retained its magical charm.

The location of the Harbour View is excellent, looking out over Newlyn Harbour and across Mounts Bay towards Penzance and St Michael's Mount. Free parking is difficult in Newlyn, you might be lucky and find an overnight spot a couple of hundred yards down the road but you will most likely need to use a paying car park. While loading and unloading we left the car on the double yellow lines outside the B&B for a few minutes.

Harbour View is very clean, the lounge is comfortable and our room (bedroom 1) while not large was absolutely fine.

Breakfast was excellent - we had fresh strawberries and grapes on the table, a large choice of cereals and a very well cooked Full English. Guests are allowed to use the kitchen (adjoins the lounge) to make up a good selection of hot drinks at any time.

The landaldy was very friendly and keen to please her guests. We borrowed her guidebook for a short walking tour of Newlyn. We had never explored the backstreets before and it was fascinating to read about the local history and to see the narrow lanes where the old residents used to live.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

This wasn't the best B&B we have ever stayed at but was good value for money and met our expectations.

Good breakfast and bed was very comfortable.

Only issue was that there was no ensuite which is something we usually look for, but this caused no issues as it is a small B&B.Oh, and the street is a mission to get up - very steep and narrow (quite fun actually!)

Reccommended.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_and_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

We were looking for a place to spend a few nights out at the tip of Cornwall, with the intention of exploring Land's End and the Cornish countryside during the days. We had originally planned to stay in Penzance, but thought that it might be too crowded and/or short on parking for our rental car. So, we ended up staying at the Harbour View Guest House in Newlyn, which is just down the road.

Newlyn is a working fishing port, and thus had a slightly different feel than what one might expect from a small coastal village in Cornwall. Nonetheless, Newlyn turned out to be more charming than Penzance, its larger neighbor down the road, and we were happy we could return to the relative coziness of Newlyn at the end of the day. The town is centered along one main street and has a little art gallery, a post office, a decent sized market, and some nice places to eat (including a relatively fancy restaurant as well as a mid-range Pizza-Express-type pizza place).

The Harbour View itself was a great place to stay. Our room had a queen bed, TV, and sink and shower, but no in-room toilet (although the toilet was just across the hall). I believe one of their rooms has an in-room toilet), but it was booked when we made our reservation. The room was relatively spacious, clean, and had a pretty view of the harbour and Mount's Bay. The downstairs/lobby area was very homey and was set up so that guests could sit there and read, etc. throughout the day. The prices were pretty reasonable, given the time of year and the location (50 pounds first night, 45 thereafter).

The cooked breakfast -- your standard English Breakfast of bacon, sausage, eggs, mushrooms, etc. -- was large and tasty, and came with a slice of surprisingly good watermelon. I believe there was also a vegetarian option. The service of breakfast was almost formal in its politeness, which we got a kick out of. Outside of breakfast, the owners were very helpful in providing info about the surrounding area and seemed to have a sense of humor. Overall, I felt safe and comfortable at the Harbour View.

The only negative point was the sound of sea gulls squawking outside our bedroom in the early morning, but this problem is of course not unique to the Harbour View, or Newlyn. The owners had provided ear plugs on a small table in the hall outside our room, which I assume was in response to the gulls. It wasn't a big deal, but worth noting for those noise-sensitive sleepers out there.

The B&B is a 20-minute walk from Penzance, a fifteen-minute walk from nearby ultra-cute Mousehole, and we found it to be conveniently located for exploring all of Penwith (the tip of Cornwall). There is parking in a pay lot just a few steps down the road -- a three-day (including overnight) pass cost us (if I remember correctly) 14 pounds. A bit pricey, but well worth the convenience of not having to worry about parking every day.

All in all, a very nice B&B -- I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy C, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
0.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
482 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
816 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#2 of 5 in Newlyn
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 82 in Penzance
405 reviews
1.2 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#9 of 82 in Penzance
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Guest House

Address: 22 Fore Street | Penzance, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newlyn
Price Range: £63 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlyn harbourside Guest House has stunning views from all front double rooms across the harbour and Mounts Bay - situated between Penzance and Mousehole in SW Cornwall - 10 miles from St Ives and Lands End. There is a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with free tea/coffee, and free wifi. We are the only B&B in Newlyn which has direct 180 degree views across the bay, and we are the cheapest. Free Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the harbour. All rooms refurbished this year. We have 3 double rooms, overlooking the harbour, with CH, wifi, digital tv, tea/coffee tray, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, toiletries and private or ensuite facilities. Suite 3, sleeping 4, has a double bedded ensuite room overlooking the harbour, a sunny rear twin room, and adjoining that a private bathroom. It can also be booked as a triple or a twin. Suite 3a (the front double ensuite) can also be booked as a double or single occupancy. Suite 3b (the rear twin) can be booked as a twin or single occupancy. There are plenty of pubs serving food (the nearest being 4 doors' away) and 3 restaurants. Our local village is 300 yards down the hill with a variety of shops, a fish and chip shop serving freshly caught fish, and a cinema. We are on the coastpath, cycle route 3, a main bus route and have coastal walking in both directions. Buses can be caught in the village to Land's End, Sennen Cove, Porthcurno beach and The Minack Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Guest House Newlyn, Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing